Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Qld, Australia

Nice hotel close to the city

Posted Jan 21, 2015
We spent one night here. The staff were very helpful, the room was clean but looking a bit old and the room service was quick and well priced. The room was on the ground floor and opened up to the garden. It is in a good position, just a short walk to the Botanical Gardens and into the city centre.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Handy to Casino

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: Bed, blackout curtains, shower pressure
Cons: See experience
Check in was good, when we entered the room the fridge was turned off, the TV is a old box type with a distorted picture and you couldn't see all the words on the screen. There was a long hair above the controls for the shower, there was mold on the shower door which wiped off easily, one small container of shampoo/conditioner for two people. The toilet had toilet paper in it. When we queried about the fridge not going they said they would send a porter, we gave up waiting and checked it all ourselves, he did eventually turn up. Breakfast was a bit confusing from the older waitress that didn't know how to smile, the two young girls were lovely. The bed was comfortable, the shower had excellent pressure, the blackout curtains were very good. Unfortunately I would not stay here again, and if you guys give this place a high rating I would not use your site again as I get the feeling you may not check these at random.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brisbane, Queensland

5 Day Stay

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Pros: Reasonable rate, staff helpful and friendly and rooms kept clean.
Cons: Room maintenance - lights and electrical accessories.
Location: Good location close to the CBD, lovely grounds and immediate surrounds. Walking distance to Riccarton Road cafe's and shopping center.
Staff very helpful, room clean, tidy and comfortable and located in a nice part of town. Heated bathroom towel rail did not work along with some light bulbs. Reported this to reception but they did not seem to be particularly concerned. Restaurant was fairly expensive so ate out in nearby Riccarton Road where there are plenty of good options.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, CA

Great location

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Wonderful food.
Good location, just across from the park. The food was wonderful. Our stay was short but very pleasant!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful gardens and lovely hotel

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: Its character
Had a wonderful stay and being close to the park and town was great. Found the devastation of the earthquake a very sad and moving experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brisbane Australia

Great hotel close to CBD

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Pros: Rooms were quiet and well presented and clean .The gardens were excellent and the restaurant was quite good.
Cons: Nothing
Really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were excellent and the facilities were as well.We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

comfy beds,

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a great stay and would definitely recommend the Chateua to frienda and family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne, Australia

Novelty on the park

Posted Oct 11, 2014
A visual masterpiece. The architecture is unique and unexpected, and gets even more impressive on the inside. Loved the moat around the restaurant inside.