Ratings based on 1,873 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Good location. Convenient parking. Great front desk staff. Carpet should be replaced.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kansas

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: the service
Location: visit major attractions
it is ok overall. But the front desk is not as friendly as I expected. The room condition is only average. Quite often I have to try multiple times to open the door with my card, which is frustrating. One of the pillows in my room smells...Also, the sound proof is just poor-- its difficult to sleep through the night because of the noises on the street and voices next door....
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from denver, co

not much sleep, but great location

Posted Jul 15, 2014
poor sound insulation for window a/c lets in copious street noise, slow/poor wifi, too soft bed hurt back, toilet flushed for a minute each time before stopping, the only positive was great location near museums and subway, staff were nice too
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Great location, but old and in need of a facelift.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Staff was very friendly and helpful. However, the hotel is in fire need of a facelift. Has world's slowest elevators. Conveniently located to Grant Park, rapid transit and the Art Institute.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ohio

Outside looks nothing at all like the picture

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: It was conveniently located to Grant Park
Cons: The overall hotel and rooms need to be updated
Location: Walking distance of a lot of shops.
Stayed two nights at the Travelodge downtown Chicago and paid way too much per night, not to mention parking rates were outragous. Hotel is very old, rooms are old, phone in hotel room did not work. When I walked into the room I thought I was in a Motel 6. There are 2 elevators and 1 cargo elevator which is the ONLY ONE that worked. Hotel needs to be updated. Only good thing was staff was friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Reasonable price

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Most of all the price is very cheap but service is very bad and staffs are unkind. Direction is not bad but it takes around 40min to go downtown. 3 places are very close near the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Get ready to not sleep.

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: NOISE, staff, elevators, space - it just needs a major facelift
As students, we chose this hotel for it's central location and appealing pricing - DON'T MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE. Although it is close to everything and a good location, it is NOT the best place to stay even if you just are using the room as a place to sleep at night. We stayed for 2 nights and were woken up a minimum of 2 times a night by a SUPER LOUD trash truck outside the window at 3 or 4 in the morning. The elevators are super slow, the bathrooms are super tiny and the front desk staff doesn't even look happy to be there. Save yourself the trouble and go somewhere else for a good night's rest!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awfull

Posted Jul 12, 2014
The staff was rude the ice and vending sucked and the room was small
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Was

You should pay more to stay better place

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Stop using the noisy rooms
Location: Chicago museum
I might have chosen the lowest priced room, but I didn't know that the room was furnished with loud noise. The room had windows with thin glass that is helpless to block the noise coming from outside. The room was facing to back alley and there were whatever housekeeping machines working and every hour garbage collection car came help waking up, doesn't matter it's midnight or early morning. It's just desperate. Desperate room, desperate hotel. They should at least provide earplugs and melatonin tablet.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Not worth it

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Only one friendly staff member, horrible ac wall unit, unstable wifi