Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey, NJ

An excellent choice, located in a strategic place

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: The warmth and friendliness of its staff
Cons: nothing all met my expectations
Location: is near to the bus station and a pleasant shopping center where are all franchises, is a neighborhood quiet
The property is located in a strategic location near the bus station in Quito, which allowed me to meet many attractions like the Cotopaxi Volcano, Otavalo, Quito and then take my bus right there to go to the city Banos. The staff is very attentive, I was given many indications maps sightseeing, visiting places efficiently and get the most out of my time, room was very clean and spotless bathroom, would recommend to a friend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by gerardofrom ecuador

buen servivcio

Posted Feb 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Agradable
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Hotel Gran Quitumbe, Hotel Management
Estimado Gerardo Mil gracias por tomarse el tiempo para compartir su experiencia en el Hotel Gran Quitumbe, con la comunidad de Hoteles.com, fue un honor ser sus anfitriones, y esperamos tener el placer de darles nuevamente la bienvenida, a esta, su casa, en el futuro cercado. Que tenga una muy buena vida Atte Byron Suntaxi Hotel Gran Quitumbe
1 out of 5
by honest johnfrom California

Worst Hotel Experience Ever!

Posted Jan 31, 2014
Pros: Leaving
Cons: Everything, starting with staff.
Location: Noisy
This was absolutely the worst hotel experience ever. I have traveled all over the world and can honestly say this was a giant mistake. The staff charged us for things without authorization, thier shuttle service was $ 70 and then would not provide a ride back to the airport. The room stunk of urine and there was evidence of rodents on the property. Dogs howled and barked all night and the traffic noise was incessant. The manager or owner had a bed right behind the check in counter, right there in the lobby! They refused any reasonable request. The bell boy actually told the cab driver to try and over charge us. This was told to us by the cabbie who also told us the place has a terrible reputation locally as well. Stay away from this rip off joint. Do yourself a huge favor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Dorothy MacMillanfrom UK

Ok for one night

Posted Jan 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed one night as it's close to bus station and we wanted an early start. Staff very friendly but room tiny and so was the bed......however for one night and for the money it was good value. It was very clean. Only one place to eat you could walk to but excellent and cheap food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

A little cramped, nice staff

Posted Dec 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our hotel room was quite nice and clean but really cramped! The bed was also a bit too small for two people and not very comfortable. The tap was only cold water; however, the shower was excellent. The staff were really friendly and nice, but didn't speak any English (except for 1guy). The neighborhood isn't the nicest, but the hotel is very conveniently close to a bus station.
2 out of 5
by Scottfrom Seattle, WA

This Hotel Is Not Near The Old Town

Posted Sep 10, 2013
Pros: Staff was nice enough.
Cons: The location.
Location: There's a big bus station. Seemed like a sketchy area. Maybe a good transportation hub, but near nothing interesting. Very far from Old Town.
Google Maps was wrong when we booked this. It showed this hotel right in the middle of the Old Town (Centro Historico). We booked from the U.S., and were very surprised when we arrived. It was a long way from anything that a first time visitor to Quito would want to see, to my eyes. The staff, though limited English, was very nice. At least one of the staff (owner?) already seemed to be aware of Google's error when I showed him the map, which was disappointing. The hotel was nice enough, I guess, though the halls and room were very dark. We checked out virtually immediately, and did not stay the night. I do not know, as yet, whether they charged us for the room. We had initially booked two nights through Expedia, and when we discovered the location, we changed to just one night. We only did this because we were waiting on lost luggage from LAN (another story). An hour or two later, we decided to leave anyway, told LAN of the change, and booked at the Hotel Patio Andaluz (nice) right in the historical center.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Close to Express Bus Station

Posted Mar 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great location if you need to catch the express bus to other places in Ecuador. Located in the southern part of the city and long ride from airport. Arrived in Quito late at night but easy taxi ride to the hotel and flawless check in. Restaurant was closed due to owner hurt in an accident but enough restaurants were close by to choose from.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Place For Main Bus Station In South Quito.

Posted Nov 11, 2012
Pros: location for bus
Cons: shower was not strong enough as other reviewers have noted.
Location: see above
This hotel is in the far south of Quito and so is not easy to get to from the airport. As people know, most flights tend to arrive late in Quito, so it is a long drive by taxi to the south of Quito. However.. This place is very handy for the Quitumbe bus station. So if you are already in Ecuador , then this hotel is just 150 metres away and is also adjacent to the trolley system that is easy to follow. So all parts of Quito are within easy reach during the day, via El Recto, where you can change to other routes. This hotel is very quiet and in a safe area, but there are no shops around for food etc. The bus station is the only alternative and the food there is patchy as well as the ambience, despite it being new and clean. I would stay there again , if I came in by bus as it is so convenient despite the 20 dollar price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Georgefrom Kennett Square, PA

Nice

Posted Jun 15, 2012
Pros: Proximity to Quitumbe bus station
Cons: Luke warm water
Location: With the new bus station in this area, there is a lot of construction. Seems like a safe area as far as a safe area goes in Quito.
The hotel was very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The single person room I was in was quite small, but sufficient. The room was very quiet even with the traffic outside. Very clean. I only spent one night here. Will definitely be back. The hotel is across the street from the Quitumbe bus station. One could walk it, but for $1.00 I took a cab. The only negative item is they could have turned the water temperature up more. The shower was not warm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Diegofrom Guayaquil, Ecuador

Good hotel made me feel at home

Posted Mar 25, 2012
Pros: Cleaning and care order
the hotel is very clean, excellent price, good service and very comfortable rooms is good wifi service and great location for all my paperwork