Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
by Mark McGregorfrom New Zealand - Auckland
Posted Nov 15, 2014
Location: Just right
Facilities: Above average; Value: Fantastic; Service: Outstanding, Very friendly ;
by A verified travelerfrom Southland
Pillows & bed like rocksPosted Sep 17, 2014
Cons: Pillows and beds
OK for CHCH but soft pillows and beds would make it worth returning.
by Huia Hanlenfrom New Zealand - Auckland
Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: We really enjoyed the adjoined rooms for our family, allowing us enough space, plus being connected
Cons: Couldn't get the heaters to warm our rooms and make them toasty.
Location: Just right
Facilities: Modern; Value: Affordable; Service: Professional; Cleanliness: Immaculate; Thanks for a wonderful stay
by Deb Millikenfrom New Zealand - Auckland
Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Friendliness and warmth of check in lady , spotlessly clean. Quiet.
Cons: Nothing really , just a standard slightly dated motel with charming hosts
Closest motel Im sure for visiting Lady Diana Isaac retirement home , and still easy access to city
by Peter Colefrom Australia - VIC - Geelong
Posted Mar 13, 2014
Pros: Friendly owners and staff full of info for us
Location: Good positiom
Facilities: Above average; Value: Affordable; Service: Go the extra mile; Cleanliness: Spotless; Happy with everything that we wanted
Recommendedby CHCH fellafrom christchurch
wouldn't go backPosted Feb 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall I was very unimpressed with this hotel. I suspect a lot of the glowing reviews are fake as it is definitely a below average option. On the positive side the motel is modern and clean. More negatives than positives for me though. The location is rubbish - in the middle of nowhere on a very busy road, the service is terrible very rude at times and didn't replace tea, coffee or milk etc, the advertised kitchenette only consists of a sink and an electric frying pan (when I used it the owner came barging into my room without knocking and quite aggressively asked me to open windows - turned out that smells are transported directly next door - I wasn't burning anything or cooking anything particularly smelly in case you are wondering!), 'espresso machine' advertised as being in all rooms is actually just a coffee plunger (BYO coffee beans!). No swimming pool or gym etc however if you don't mind sitting in the carpark there was a BBQ! Lol = I won't be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2014 by Sandy, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your review we always find these useful - Our cooking facilities include an electric frypan and microwave as advertised and as our servicing of your room took over 1/2 hour everyday due to all the dishes you left and food on the floor we possibly overlooked the tea and coffee but you could have reminded us. I do not call "barging in" when standing at the sliding door after I knocked. Unfortunately we had to close the room off for two days after you left due to the cooking smells and had the expense of getting the mattress cleaned after it was left wet which you didn't advise us of and which we didn't charge you for. We do not advertise a gym or swimming pool so not sure why you make this comment and we give complimentry milk on arrival not everyday. I can assure you we do not make false reviews. Thank you. Greg & Sandy.
for Familiesby Andrewfrom Melbourne, Aus
Booked 2 joining rooms for familyPosted Jan 23, 2014
Pros: Very friendly & helpful staff Able to book 2 joined rooms. Parking on site. Price.
Cons: Beds were the least comfortable of any in our NZ Holiday. Could feel the springs in the mattress.
We booked 2 joining rooms and stayed 1 night. (double in 1, double + single in other room) The staff were helpful, and easy to get on with. They were happy to call on our behalf different tours etc and provided practical information. The rooms were clean but a little dated. Bathrooms were in good order.
Recommendedby A verified traveler
Posted Jan 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
for Overnight Stay Before Destinationby Funsta27from Townsville Aust
Everything you need for a comfortable stayPosted Jan 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed for two nights and the owners couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. There's a small bar and restaurant across the road for an evening meal. Would definitely stay here again.
by Alana Findlayfrom Australia - WA - Perth
Posted Jan 1, 2014
Pros: Easy no fuss accommodation