Ratings based on 3,160 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Great location by the river

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Great central location to see the central sights of the city. The hotel is right off the magnificent mile by the river. The staff was very friendly. Thanks to Kellie at the desk for checking us in early and giving us a room on the 32nd floor. The room was quiet and had a spectacular view across the river. My only suggestion for the hotel would be to add lights to the room. The bathroom was bright and nicely appointed, but the large bedroom had several dim lamps that made it difficult to read or work. It is easy to get to all the attractions by walking or taking public transportation (bus and L train or subway stops are close by). Just across the street you can catch the tour busses to get a good overview of the city. Several companies are available, but we bought the Red bus pass for $45, which lets you hop on and off any of the doubledecker busses or red trolleys for 3 days. I also recommend buying a multi day CTA card that will let you take unlimited rides on any city bus or train.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON, Canada

Great view of the river

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: It is a modern hotel with lots of amenities in the rooms and the rooms are spacious.
Location: I love the location by the river and near all the places to see downtown. It is close to the shops, the river cruises, the art gallery and the train.
This is my third year staying at the Wyndham Grand. We like it because it is central to places we like to see. Not far from the Art Gallery, Navy Pier, shopping and the architectural boat cruises.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lansing MI

Beautiful hotel downtown

Posted Sep 9, 2014
The staff was super helpful and beyond nice! Everything about our visit was fantastic. The double queen room was literally the size of a suite and contemporary but comfortable. I literally have no complaints, we will stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

great location

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Our room was extremely comfortable. Great location downtown.
Location: The Magnificent Mile starts just across the river. Half a block from Michigan Ave. Transit and Hop-On, Hop-Off trolleys opposite.
We chose the hotel for its site in the Loop near all the action. The river is opposite and it is 1/2 block from Michigan Ave.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Convenient to mag mile, bars, restaurants and Wrigley.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Truly awesome view of the river and downtown architecture.
Cons: Only one vending machine, which is on the 25th floor. Really?
Location: Architecture boat tour on river was great. Some excellent restaurants nearby too. Walking distance to great sightseeing, shopping, meals, etc.
Beautiful hotel in great location. Friendly, helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: everyone was very friendly and helpful.
Location: location was excellent, it walking distance to shopping, the lake and the pier.
hotel was beautiful and we will definitely stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, clean, amazing views of Chicago

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Pretty much everything.
Cons: I wish they would incorporate their bar downstairs to an indoor/outdoor restaurant.
Location: One block to Corner Bakery which is on Michigan Ave. Tour boats are just a few blocks away as is the CTA station. Art Institute is close.
We stayed the first week of September 2014 at the Wyndham Riverfront and we loved it. We stayed four nights and had just an amazing view of the river and downtown. The room was 3601 and it is spacious, very clean, very relaxing for a downtown hotel. This hotel is not small but you get that kind of feel. The staff was very polite and helpful. Area is safe around it as we walked for miles in each direction morning, noon and night. Only about three block walk to the CTA station at Lake/State.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice Hotel, Good Location

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: It was a perfect location, near Subways and Bus Stops. Right in the heart of the Loop. Always staff available to help and answer questions.
Cons: We could hear pretty clearly the noise from the hallway. We were woke up a couple of times from people getting off the elevator and heading back rooms
Location: Michigan Ave is near by which allow easy access to Tribune Building, Lots of Shopping. Also nearby is State street where there is lots to do!
We had an excellent stay. We arrived before our Check in time and the hotel staff were able to accommodate us, which was really nice! Everyone was helpful. The room was a great size and we had a nice view of the river. The bed and pillows were magical I slept so well--- could be I was tired too from all the walking! ha! The location of the hotel was perfect everything was nearby, easy access to public transportation. There is a restaurant located inside the hotel which was convenient. Would definitely stay here again - a great value!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointing hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Good Location, had a fridge in the very large room. Reception staff were helpful (the only ones who were).
Location: good
Walked into the room and smelt very musty, the curtains were not even on their hooks, hanging half off. Crumbs under the edge of the bed, and the dust on the carpet under the fridge was so thick, it was a different colour to the rest of the carpet (grey). We informed reception, who apologised and said they would have it re-cleaned. The cleaner came the next day, she was very rude. Curtains put back OK, crumbs and dust still remained, we stayed 4 nights and the room was not cleaned properly. We left and crumbs and dust were still on the carpet. None of the doors on the wardrome or bathroom fitted their frames, so did not shut properly, or came open at unexpected times. We were very disappointed in the room and would not stay at a Wyndham Hotel again. Some of the hotel staff were very rude.