Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2015
Da wir ein Kind haben wollte uns die Unterkunft nicht aufnehmen
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan, USA

Great location Convenient

Posted Apr 28, 2015
We enjoyed our stay at this B&B. The hosts, Chet and Steve, are warm, friendly, kind, helpful. The room was clean and cozy - fresh linens and full clean-up daily. Location is halfway between Christchurch and Cashmere. Breakfasts were nicely prepared and ample.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom miami beach

You'll feel cherished at this B&b!

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Location: walking distance of downtown. The Botanic Gardens are great, but see the quake stuff, especially Quake City and Cardboard Cathedral.
Review designer cottage What stood out the most for us in this stylish, low-key, well-located b&b was the personal knowledge of Christchurch that the owner, Chet, took pleasure in conveying to his guests. Shortly after arrival, he sat us down in the lovely separate breakfast building and gave us a copy of a map on which he had drawn up numerous recommendations for eating and shopping all the way from the b&b into downtown. He described each one, noting any tricky things about finding it or about hours. He asked what we were interested in seeing and made suggestions on the best ways to go about It, and added suggestions of his own. The city had been devastated by two earthquakes in 2010 and 2011 and he gave us a chance to get some questions answered about that. It was the single best "routine" service we have ever received from anyone running a guest accommodation. The accommodation itself is interesting; it's made up of several small cottages around basically a central courtyard. Chet, if I'm not mistaken, is from Malaysia tho he has been in Christchurch for 20 years, and he is a landscape designer. The whole property reflects a simple, serene, Asian-influenced sense of style that we loved, from the furnishings to the fruit trees (we ate sweet pears from his trees; we also met the urban chickens). We had a lovely studio unit with a tiny bathroom and great water pressure. Breakfast is served with guests coming and going from a table laden with fruit and other continental break
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Schweiz

Freundliches B&B in Stadtnähe

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: Frühstück
Wir wurden freundlich empfangen und es wurde gleich ein Getränk offeriert. Das Zimmer war gepflegt. Am besten hat uns das Frühstück im umgebauten Gartenhaus gefallen. Eine gute Gelegenheit um sich mit anderen Reisenden auszutauschen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom wellington, new zealand

Lovely cottage, lovely Hosts

Posted Mar 30, 2015
We had a warm welcome and spent a weekend in Chch. Breakfeast was deliscious and more than I expected. Would recommend it and go again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Nice B&B with excellent service from staff.

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Great and excellent service from staff. Good rate and not too far from city (there are buses to get there in less than 10 minutes)
Location: Location is about 2 KM from city center. It will take around 30 minutes to walk there. You can take local buses to get there.
Excellent staff providing good service. Good continental breakfast. A little far from city center but there are buses to get there. Quiet neighborhood.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Liverpool

Something out of the ordinary

Posted Mar 19, 2015
If your want something other than the bland motel room. A place with character and a host who goes out of his way to give personal service. Great conversation with him and the other guests over a super continental breakfast. At the same time you will be doing your part in helping to maintain some of the older properties in Christchurch. Then this is the type of property for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Friendly and very comfortable and attractive furnishings
Location: Good location. We went to the beautiful little port town of Akaroa. It was an easy ride from this nice location
Adorable atmosphere in this lovely b&b. We needed to stay in Christ Church as we were flying home the next day. We enjoyed the pleasant neighborhood
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Redmond, OR

Wonderful staff and breakfast.

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Very clear briefing by the staff that greeted us. Well maintained and stylish. Cool numbered locking system so no need for keys. Clean, quiet, comfortable room with stylish bathroom. Close to eating and shopping. Try the Southern Alehouse for good food, drink and live music. As for good at Designer Cottage, the breakfast was very nice and the staff was very attentive and entertaining. Made for a very positive final impression.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom usa

great potential when facilities are completed.

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: location was ok - not close to downtown but that was ok for our needs. room size was also good. quiet location. out in the 'burbs.
Cons: bathroom was unfinished, or looked like non-professionals had done the work. still had plywood on one wall. likely slapped up to take advantage.
Location: in a suburban location 5 minutes from a small commercial strip - with laundry, food, other shopping opportunities. not downtown at all.
We stayed at for just one night during their high season. room was comfortable enough but bathroom needs some serious work done on it to warrant the money they charged us. We also had to leave early and we in a self-contained unit so weren't able to check out the buffet breakfast. There didn't seem to be many true B&Bs available in CHCH, likely due to teh ongoing rebuilding efforts and/or zoning rules, so chose this place, but I wouldn't call it a B&B - more of a guest home, if you know what I mean. pleasant enough, but not charming like i was hoping for