Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hong Kong

Convenient Location and Helpful Staff

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: Listed above
Cons: Cannot find a fault
Location: Tour Cathedral Square, Transitional Cathedral, Tram Ride, Dolphin & Harbour Cruise at Akaroa.
Conveniently located within walking distance to restaurants and city attractions. Room was spacious and furnished with sufficient resting and eating area. Internet connection was sufficient for normal usage. Kitchen was fully equipped for breakfast and simple meals. Toilet was roomy with hot and strong shower which was important after a day's outdoor activities. Parking lot was a bit tight and packed but manageable. Quick, organized and smooth check-in process. Staff was friendly and helpful in providing directions to various tourist spots and advice on restaurants, etc. Their shop and restaurant guide was thoughtfully constructed to show different types of cuisines - with opening hours, telephone numbers, approximate estimated spending for 2, as well as distance in relation to Motel; which was really a "rare extra" to first time visitors in town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Centre of town motel

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Staff were very friendly (and are fluent in Japanese as well), rooms were clean and well equipped. Family run, and very well organised.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

文句なし

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: 日本語OK、清潔さ、部屋の快適さ、立地
Cons: 強いて挙げるとすれば部屋の窓が開閉できれば嬉しい(換気のため)
設備・サービス・快適さすべてにおいて文句なしです。 今回のNZ旅行では4つのホテル・モーテルを利用しましたが、こちらが1番良かったです。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Michaelfrom Denver, CO

Lovely first experience w/ New Zealand hospitality

Posted Oct 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was our first hotel stay in New Zealand and really set the tone for the hospitality and service that was to be the norm. The room, although not luxurious was very comfortable and functional. The lady manager was extremely helpful. When I asked the usual "What do you recommend in the area" question I was immediately treated to personalized maps and list of the area with a lengthy and very helpful commentary. Unfortunately the downtown area where the hotel is located is still mostly in shambles. Not rebuilding quite yet but still demolishing. Still a lot to see though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom 上海

綺麗、快適

Posted Oct 3, 2014
部屋は綺麗で快適でした。 スタッフも親切! 街はまだ震災の影響が残っているが、モーテルからも近い。 オススメです。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great service an handy location

Posted Oct 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good location and excellent service on arrival
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spoiled by what should have been a minor issue

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Cons: Maybe the owner was having a bad day. If not, perhaps some customer service training, or an ability to keep his bad day out of the office
Rooms here were lovely, beds comfy and all as expected. The only thing to spoil our stay was that we had an issue with the WiFi. Free Wifi for 24 hours and 1gb is made available.. this is great. However we apparently used this inside one hour, on one ipad that was not set to do any updates, and only received 2 emails with no attachments during that time. I queried this at the time, ipad in hand with the owner who insisted I must have had settings applied for updates... I didn't even know where the settings were, so he looked and found that not to be the problem. As I didn't want to spend my time debating, I bought a very inexpensive 3gb package, of which we used only 74mb in the entire rest of the 24hr period. On checking out, I just wanted to point out again that it seemed there must be a problem at their end... they did refuse my $5 for the extra download I bought, which would have been great, and I wasn't even asking for that, but then the owner wanted to keep arguing with me in spite of the fact that I said I was happy to pay, it just seemed that there must be a problem and then said more than once, 'I just wanted to let you know.. pay my money.. not debate it'. I left reception with him still insisting he was right as I walked out the door. It spoiled what should have been an otherwise pleasant stay. It made me glad we didn't have any major issues, as this minor one (for me) couldn't even be dealth with politely. For this reason, I couldn't recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tokyo, Japan

ピカピカに綺麗なモーテル in クライストチャーチ

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: オーナーご夫妻が日本語okなところ、いざという時安心感がある。 エコに配慮している。 設備が良い。快適。
Cons: バスルーム内の、タオルの交換の説明が日本語でもフォローされていると良かったと思う。 床に落とさないとタオルなど交換しないルールなのだが、うっかりバスタブの中にいれて置いた濡れたバスマットがそのままだった。私は自分が間違えた自覚があるが日本語の案内もあった方が混乱が少ないかもしれない。
Location: モーテルであることから徒歩圏内にお店は少なめ、クライストチャーチ自体が人が少なくてやや寂しい感じはある。1kmくらい歩くのが平気なら、選択肢は多くなる。 歩いて数分でゆける範囲にあるオーナーさんオススメのカフェはレベルが高かった。朝食が美味しかった。
当日、部屋が満室でなかったので、広くてシャワーの部屋か一寸狭くてバスタブのある部屋から選ばせて頂きました。 灼熱の日本から来て寒さが身に沁みていたのでバスタブの部屋にしました。また、お皿やワイングラスなど、備え付けの食器はどれもピカピカでバスルームも綺麗で設備が良くて、びっくりしました。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Gold Coast

Great well maintained hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Our stay at the CentrePoint on Colombo Hotel was well above board. I was greeted by the famous owner Geoff who looked after us with good old fashioned Kiwi Service. The room was modern, and furnished appropriately. Had a great sleep thanks to the high quality King mattress. Thank you for the best service in town!