Ratings based on 5,000 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Careful about reading and trusting reviews

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: This is an older building with lots of characters but tub was very tiny. There were actually 6 elevators but very tiny ones were super busy.
Cons: services-not room service but overall customer services.
Location: It was a great location but I would not stay here just for location.
I arrived at the hotel and it was around 10ish at night. I checked in. I requested a room away from the elevator and did get one but it was a corner room with a King bed which I paid for. It wasn't what the pictures or reviews said at all. Front clerk was a lady and wasn't too clear on direction or assisting. She seems pre-occupied or should I say annoyed by customers, she brushed me off. The next day I went back to front desk but was only two staff on and it was a long line so I left. That evening, I had a reservation for dinner and needed a cab to get there. I asked for assistance as catching a cab but was brushed off, the door man told me to go catch one on Michigan Street. I stood there and continued to ask for assistance, the staff continued to brushed me off and ignored me. I actually paid over $330.00 for the room and food were pricey which I didn't mind but to be ignored and brushed off is a great way to loose customers. I won't be returning nor would I recommend this hotel to any future customers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom BC

Excellent hotel - mid magnificent mile

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: The hotel was elegant. The staff was friendly and competent. The service was great. The room was very spacious.
Cons: All was excellent
Location: We walked every place - from The Field Museum to Lou Malnati's to Navy Pier to Uno's - many times. There was more to see and do than we had time for.
We visited Chicago for the first time to celebrate my birthday - stayed for 4 nights and three full days of seeing the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Nice hotel for shopping

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Hotel was on the Magnificent Mile, close to some good shopping. It also helped that we got a discount just for showing our hotel key card at select stores. The bad thing was the room was really tiny, barely enough room to squeeze around the bed. But the view was pretty nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Room and bathroom were extremely small and loud. it was clean. But definitely needed some sprucing up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2015
The hotel is in an excellent location. The room was very small but that was fine because it was only me. The staff is very nice and the room was clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, but súper small room

Posted Apr 18, 2015
the best location. the bedrooms very small. the bed small but comfortable. Just for the location I will book again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated rooms

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Cons: New carpet and bedding is in dire need. Also need to improve in building ventilation.
Location: Shopping heaven
The front desk male staff were fantastic. One of the female staffs though, had much of attitude and didn't have much of service mentality. The room was very small and poorly ventilated, I had hard time sleeping because of the air didn't feel clear. Bathroom had musky smell. the bedding seemed very old and had lints all over it, which made me feel a bit dirty. The one morning I had to sleep in until 9am, I was awaken by the cleaning staff talking very loudly in the hallway, which lasted at least 15 minutes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, clean but small

Posted Apr 14, 2015
The Allerton was definitely good for a night. The room we got was nice, clean but small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Phila PA

I was there for business.

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: I liked that I was close to restaurants and sites to see.
Location: Seriously????
I got in late and your staff was very friendly and accommodating for two very weary travelers.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok for the price!

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: Good location on Michigan Ave.
Cons: The rooms around the ice machine should be better insultated to avoid hearing dropping ice cubes into a metal bucket at all hours of the night.
Location: Shopping & many eateries are all within walking distance of this hotel & that would be the only plus for this hotel.
I got an extremely good rate to stay at this hotel which is why I chose it. Great location on Michigan Ave. & was in walking distance to everything. The hotel was clean & the bed was comfortable but the room I had was across from the ice machine which was very noisy. The room overall is small & the bathroom was ok but the shower dripped all day & night. You don't really hear it at night but see the water drops in the shower. The door to the room was slightly smaller than normal which allowed for a thin line of light from the hallway into the room at night. Didn't like having to pay for wi-fi & used my personal hot spot to avoid the daily charge. There is also a parking fee which seems to be comparable to other hotels in the city. I would consider staying there again for the rate I got but would not consider it otherwise.