Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by family of 4 from portland oregon

5 minutes from Chichen Itza but quiet & peaceful

Posted Mar 26, 2014
1 km off the main road on a well-maintained dirt road so very peaceful and quiet, yet only 5 min to main gate of Chichen Itza. We stayed in a room pictured on website. To me looked good on website , but even nicer in real life. AC if you want it. Incredibly nice and helpful staff. Good food in the restaurant. Great continental breakfast included with room. Nice pool! Wifi is only available in reception area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kindestkid from Napa, CA

The perfect retreat in the jungle

Posted Mar 18, 2014
I spent one night here by myself before meeting up with 2 friends, for another 2 nights, and we were absolutely blown away. We didn't want to feel like we were staying at an American resort and this place had everything we were seeking: a rustic, incredibly beautiful setting nestled in a dense jungle abundant with birds and exotic plant life. The buildings/bungalows are the perfect balance of luxury/native architecture. Food was awesome, I highly recommend the chicken breast with veggies and orzo with a healthy side of green habanero (the best hot sauce I've ever tasted hands down). Jose was beyond helpful and kind. We only wish we could have gotten to thank him again before our departure. Great location, Chichén Itzá is very close, make sure to get there early before it turns into a zoo, and cenote Akil is a 20 minute walk from the hotel. I couldn't imagine a better place to have started my first journey to Mexico. I will be back many times throughout my life and will probably end up getting married there. Simply put: perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Johns from USA

great stay

Posted Jan 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very quiet in the jungle, yet close to Chizen Itza, 1 mile from Cenote Ikk Kill, friendly staff, decent food. Ideal to get to the temples early.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome eco resort!

Posted Dec 28, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kim from Key West, Fl

Beautiful property and great restaurant

Posted Dec 20, 2013
Pros: The property was beautiful. The rooms were amazing. The staff incredible.
Cons: WIFI IN THE RESTAURANT!!! Ridiculous you had to walk to lobby for incredibly slow wifi. I was communicating with facebook to the guide and others.
Location: Skip Il Kil Cenote and have quide show you much better cenotes. Balankanche cave are right next door and amazing. So many ruins fairly close.
Upon arrival at the hotel a warm welcome from the staff makes you happy to be there. Immediately you will notice their attention to detail in cleanliness and beauty. We knew we were in good hands from the wonderful staff and this was reinforced once we got to the restaurant for dinner. The food was fresh and delicious. We ate at the hotel for most of our meals while we were there. The continental breakfast came with the room and that was good but I recommend ordering a nice breakfast as well. Absolutely wonderful food. The tamarind margarita was very good and they had some nice wines as well. You will not be disappointed if you ate at the hotel the duration of your stay. We booked 5 days at the hotel which was great to explore the Yucatan from a central area. We hired a guide Abel (also known as Pitzz) for two days and I would highly recommend this. He drove our rental car for us and made our trip fantastic. His English was perfect and his knowledge of the area is incredible. We were able to see everything and get some good pool time as well. The pool is beautiful and they will happily bring you a margarita from the bar to make it even better. Downside is front desk and spa staff. Jose makes you feel he will do anything for you and then forgets to do it. We asked Jose 5 times about transportation to Cancun and our wonderful guide had to take care of this. The massage I had was wonderful but Jose actually walked in during it because he was giving a tour.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Kenneth Weiss from Oregon House, CA

Nice Place in the Jungle

Posted Oct 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
My wife and I just returned from a ten day tour of the Yucatan and this was probably the nicest hotel we stayed in. The area around the hotel has been manicured so nicely and carefully it is like a Japanese garden in the jungle - walking along the paths is a nice experience with the birds, monkeys, and plant life all around. We would eagerly return here again - the food and atmosphere in the restaurant were also very nice!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Olympia from Los Angeles

Great hotel middle of Mayan Jungle!

Posted Oct 19, 2013
Jose and Lupita made it a great experience for us. Ask for Manuel to take you around in his taxi - he knows everyone. My husband & I were the only ones for Balankanche but Manuel asked for the 6 person minimum to be waived. Most outstanding is our Chichen Itza Guide Ernesto - he is National Geographic quality - 40+ years of experience - I'm history channel buff so I usually check accuracy of information after - he showed us ruin restoration in progress - like the Mayans& Toltec would have done it without machinery. Ernesto was such a Find - we were solicited by his assistant at first @ Chichen Itza I did not like that - but after talking to him - we were sold.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by mrs noresorts

Perfectly located 4 Chichen Itza, off road oasis.

Posted May 17, 2013
Cons: During the off season, hot - brutal, they should start brkfast earlier than 8 or have diy coffee & teas so you can get to ruins before heat/buses 8am.
Beautiful architecture and landscape. Very pleasant employees! Reception was no help travel info/English wise so know your stuff. Awesome AC too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by claudio from London, UK

Great location-Poor service - Spa not working

Posted Apr 29, 2013
Pros: quiet, modern and well equipped
Cons: demotivated staff. spa closed
Location: excellent to visit the ruins and for quiet in the jungle
Okaan is a great resort in the middle of the jungle. The best choice if you want to visit the archeological site of Chichen Itza. We actually managed to get to the pyramid at 8 am, it wasn't hot and we were the only people there.. great for pictures!) The structure itself is amazing, a series of bungalows scattered around huge grounds. Very modern, equipped and comfortable. The pool area is also great. I thought that the "immerse in nature eco-friendly" concept behind the hotel was great until I noticed plastic table mats and plant pots which make me feel it was mainly marketing. It was EXTREMELY disappointing to find the spa closed. They told us the staff of the spa were on holidays... unheard of!! Also because after you visit the ruins there's really nothing to do in that area, a little massage and a jacuzzi would have done a lot of good!! If you're planning to drive there get a 4by4 car as the road to the resort from the main road in not paved. Nevertheless, the location is great and the restaurant is ok, if only they managed to get motivated and efficient staff and open the spa it could get 5 stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by catherine from North Yorkshire, UK

very relaxing and in keeping with the surroundings

Posted Apr 19, 2013
Pros: lovely room, relaxing surroundings by the pool
Cons: restaurant very quite the night we were there
Location: ideal for visiting Chichen Itza the next morning in order to avoid the crowds that arrive later in the day.
we had a very relaxing overnight stay before visiting Chichen Itza. the view from the roof top was quite spectacular. views from every direction out into the bushland. wonderful to hear so many birds and brilliant stars at night. very quiet and peaceful place. however the restaurant lacked atmosphere as there were only few guests eating.