Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harpenden

Ideal for exploring Cotswolds

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: Position. Cosy
Cons: More choice at breakfast especially if staying for more than one night.
Location: National Trust properties. Hidcote Manor and Gardens, Snowshill and Chastleton House all nearby. Exploring pretty villages and beautiful scenery.
We stayed here for 2 nights while attending a wedding. Room was in the eaves and beams a bit low. Bed comfortable and it was well equipped. We had a pleasant evening meal and decent cooked breakfasts. The staff were friendly and would definitely use it again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Situated in centre of Chipping Camden.

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: Clean and comfortable bedroom
Cons: Choice of fruit on the breakfast menu
Location: Chipping Camden is a beautiful Cotswold village 15 miles south of Stratford. It has a number of eating establishments to suit all palates
Clean and spacious bedroom with flat screen TV. Shower cubicle larger than most with efficient shower controls. Good selection on the bar meal menu with enough options to suit most tastes. Breakfast cooked order with more than adequate portions. Generally exceptional value for money
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Village Pub

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Room small but comfortable.
Cons: The shower cubicle was too small for a 15st male to shower in comfort.
Location: Located in the village centre on the Main Street.
Good stay, accommodation reached externally to the pub whilst being within the main building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Wonderful country bed and breakfast,

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: Staff, cleanliness, food, position and general ambience, would recommend to anyone.
Cons: Maybe a chair in the room, purely personal.
Location: A wonderful garden further back up the high street, very small but pretty, Ernest Wilson memorial garden.
What a lovely b and b! Lovely staff, friendly and helpful. Lovely room, clean and welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Angie from Dunstable

Cotswold break

Posted Mar 5, 2015 on Hotels
Great pub with excellent service and individually styled rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Very Welcoming On A Freezing Winters Night

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Old world charm, great food and friendly staff.
Cons: The attic room Dover was a little cold during the night. Radiator was on full but was not working very well.
Booked at the last minute due the terrible weather conditions in the area. The was like a haven of warmth in the storm, quite literally! I was greeted by a roaring log fire and a very pleasant and welcoming chap who was running the bar. My room was a "small double" which was on the top floor. It was a little cramped with sloping ceilings and limited head clearance in places. I am 6 feet tall and I managed Ok though. Room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable. I also ate here and the steak was very good indeed. I would certainly go back again and certainly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jo from London

A pub with accommodation as a side line

Posted Nov 11, 2014 on Hotels
This is a pub with accommodation so reception is behind the bar and dependent on if someone is serving drinks. I was ignored while drinks were being served. It was then "here is your room" and pretty much get on with it. Coffee was undrinkable in the morning, but breakfast was ok. I felt there was no interest in looking after guests which is a shame as the room was lovely and a welcome would have made all the difference which is the least you should expect at £90 for a night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ian from Plymouth

Great Stay

Posted Nov 9, 2014 on Hotels
Great stay, food was excellent, best breakfast i have had in a hotel for a very long time. Staff friendly and helpful. Only criticism would be no wifi in the rooms, only in the pub. Rooms modern and comfy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Pat

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northumberland

Clean room, modern decor, good central location

Posted Sep 12, 2014
After reading some of the other reviews, the room was a nice surprise. It couldn't exactly be described as luxurious but our room was extremely pleasant, clean and bright, decorated in a modern high-street style (Although the pub building is very old, don't expect oldy-worldly charm, think more room at 'Next'), good shower and some nice touches e.g. bottled water. The bed was comfortable and the linens were freshly laundered. Our room looked out onto the street so there was a bit of street noise but this was not unexpected seeing as this is a pub set slap bang in the centre of relatively busy tourist village. A pair of earplugs was enough to ensure a good nights sleep. So far so good - all basics covered.... Our only complaint would be the lack of warmth we felt from the staff. The guy who showed us the room when we arrived was OK, but it wasn't exactly the warm Cotswold welcome you hoped for and the ladies on breakfast all but ignored us when we came down, then served us in a very perfunctory manner. Not a smile or 'good morning' from any of them. It felt as though we were getting in the way of them cleaning! Trying to find someone to check us out was also difficult. We stood in the bar (with another man who also wanted to check out) for at least 10mins dispite a number of 'hellos' being shouted through the. 'Staff only' door. So overall a perfectly good and functional place to stay but could do with a few tweaks in the customer service dept to reach it's full potential.