Ratings based on 721 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2014
W Hotel in downtown Chicago was very nice. Room was quiet, clean, modern and comfortable. Bathroom was a little on the NYC tiny size.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kalamazoo

okay

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: The lobby is beautiful. Crowded, but beautiful.
Cons: I rarely saw anyone at the concierge desk, but it was, imo, poorly located and discouraged use. Also: fix the key card system.
Location: This is a hotel to stay at when you don't want to be too much in the fray. The Quincy stop for the El is close by.
I tend to be sensitive to noise at night, from hallways, floors above, and climate control mechanics, and this hotel passed for a good night sleep. This is, of course, probably the most important thing in a hotel, so...But my key card was repeatedly disabled, and I had to go to the lobby often to get the card functional again, sometimes waiting in line behind several other people either checking in or checking out or other. Staff was functional but never felt as though I was well attended to. Husband was a little turned off by some of the design elements (e.g. back-lit "inspirational" billboard in the room and little cloth dustbags for the extra roll of toilet paper) but his taste runs to the more strictly functional anyway. Toiletries were not refilled, and there was only one bar of soap for the sink and the shower. I had hoped that once we moved the sink soap to the shower, housekeeping would have added a new one for the sink. No such luck. I suppose two bars of soap is wasteful, but...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from springfield, mo

Great hotel location

Posted Oct 1, 2014
The hotel was in a great location, near public transportation and popular landmarks, because of the location in the financial district getting around on the weekend was easy as there wasn't much traffic. The rooms are smaller but updated and trendy, avoid the in room drinks they will cost you a fortune. On the day we arrived, Some of the towels in our room were dirty and there was some hair on the tub that didn't belong to either of us, other than that the room was clean. A new shirt of mind seemed to disappear during the day while we were out, but I suppose it could have been left on the bed and mixed with the linens upon cleaning. The valet parking was very convenient though pretty costly, $63 per night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Over priced and a few items did not work properly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great Location - Overpriced

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Not that great - mediocore compared to the price you pay. I would never pay that much to stay in a hotel of that price. But staff were helpful and great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Nice Hotel for the Price...

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Location: There are a lot of things in walking distance.
I would say that this was a nice hotel for the price. However, the rooms were incredibly small and the walls were paper thin! We could here someone in the next room snoring! The staff was incredible, we just wish the rooms were a little bit bigger and a little more quieter. Regardless, I am still a big fan of W hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Will stay again!

Posted Sep 10, 2014
It was absolutely wonderful! Amazing staff and comfy, cozy room. Excellent location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Located in the business district of the loop!

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Gorgeous room, comfy bed, plenty of space (sans the washroom)
Cons: Toilet had minor flushing issues which were easily fixed with a phone call to front desk. Remote didn't work. Otherwise amazing!
Location: Located right in the Loop in downtown. About a 10 minute walk to get a little further East to Michigan Ave. Located 5 minutes from the subway!
Amazing hotel room! We had the last room on the floor. Which is why I think our bathroom was a little tight. (as in if one person is sitting on the throne the other has to climb over your legs to get to the sink or shower). Otherwise no complaints, this hotel was very accommodating. Staff were all fantastic. Lobby treats around 3pm! :D
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Not what I expected from the photos. The room was really small and faced towards the back of the building so all I could see was brick walls. But it was clean however you could smell the humidity and it was damp. Overall it was fine. I am not crazy about it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great location

Posted Aug 31, 2014
My fiancé and I stayed here for a night and we got in late because our flights were delayed. But, the staff was very accommodating and upgraded our room so we could enjoy our stay despite arriving later than anticipated. Highly recommend this hotel!