Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northumberland

Clean room, modern decor, good central location

Posted Sep 12, 2014
After reading some of the other reviews, the room was a nice surprise. It couldn't exactly be described as luxurious but our room was extremely pleasant, clean and bright, decorated in a modern high-street style (Although the pub building is very old, don't expect oldy-worldly charm, think more room at 'Next'), good shower and some nice touches e.g. bottled water. The bed was comfortable and the linens were freshly laundered. Our room looked out onto the street so there was a bit of street noise but this was not unexpected seeing as this is a pub set slap bang in the centre of relatively busy tourist village. A pair of earplugs was enough to ensure a good nights sleep. So far so good - all basics covered.... Our only complaint would be the lack of warmth we felt from the staff. The guy who showed us the room when we arrived was OK, but it wasn't exactly the warm Cotswold welcome you hoped for and the ladies on breakfast all but ignored us when we came down, then served us in a very perfunctory manner. Not a smile or 'good morning' from any of them. It felt as though we were getting in the way of them cleaning! Trying to find someone to check us out was also difficult. We stood in the bar (with another man who also wanted to check out) for at least 10mins dispite a number of 'hellos' being shouted through the. 'Staff only' door. So overall a perfectly good and functional place to stay but could do with a few tweaks in the customer service dept to reach it's full potential.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pat & Gary from Birmingham

Wedding guests

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: The cleanliness of the room and friendly staff.
Cons: I can't think of anything.
Location: Beautiful location with plenty of antique shops and lovely little olde world shops. A couple of banks but couldn't find a 'hole in the wall'.
Hotel staff very pleasant and helpful. We stayed in the Dover room which was on the top floor. Such a good use of space with everything needed for a comfortable overnight stay. Lovely updated en-suite and excellent furnishings in the bedroom. Breakfast was one of the best I'd ever had, really tasty. There was car parking which was very useful and a lovely suntrap of a garden. So pleased we stayed at this hotel and would not hesitate to return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted May 2, 2014
Pros: Lovely breakfast and charming character to room and hotel.
Location: Fabulous base to explore the cotswolds
Lovely village to stay in. Hotel had the old world charm we were looking for.
2 out of 5
by mary from swindon

poor value for money

Posted Jul 18, 2013
Pros: chipping campden is lovely
Cons: too noisy to sleep. not great breakfast. overpriced
i have reviewed this hotel on tripadvisor. i would not recommend it very noisy at night
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful

Posted May 24, 2013
Under new ownership for past year. Family run. It was a highlight stop of our trip. Excellent food. Ask for the Devon room. You will not be disappointed! A pleasure to provide a deserving review to a first rate establishment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jennifer P. from California

A rustic inn in a charming town

Posted May 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
My husband and I stayed for one night on holiday and loved it! We had dinner and pints at the pub downstairs and everything was delicious. The nice lady behind the bar showed us to our double room. We were situated on the top floor. Even though it was the "attic" room and had to work around the A-frame shape, we found it a pleasant stay. The room itself is a little dated, but it's the people that make it special. The town itself is beautiful and deserving of a long walk. I would stay here again and recommend it to friends.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Not bad at all

Posted Jan 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lovely little village, and a lovely little B&B. The welcome was very warm, as was the room! A couple of niggles: the building's old and creaky, so we heard the resident in the room above us stomping around several times during the night, and there was no proper shower in our room (just a bath with a shower attachment) - a real shame, as we just needed a bed to crash in for the night and a shower to get us going in the morning...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Andrea from Gloucester

Pet friendly

Posted Jan 21, 2013
Lovely quaint hotel, lots of hot water, very clean, lovely staff, perfect location etc. although I would only describe the food as good, not brilliant.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Neil

Great service, shame the rooms don't match

Posted Jan 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
The service and staff at this hotel are fantastic and it is in a good location. There is also a car park. The rooms however are very dated and in serious need of some TLC. The bathroom was very old and the shower was poor. There is also no wifi in the rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Loud but Lovely!

Posted Jul 21, 2012 on Hotels.com
Our room was a bit loud being on street level...BUT it was the perfect getaway! The staff were all great...and the beer?? Ahhhh!