Ratings based on 4,173 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Small, vintage hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: hotel staff could be a little friendlier, but it was 1am so I think we were both tired when I checked in :)
Location: Michigan avenue and transportation that takes you all around the city!
The location is great since it is right in downtown, in a safe area. Plenty to do and easy to navigate around Chicago if you stay here. The room was clean, but small. Nothing fancy… but if you don't mind older vintage hotels and spend more time outside the room then you'd enjoy it! I did get a suite so we had a living area to put luggage in. If anyone does not get the expect a very cramped room!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kuwait

Near the Michigan avenue, in center

Posted Oct 18, 2014
I like the staff and the way they clean the rooms. I think the coffee should be free all the time or tell 2 p.m. At least. I like the helpful people working there. From door men's, reception and cleaning staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from p

Within walking distance from everything.

Posted Oct 16, 2014
The appearance of something isn't always everything! It's the people behind it that makes it everything. My stay at this hotel was just wonderful. My only complaint is, well it's not really a complaint. But the bed was to soft, I'm used to sleeping on a much fermer bed. With that being said, if you had to accommodate everyone that would be a whole lot of money. On a buisness scense, well worth the money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good location

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Location, rooms comfortable and clean and quiet.
Cons: Free Wi-Fi.
Location: Great location for seeing Chicago.
The hotel is in a great location for touring and visiting in chicago. While the hotel is older it is very comfortable and the staff very accommodating. Rooms are small but clean and comfortable. I would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Exactly where you need to be downtown...

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Staff, lobby, main bar, all really cool. Location is the best thing, period.
Cons: While rooms are small, can't think of any improvements.
Location: Shopping is the main thing for this area, and eating. Found multiple great restaurants, and it's so fun to walk in this area.
Staff is great, very nice, very helpful. This is a really nice hotel, right off of the Magnificent Mile. Rooms aren't very big, but if you need a place to stay to enjoy everything around you, this is perfect.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

If location is important, this is a great hotel.

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Hotel location is ideal, but parking is overpriced and makes the hotel even more expensive than it already is. $60/ day is a bit much- even for Chicago. The hotel is quaint and historic, but desperately needs updating. Some of the wallpaper was peeling off in the bathroom and it was poorly "patched" in others. Our bathroom only had one towel and we had to request more, which seemed a little ridiculous for a "VIP" hotel. Speaking of VIP, we were supposed to be upgraded to their best available room. I guess the best they have is a king bed, or otherwise it wasn't much of an upgrade from a queen.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from memphis, tn

Great location, butt...

Posted Oct 10, 2014
It was a great location, but our room was small (which we expected) and the air conditioner was not working. The room and hallway were extremly warm . We asked to change rooms and without apologizing , they did accomodate us. I loved the location, but would probably stay somewhere else next visit...somewhere that serves a continental breakfast and that has a mini fridge .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: Location, room
Cons: Need coffee maker in a room
Location: This is in the middle of everything
Overall good experience. Great location, comfortable room. No coffee maker in a room was a surprise. Coffee in a lounge was expensive and watery.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Check in

Posted Oct 8, 2014
I wasn't happy with the 4 p m check in time We had a stop over I wanted to freshen up before a bit of sight seeing. So we have to leave our bags and go
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Very convenient

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Really liked location, staff and room.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Lots of really good stores for shopping. Brooks Brothers, Tiffany,etc. We ate at Giordanos and had amazing deep dish pizza and salads.
The hotel was very convenient to shopping, restaurants, even walking to the Navy Pier. The staff was friendly and helpful. The doorman stood in the road for several minutes to get us a cab on a rainy day. The room was spacious and comfortable. We had plenty of warm water and large, thick towels. We liked the feel of this older hotel. It had an Art Deco look and feel. I would definitely stay there again.