Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Cons: Renovation of bathroom would certainly help improve this hotel
This hotel was adaquate to break our journey room was big enough and clean just the bathroom could do with a revamp
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent, UK

Could do better

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: Staff did try to fix the problem. Two rooms later we were given a room that came near to standard. They gave us free breakfast. Good quality meals.
Cons: Attention to detail. Deep clean and repaint the rooms fully. Ventilate the rooms. Change the shower curtain regularly. Wash the carpet.
Location: On the M6. Ideal jumping off point for tourists to the North West or North British people travelling south. The Lakes and Dales are quite close.
Dirty room with heavily mould encrusted windows. My wife is asthmatic and finds this difficult to tolerate. It had a smelly bath curtain. There was no ventilation as the window only opened slightly. In the first room we tried the radiator was stuck on in the height of summer. There was no A/C or even a fan. It had a dirty carpet. General malodour due to dampness/mould. Poor quality of room decor. It is indeed a budget hotel but having spent 2 weeks travelling in North America in May 2015, I came to expect a better standard for approximately the same price. This comment is not to be taken as a totally negative review as I found the staff to be very professional and impeccably polite. They were genuinely concerned and acted quickly. Credit where credit is due.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, received what I paid for.

Posted Jun 24, 2015
I stayed there Thursday - Tuesday and I had a lovely time. I asked the room cleaner to leave extra tea because we are not big coffee drinkers and she happily did. I paid £160 for 5 nights which was excellent! The room came with TV, tea and coffee facilities, trouser press and daily cleaning. The room was neat and tidy and surprisingly the beds were comfortable! We enjoyed our stay for such a simple price. We did not eat here as we went out for meals but it was recommended! Overall I enjoyed my stay because everything I required was included, it was tidy and clean! No dirt anywhere! So if you're looking for cheap, tidy and effective this is your place!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michelle from St Albans

Convenient and comfortable place to stopover

Posted May 5, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed as a pit stop on our trip to Scotland, arriving at 10pm we were greeted by a friendly receptionist and told about the bar services and breakfast should we want to use them. The room was perfectly functional and bed was comfy. Tea/Coffee and biscuits provided. Bathroom was also functional if a little tired but for the price and what we needed it was a great place to stay. Considering its location on a service area we thought it was actually very quiet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A place to stay after a party in Chorley.

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Free wifi.
Cons: Breakfast. We arrived at 09:40 (served until 10:00) and we were only served food that was already cooked. I asked for a fried egg and was refused.
Location: Off the M6.
The hotel is situated right off the M6 and a service stop. Our check in was fast and without issues. Our room (100) was located in the non smoking section. Unfortunately to get there we had to pass through the smoking section. The room was small and relatively clean. We found a few adult hairs in the bathroom. The free wifi was fast and reliable. On the negative the room ventilation was poor and stuff. We found it hard to sleep well. Also the pillows were lumpy and provided little support. We would recommend this room to someone needing an accommodation for the night only. Any longer and you might have issues.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 28, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jonathan from Kabale, Uganda

No problems!

Posted Apr 11, 2015 on Hotels
You get what you pay for. It was cheap, clean and entirely functional. No problems.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Grzegorz from Galway

Poor but cheap - great for sleep-over...

Posted Mar 19, 2015 on Hotels
Not a fancy hotel, but it's more than decent for the price. If you only need a place to sleep this is more than enough, especially if you compare the prices to other places in UK.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

Saturday overnight stay 14th March

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: see above
Cons: see above
Location: By the M6 with services opposite. Did not explore further afield as I was there to attend an event in Brindle.
I needed only one night stay for a function the following day, so only wanted basic inexpensive rooms. My room was certainly basic, but at £40 for one night I would say it was overpriced. The bathroom was clean enough, but the handbasin was badly cracked around one tap, and was clumsily mastic-ed to the wall behind the taps; there was no tooth-mug to rinse with, and the paintwork looked in need of refreshing, as did the rest of the room. There was no means of contacting reception from the room, so I had to phone the hotel from my mobile in the room, in order to make enquiries at the reception (I wasn't dressed so couldn't go downstairs!) The bed was OK but the pillows/bedding could have been better I feel.The radiator was only warm at the top but cold at the bottom - in need of bleeding I expect. Breakfast was good,the dining area was pleasant enough, and the staff were helpful. I consider that the hotel served it's purpose on this occasion, but the whole place needs a lot of TLC in my opinion, in order to bring it up to being worth £40 per night (room only)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2015 on Hotels