Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

Good Location!

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: Walk distance from Chico state, relatively quite neighbor.
I took a quick trip to Chico for my daughter's college orientation. Arrived at ABV later night the staff was courteous and quick check in. In the morning very simple complementary breakfast and again well assisted by the staff. The accommodations are reasonable and clean. You have what you've payed for. Quick in, quick out.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Definitely will not stay at this hotel again, as I'm pretty sure that the person staying in the room next to me was dealing drugs out of his room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rev. Yolanda from Lidi, CA

Nice, clean room

Posted May 27, 2014
A bit noisy. But, room was pretty and clean. Breakfast shld not be advertised. Very poorly presented.
2 out of 5
by Rob

3 star in a third world

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: The door, floor, bed, 20 year old TV, the 4x5 foot bathroom, extremely noisy cooling unit and everything in-between. The parking lot was nice.
Location: It's Chico. Enjoy some ribs at Smokin' Mo's
First off they didn't have my reservation then for 15 minutes argued on the phone with the booking organization over whose fault it was and that they had no room for me (which was a lie) and who would pay the difference if they magically found one at a higher rate. There was cursing and absolutely no regard for my growing level of uneasiness and embarrassment as I had to stand there listen to this classless argument of which I was the object. I will never ever stay at this motel again. Never ever.
2 out of 5
by John from Portland, OR

America's Best Value Inn in Chico

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Location in city center and friendly staff.
Cons: Replace uncomfortable and antiquated mattresses. Upgrade TV and/or channel selections. Get rid of the odors.
Location: Near the city center, one can walk to restaurants.
We arrived at this motel about 5 pm, spoke to the assistant mgr who wasn't certain if Expedia had already charged my card or not so he called Expedia to verify it had not. The motel is located close to city center, making it an ideal location for walking to a lunch or dinner spot. Our 1st level room was sufficiently spacious, with an old CRT TV and digital converter and very few programs, the least of the 4 hotel/motels we used during our 9 day adventure to California. The mattress was quite old, springy, and not comfortable, as I mentioned the next morning to the front desk. The ventilator fan in the bathroom emitted an obnoxious odor requiring us to open the door to air out the room. Breakfast at this motel was open at 6 AM and offered coffee, juice, two cereals, instant oatmeal, and some fruit, more than other motels in which we stayed. Overpriced for what we got.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Room was very small for the rate of 130+. Not cozy at all
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Laura from Fullerton, California

Close to Chico State University and town

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: I really liked the friendliness of the front desk staff (night). They were helpful regarding a need I had and helped to work it out. Nice room too!
Cons: The quality of coffee in the lobby in the morning needs improvement..it was hot and all but was not good...very weak...just poured it out! :(
Location: Location perfect...just a couple blocks from Chico State University which is why we were there. So much to do all around...a very "happening" town.
Nice, clean hotel...office staff was excellent and very friendly and welcoming. I was looking for a place to stay with a little breakfast...especially coffee to save time in the morning. Nice to have coffeemaker and micro and refrigerator in the room...but the coffee downstairs in the lobby was not good...very much like colored water..I think they need to improve on that...but there was a sweet roll and some cereal makings. Overall for our type of stayover (college orientation) we were happy with our stay...especially for the great price!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to Downtown Chico

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, staff are really nice, and there's free breakfast until 9 a.m. Juice, coffee, cereal, fruit and some pastries.
Cons: The TV.
Location: It's Chico... Eat, drink and repeat.
Honestly, I was a little hesitant about this hotel just because the reviews made it sound horrible. However, most reviews regarding Chico hotels/motels were pretty bad too. I decided to take a risk on this one since it was closer to the downtown area. Everything went well and I had no problems during my four-day stay. The room and bathroom were clean. I didn't see any weird stains, hairs or dead bodies. The only thing that really bothered me was the TV. It's an older model and some of the channels made annoying hissing sounds and I had to change the channel or turn the TV off completely. Oh, and the curtains don't close completely. Just use a safety pin or something else to bring them together. You don't want your strange neighbors starring at you from the window as you sleep.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rita from Quartzsite, AZ

Trip to Chico

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Pros: It was close to his house.
Cons: A better TV set, some housekeeping, only 1 washcloth for 2 people.
Location: We stayed at my brother's house during the day and only used the hotel for sleeping.
We were in Chico to take care of some business of my brother, who passed away.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Barely acceptable

Posted Jan 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was an inexpensive overnight. Basic. 'Breakfast' was little more than a cup of coffee. We go to Chico often - will keep looking .....