Ratings based on 198 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Air conditioning works poorly

Posted Jul 7, 2014
A/C worked poorly. Was charged extra $30 on checkout with no notice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Upgrade please!

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: It's close to Chico State
Cons: upgrade the hotel, bathrooms, etc...just looks dated. It's not better than a Quality Inn or a Best Western.
The tub didn't look clean and the towels were so dingy. My son kept finding "hairs" in the clean towels...EWW
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Di from Morgan Hill, CA

Good location, nice staff, new decor very nice

Posted Jun 17, 2014
We had a great stay in Chico Beautiful town, rich in history
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gregory from Lakewood, CA

Calling ahead didn't help

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: The pool
Cons: Have the front office staff do as they promised, and not look you in the face and tell you something that's not true.
Location: Location is fine, if your familiar with Chico it's a great mid point to anything
Overall we were pleased with this Holiday Inn. We have stayed before, and the room we were provided then was great for our dog, and access to the pool. I decided to stay again, and given that we travel with our dogs I decided to call a month before our arrival to see if we could have one of the same rooms we had before that was very accomidating for the dogs. I also called two weeks before to confirm that one of the rooms were reserved. Each time I was assured that it was. Different story when I got there. Checked in got my room key, and off we went to a corner of the hotel that wasn't even close to where I had requested. Went back to the front desk, and the lady then told me the room I had requested was no longer pet friendly. Fortunately I had my notes on my phone, and was given a room in the area requested. As for these romms no longer being pet friendly, there were two other families with pets in the rooms next to us. Don't smile and lie to me. This is why the low rating on the hotel staff (front desk). everything else was great once it was setteled. If your traveling without pets it's a great place to stay. With pets you may wanna think about others in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dan & Beckie from Turlcok, CA

Good hotel with great location.

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: See above.
Cons: The bathroom could have been cleaner. The upper rim of the sink needed to be scrubbed and there were hairs on two of the bathroom walls- not ours!
Location: See above.
This was a nice hotel with an on-site restaurant/bar that I really appreciated. The accomodations were fine, but the bathroom could have been cleaner. We had super water pressure in the shower and plenty of hot water. The bed was very comfortable and the room conveniently included both a refrigerator and a microwave. With this hotel location, we could easily access the highway and major Chico thoroughfares.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bay area, ca

Terrible hotel in a convenient location.

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Was in chico to check out the university for my child. The hotel is close, but I will never stay there again! This place is rediculous! I tried to check in an hour early, but my room wasn't ready yet. So at 4 when I checked in it still wasn't ready, but they gave me a different room. That key lock wouldn't open, so engineering came up after three trips to the front desk (one of which I was escorted by a front desk agent to confirm what I was saying). I went out for a bit, and my key didn't work again! I go back to the front desk and am given a new key and complimentary breakfast. That one doesn't work either. I tell them to fix it while I go next door to Denny's for dinner, and when I come back they say they can change my room, but I have to wait for security to get back from a pick up to get into my room to retrieve my stuff. When the security guy came to my room he said that I could get my things from my previous room. As he is walking away from me I tell him that I do t have a key for the previous room. He says (with his back to me, while walking down the hall texting on his phone) that the room is open. I say again that I don't have a key because I simply could not believe that I heard him correctly. He says sarcastically that the room is open. I went up the flight of stairs, and sure enough he had left the door ajar with all of my belongings inside. The bad reviews are correct, this place is terrible!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Di from Chico, CA

Nice, remodeled hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Beautiful new lobby and great new restaurant. Very comfortable bed and new decor is nice. Their staff are very professional and courteous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Diane from Red Bluff, CA

Great choice in Chico

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: Quiet, lovely room, comfortable bed for a good night's sleep.
Cons: Nothing that I could find. In most hotels I've stayed at, there's some need for a good scrubbing in the shower tiles. This bathroom was immaculate.
Location: Next to the freeway, but quiet in my 5th floor room. Restaurant at the hotel and nearby.
I spent one night this week at the Holiday Inn and was very pleasantly surprised. This is an old hotel, but my room looked very new.....beautifully decorated, firm bed (which I need), lovely bathroom with an excellent shower head and thick towels, nice selection of toiletries. The room was A quality, and I would definitely stay there again.
2 out of 5
by Jim from Sunnyvale, CA

Grumpy manager, very noisy place

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: close to downtown, lots of restaurants with a 1mi radius, good parking space.
Cons: Reduce noise, improve breakfast selection, keep breakfast open till 10am at least
Grumpy manager who sits at the front desk doesn't consider you as a guest, but just another customer. Very noisy during the day. We stayed for 2 nights and both days, there was lot of repair and such being done. Dirty carpets. Rooms have excess furniture making it less functional. If we were staying for longer, would have surely gone to a different hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, clean, comfortable

Posted Mar 18, 2014
It was clean, up to date, nice staff, but does have thin walls.