Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Coast

Nice, but don't stay on the top floor!

Posted May 29, 2015
Pros: The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. It's a great looking place all done beautifully.
Cons: Don't let people take the top floors that are so noisy.
Location: Lots to do in Chico! Thursday night Farmer's Market was huge! Great restaurants and shops right there downtown.
Everything seemed great until we tried to sleep. The air conditioners right outside the window were going all night, you could hear the water running through the pipes in the wall continuously and during the early hours of the morning it sounded like a jet airplane taking off that never took off.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newport News, VA

Business Trip in Chico

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Old class charm with large nice rooms and comfortable beds and had a nice morning breakfast available.
Cons: The staff, many of whom were college students, had a 'casual' attitude about customer service which on occasion was a bit off-putting.
Location: Centrally located in the heart of downtown Chico. Many great restaurants within walking distance and the Thursday farmer's market.
I had a nice time at the hotel which was a very nice hotel in the heart of downtown. I was here on business and would absolutely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Reno NV

Wildflower splurge

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Location, friendly service, comfort.
Cons: The coffee!!!
Location: Found the Winchester Goose a short stroll away, nice bar with good beer selection & appetizers.
Nice alternative to camping at the fairgrounds. Not too pricey, but a level of service equivalent to a much more expensive room. They took our bikes for us and stored them. Breakfast was OK -- coffee terribly weak, though -- and they were nice enough to start serving a couple hours earlier in mindfulness of the early start we riders like to get. Parking definitely NOT a problem, especially on the weekends when street parking is free. We chose to leave our car and ride from there, as well as walk from there to Sierra Nevada and thence to visit friends at the fairgrounds, a 3.5-mile urban adventure.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over promised

Posted Mar 30, 2015
When I checked in the blonde woman behind the front desk was very businesslike did not smile. As I was checking in I asked her house business? She replied with, "We're fully booked. "The next morning I came down and she asked me how my first night was. I said it was fine except for the fact that there was a fan noise in the bathroom and the water pipes made noise all night long. She said, "well, I could have maintenance look at the fan issue but the water pipes are just something you'll have to live with, unless you want to change rooms." I wondered how she was gonna pull that off when they were fully booked. Maintenance never came up to look at the fan.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Crappy matress

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Terrible matress. Crappy breakfast environment. Nice staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

clean and comfy

Posted Jan 10, 2015
the room was nice and pillows are great! Only complaint is the restaurant...super slow service for no one being in it and prices are really high for what was being offered.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Only One Problem

Posted Jan 8, 2015
We loved the hotel. It was comfortable, clean, and a perfect location. There was only one problem. We were on the top floor (4th) in winter, and even with the heat turned off, it was very hot in the room. We must have been underneath the heating system, because it was so loud, it felt like we were sleeping in the engine room of a ship. After opening the window, and putting in earplugs, I was finally able to sleep. I would stay here again, but in a different room on a lower floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Pros: History
Cons: Parking ID at public facility could be made more easily readable.
Location: Absolute center of town. Lots to do and see.
Good coffee. Interesting pressed metal ceiling. Good bar and restaurant adjoining hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best place to stay in Chico

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Complimentary drink in the bar, 2 free breakfast coupons for the next day was great.
Cons: All good.
Location: Chico State.
Pulled up front, unloaded, checked in, parked car... all good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Monica, CA

Great location in Downtown Chico.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Location, price, room size.
Location: Starbucks, great restaurants and bars, Bidwell Park.
Some friends and I were in town for the Sierra Nevada Beer Camp this past weekend, and the rooms were absolutely wonderful. The hotel is in a great part of town with easy parking and plenty of conveniences nearby. Comfortable, clean, and very charming place. Starbucks is just a block away!