Ratings based on 3,289 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Small, But Perfect!

Posted Sep 11, 2014
I really enjoyed my stay here. The room was a little small and my view from my window was of a brick wall, but for the price I was able to get the room for, I CAN'T complain! Not the most modern of places, but hotel was clean, neat, and in a perfect location. Definitely would stay again and recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Awesome hotel close to Michigan Ave!

Posted Sep 9, 2014
The staff was very friendly and the bed was EXTREMELY comfortable!! After a 9 hour flight that's just what I needed. Plus, the hotel is right around the corner from Michigan Ave! It's perfect.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Blanc, MI

We chose this hotel based on a recommendation

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Location, just off Michigan Ave. and Rush St., in the Gold Coast area.
Cons: The condition of the bath room, the shower head was low and the ceiling had water damage.
Location: Great location for both Michigan Ave and Rush st
This is a old hotel and it shows it, especially the bathroom, whish was very disappointing for the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Reception staff cause confusion and problems

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Service, explanation of facilities and what 'holding your money means'
Location: Very central near the magnificent mile
The stay was very disappointing from the moment we tried to check in. We were early and told to come back at 2pm when we arrived back at 2pm we were told check in wasn't until 3pm. In the room there were unsafe electric sockets, a broken hairdryer, lights that didn't work, holes in the bed linen and when I mentioned this to the front desk who promised to ensure things got better we ended up with sheets with more holes in, an ice bucket rather than and replacement hairdyer the list is endless...... doorman nit moving out of the way and holding doors closed so you couldn't get into the hotel.............. 20 mins to retrieve our bags and to get a cab.......... We were told on check out that our credit card had been charged for sundries at $75/day and this would take 3 -5 days to refund. We queried this whether this was a charge or just authorisation and were told it was a charge/hold. We weren't told about tea and coffee facilities - available to all from 7 - 11am therefore we went to Starbucks every morning, we accidentally discovered the tea and coffee on our last day, it a shame we hadn't been told when we checked in 8 days earlier!!! The only positive is the location but you'd be better of staying in a cheaper chain hotel - I'm not sure I'd even stay there again even if we were offered a free room as it was so disappointing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Nice place for shopping and Loyola University

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Staywd for a week. Close walk to Chicago red line and near Michigan Ave shopping. Food choices were high and low end options. No complaints and I enjoyed my stay. I thought it was a good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fl

Awesome location. Great comfy rooms ! nice staff

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Third time staying at Whitehall. Will come back again. Excellent location ! Very nice rooms and very helpful staff. Chicago at its best !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Whitehall

Posted Sep 5, 2014
I love the Whitehall. Room is always comfortable and clean. I dont need a lot of amenities and frankly dont know what they have but for a clean comfortable bed and place to stay, you cant beat it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago, IL

Great location, but that is about it.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
The hotel is very small. We had spiders in our room. Seems they had a insect problem. The elevators only fit 5 people max and were very slow. Cleaning staff only partially cleaned the rooms. Took the towels and did not replace them. Plus they woke us at 8:00 in the morning to clean!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from windsor ontario

nice hotel close to gold coast

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: the location, the price
Cons: in room amenities
Location: Great location, Water Tower Place is 2 blocks away, Gold Coast and Navy Pier are within walking distance.
Got a good rate for being one block off michigan mile in Chicago. Great location if you want to go Water Tower Place or Navy Pier. I have stayed at many hotels so I found a lot of little things very inconvenient such as no fridge, no coffee machine, small vanity, towels for one when we were 2 but for the price I would probably stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Tx

Good location, quiet stay

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Location, history
Cons: Front desk staff should be fully trained - otherwise it's less stress to just wait for a capable and efficient desk clerk.
Location: VERY close to Hancock, Mag Mile and Rush street restaurants. Just two short blocks to Red Line Subway line.
Overall good experience. Hotel front desk guy that checked me in was very nice, but didn't know how to do anything, and initially told me a room was not ready...when in fact there were several after I got to check in with the main desk clerk. Accomodations were comfortable, but a little dated in some regards. Fridge was nice, TV good, A/C worked well. Clock alarm wasn't functional - and hair dryer needed to cool off before it would come back on. Minor stuff in the overall scheme - location cannot be beat.