Ratings based on 414 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Great stay

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Room was extremely comfortable, clean, and also very quiet. Hotel staff were professional and helpful on every occasion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

conference

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Pros: very attractive
Cons: room lightening in the bathroom
Location: taxis difficult to get as they do not frequent the hotel...even when the hotel calls a taxi for pick up....I was stood up!
Hotel was in somewhat of a remote location making taxi's difficult to get and the rooms were very dark...otherwise I enjoyed my stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Waldorf Astoria Chicago, Hotel Management
Dear Nancy Ann, Thank you for your feedback of your most recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago. I regret to read that our team had challenges finding a taxi when you needed one and that the lighting in your room did not meet your expectations. I have shared your concerns with our Director of Rooms and Engineering for internal review. I am pleased, however, to read that you had an overall pleasant visit. We will look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back our way. Sincerely, Richard R. Evanich General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!

Posted Jun 16, 2015
I could not be more pleased with my stay at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Waldorf Astoria, the name says it all.

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Greeted by a grand circular driveway reminiscent of Paris. Helpful staff attends to every need with a smile and - surprise surprise - they don't accept tips! Room was size able and well appointed. We chose a discount rate so can't complain there was no view. Only negative were slow elevators. All in all, a first class experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Waldorf Astoria Chicago, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, Thank you so much for sharing your feedback of your most recent visit to the Waldorf Astoria Chicago. I regret to read that you experienced long waits for the elevator. I apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused. On the other hand, thank you so much for for your positive comments pertaining to our service team. It gives me great pleasure to read that they were able to efficiently assist you throughout your visit. We will look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the near future. Sincerely, Richard R. Evanich General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

ALERT! THEFT! MY LAPTOP WAS STOLEN OUT OF MY ROOM!

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Pros: Leaving
Cons: Management
ALERT::: THEFT THEFT THEFT THEFT THEFT THEFT THEFT. This is easily my worst hotel experience I’ve had in my 20 years of global traveling. I would expect so much more from a 5 Star Hotel. SOMEONE ENTERED MY ROOM, AND STOLE MY LAPTOP. Here is how it happened. At 8:45am I went down to the front desk to inquire about a great breakfast spot within walking distance. Ernie at the front desk recommended The Original Pancake House. Prior to leaving the Waldorf Astoria for breakfast, I packed my carry-on and left both my carry-on and my laptop in my room. I returned from breakfast around 9:45am, and upon entering my room I first noticed that my bag was unzipped. I then realized my MacBook Pro was missing as well. I immediately called down to the front desk and asked for management. Management, at that point, called security and sent them to my room. Joe, the lead security ”guy”, used a device that lists the history/activity of my room. The history shows that I left my room at 8:43am My door was left ajar at 8:43 (we came to the conclusion the morning newspaper hanging on my door knob, prevented my door from closing all the way) At 9:12am, my door was shut At 9:15am, my door was opened again A 9:43am, I returned from breakfast and my door was opened again Please note: I had a corner suite that is not visible from the hallway. The only 2 people who would ever pass my door are hotel staff or someone from the neighboring room. Joe, the lead security “guy”, reviewed the time log from
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from A

Urban classy hotel

Posted May 23, 2015
Everytime I think of our vacation. In Chicago I m glad we staid there instead of Trump or the Pininsula.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2015 by Waldorf Astoria Chicago, Hotel Management
Dear A, Thank you so much for choosing the Waldorf Astoria Chicago as your hotel of stay for your vacation. It gives me great pleasure to read that you truly enjoyed your visit. We truly value your patronage and will look forward to serving you again, hopefully in the not far future. Sincerely, Richard R. Evanich General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale

Outstanding hotel

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: Location, condition, staff
Location: Restaurants, luxury shopping, yoga enthusiasts, visitors who want convenient access to the best of Chicago.
Great location in the heart of the Gold Coast with walking access to everything you could want. The hotel and it's staff are A+ and the rooms are beautiful and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2015 by Waldorf Astoria Chicago, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you so much for sharing your feedback of your most recent visit to the Waldorf Astoria Chicago. It gives me great pleasure to read that you found comfort in your suite and you found the hotel's location enjoyable and convenient. The Gold Coast is indeed a truly chic and energetic neighborhood that has so much to offer. We will look forward to welcoming you back, should your travels bring you back our way. Sincerely, Richard R. Evanich General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Luxurious hotel in great location

Posted May 5, 2015
Thoroughly enjoyed my stayed at this hotel. my wife and I stayed in an executive suite which featured a large living room, large bedroom and large bathroom. The living room had a fire place and a balcony with a nice view. The location is steps away from Rush Street for dining and Michigan Avenue shopping. The hotel spa is top notch as is the gym and indoor pool. I highly recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2015 by Waldorf Astoria Chicago, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, Thank you for sharing your review of your most recent stay a the Waldorf Astoria Chicago. I am truly delighted to read that you enjoyed your suite and the various unique amenities the hotel has to offer, especially our Spa & Health Club. I am also happy to read that you had the opportunity to explore our charming neighborhood, the Gold Coast. Thank you for your high recommendation of our hotel. We will look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the not distant future. Sincerely, Richard R. Evanich General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nicole

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 6, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Girls weekend

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: The gorgeous entrance to the hotel, the fireplace in our room, the gorgeous bathroom and the staff was excellent.
Location: Great shopping and restaurants all within walking distance.
We were celebrating my girlfriends birthday and the Waldorf Astoria was the perfect setting. From the moment you walk into the hotel you feel special. Our room was unbelievable! The fireplace was a great plus. There was a tv in the mirror in the bathroom. And a tub that you will never want to get out of! I can't wait to return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2015 by Waldorf Astoria Chicago, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience of your most recent visit to the Waldorf Astoria Chicago and thank you for choosing our hotel to celebrate your girlfriend's birthday. I am truly pleased to read that you found comfort in your room and that you enjoyed the various unique amenities the room had to offer, especially the fireplace and the TV in the mirror. We will look forward to serving you again should your travels bring you back for another special celebration or a relaxing getaway. Sincerely, Richard R. Evanich General Manager