Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Liverpool

Very Welcoming On A Freezing Winters Night

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Old world charm, great food and friendly staff.
Cons: The attic room Dover was a little cold during the night. Radiator was on full but was not working very well.
Booked at the last minute due the terrible weather conditions in the area. The was like a haven of warmth in the storm, quite literally! I was greeted by a roaring log fire and a very pleasant and welcoming chap who was running the bar. My room was a "small double" which was on the top floor. It was a little cramped with sloping ceilings and limited head clearance in places. I am 6 feet tall and I managed Ok though. Room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable. I also ate here and the steak was very good indeed. I would certainly go back again and certainly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jofrom London

A pub with accommodation as a side line

Posted Nov 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a pub with accommodation so reception is behind the bar and dependent on if someone is serving drinks. I was ignored while drinks were being served. It was then "here is your room" and pretty much get on with it. Coffee was undrinkable in the morning, but breakfast was ok. I felt there was no interest in looking after guests which is a shame as the room was lovely and a welcome would have made all the difference which is the least you should expect at £90 for a night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ianfrom Plymouth

Great Stay

Posted Nov 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great stay, food was excellent, best breakfast i have had in a hotel for a very long time. Staff friendly and helpful. Only criticism would be no wifi in the rooms, only in the pub. Rooms modern and comfy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Pat

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northumberland

Clean room, modern decor, good central location

Posted Sep 12, 2014
After reading some of the other reviews, the room was a nice surprise. It couldn't exactly be described as luxurious but our room was extremely pleasant, clean and bright, decorated in a modern high-street style (Although the pub building is very old, don't expect oldy-worldly charm, think more room at 'Next'), good shower and some nice touches e.g. bottled water. The bed was comfortable and the linens were freshly laundered. Our room looked out onto the street so there was a bit of street noise but this was not unexpected seeing as this is a pub set slap bang in the centre of relatively busy tourist village. A pair of earplugs was enough to ensure a good nights sleep. So far so good - all basics covered.... Our only complaint would be the lack of warmth we felt from the staff. The guy who showed us the room when we arrived was OK, but it wasn't exactly the warm Cotswold welcome you hoped for and the ladies on breakfast all but ignored us when we came down, then served us in a very perfunctory manner. Not a smile or 'good morning' from any of them. It felt as though we were getting in the way of them cleaning! Trying to find someone to check us out was also difficult. We stood in the bar (with another man who also wanted to check out) for at least 10mins dispite a number of 'hellos' being shouted through the. 'Staff only' door. So overall a perfectly good and functional place to stay but could do with a few tweaks in the customer service dept to reach it's full potential.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by LPirr

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by リオジャンプfrom コッツウエル

優れた立地

Posted Aug 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
場所が旧市街地の真ん中にあり、ホテル自体が古民家そのものでサービスも良かったです。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chedzeyfrom Hampshire

Superb - Proper but high quality pub accomodation

Posted Jul 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Had an excellent stay, the hotel was brilliant all round. We stayed in the Jethro suite, which had a bathroom bigger than some hotel rooms we stay in and a four poster bed, it was just great value all round.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pat & Garyfrom Birmingham

Wedding guests

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: The cleanliness of the room and friendly staff.
Cons: I can't think of anything.
Location: Beautiful location with plenty of antique shops and lovely little olde world shops. A couple of banks but couldn't find a 'hole in the wall'.
Hotel staff very pleasant and helpful. We stayed in the Dover room which was on the top floor. Such a good use of space with everything needed for a comfortable overnight stay. Lovely updated en-suite and excellent furnishings in the bedroom. Breakfast was one of the best I'd ever had, really tasty. There was car parking which was very useful and a lovely suntrap of a garden. So pleased we stayed at this hotel and would not hesitate to return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted May 2, 2014
Pros: Lovely breakfast and charming character to room and hotel.
Location: Fabulous base to explore the cotswolds
Lovely village to stay in. Hotel had the old world charm we were looking for.