Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom brisbane Australia

Just adequate

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Room had no toiletries supplied, staff said it was an oversight. Bathroom Sink had some matted hair in the plug hole, mirror was streaky not properly cleaned.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Peterfrom Leicester

Hotel was okay

Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Served my needs
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Milesfrom Bishops Stortford

Top stay!

Posted Oct 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fastastic food. Comfortable stay, will definatly return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Derby

Last minute hotel

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: The experience box says it all
Cons: I could be picky but the value was good.
Location: Location was excellent for us as we came from Bolton Football stadium then onward to Lancaster in the morning for a christening could not have picked
We booked the Pines Hotel last minute and got a good price for the room. What we didn't expect was the very good staff in all the areas of the hotel. The room was adequate for one night so we weren`t disappointed with it. The food in the restaurant at night and the included breakfast was first class and good value. Thankyou.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Neilfrom Bradford

Could be great, but sadly flawed.

Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were upgraded to a luxury suite with a four-poster bed as our booking hadn't appeared on their system, which seemed rather fortunate. However the suite was blisteringly hot with no heating controls which made relaxing in it and sleeping difficult, even with all the windows open and ceiling fan on. The towel rail in the bathroom was too hot to touch and didn't seem to pay any attention to our attempts to turn it down. The room although sumptuous wasn't the cleanest - the toilet looked a bit grim as though it could do with a "proper" clean. We also had a huge problem with the breakfast - we mentioned we were vegetarian and although we didn't expect veggie sausages and bacon (although nowadays, why not), we thought they'd offer an alternative even if it was in the form of an extra egg or mushrooms. The slightly older lady who took our order in the morning was completely unhelpful - when asked if there were any veggie options she simply said "no". When my partner mentioned that perhaps it was something that could be looked at and improved it was met with "well... we don't get many vegetarians". The "breakfast" came, and consisted of: a 1" mushroom, an egg, a half-slice of fried bread and a splodge of baked beans. Not really worth the £10. It wouldn't have been so bad if she'd at least have said that she would pass it onto management...
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely rooms and a great overall experience, I would say it could do with a bit of updating as its a bit 1950s. But the room was great and very clean. Would definitely reccomend it! Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Fantastic service - great menu

Posted Sep 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fantastic service - great menu,Ideal location and friendly staff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by kayl1from Hemel Hempstead

Such a shame

Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is a nice place and my room was really clean and looked comfortable. The receptionist and the staff on the bar were lovely and very helpful as was the young man who helped me with my suitcase. Sadly I was unable to stay and had to pack up and move because of the catering managers approach to my celiac disease and associated dietary needs. The restaurant was closed due to a wedding party being in. The bar meal only offered a couple of salads amongst every thing else that was bread or pizza based and so not possible for me to eat. I pointed this out and the fact that I had booked because they had a place to eat and no flag came up when booking to say it would nit be open. The catering manager declined to help me with say soup, chips or jacket potato and beans , any thing simple but gluten free I felt discriminated against by her and indicated I could not stay and packed up and went else where. I would return to the hotel on the basis of the room and that most of the staff were very nice and helpful but will be quizzing the chef about gluten free options before I book !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Manchester

Great place to stay

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Booked this hotel very last minute, and thought it was a lovely place to stay, and great value. The staff were very polite and friendly, the room was clean, comfy and nicely decorated, and the cooked breakfast was of a high standard. Thanks!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lillianfrom Poulsbo, WA

Too hot.

Posted Jul 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
I loved the atmosphere of the hotel and gardens. My only complaint is that there wasn't a way to turn off the towel bar heater in the bathroom and it made it like a sauna in the room. Probably much appreciated in the winter but we stayed on a very warm day. The staff in the restaurant were very accommodating when they fixed us snacks right after they had stopped serving dinner. Very much appreciated.