Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

clean and nice hotel^^

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: tv on Room, and good wifi
Cons: guests are all used kichen too dirty and not good manner .
Location: good to walk to haley park
clean and nice hotel^^ tv on Room, and good wifi It was good to stay short time
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sg

Very comfortable but lacks atmosphere

Posted Jul 24, 2014
It was pretty quiet for the length of my stay, possibly because it's the low season. Most people in my room were only there to rest for a night. Thumbs up to the amenities, they are top notched. However, the house isn't designed to facilitate interaction between travellers and the lounge is significantly underused.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good area

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: clean and comfortable
very good about late check in and early check out, hassle free.
3 out of 5
by Agus from Argentina

Cold in winter

Posted Jun 2, 2014
I shared a 6 bed room. Other guests were really cool and staff is welcoming. It is s little creepy to see pictures of the former house owners in the 20s though. Internet was free. Only thing: the heating is not good. I was freezing and the room was very cold and the blanket is not enough for winter in Christchurch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Kakes from London

Nice environment, would stay again

Posted Apr 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
I enjoyed my stay at Dorset house. Its location is excellent being close to the botanical gardens and hagley park north and still in a reasonable walking distance to town and shops. The internet allowance is only 100MB per night stay and the beds in the dorms are not bunk beds (great). Nice big kitchen dining area and bathrooms with hairdryer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Short overnight stay

Posted Apr 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
I needed a room for an overnight stay before meeting up with a tour group and the Dorset Backpackers Hotel fit the bill. I stayed in a single room and it was a nice size with a comfortable bed. There were several bathrooms down the hall-- never had to wait, and the kitchen was nicely stocked. I didn't stay for long but it seems like a perfect place to sleep an shower at a reasonable price so that you can spend your money on other activities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bridget from Melbourne, Australia

Handy location, close to city square

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Has the necessities. No frills but old building charm!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by Fei

Only for overnight

Posted Feb 4, 2014
Free Wifi is very limited. No breakfast, small room, and the kictchen is not clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Hdawg from Sydney

No bunks

Posted Jan 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great having no bunks. Lounge was comfy. A little TLC in general across all aspects wouldn't go astray but nothing to complain about. Probably a little overpriced but comfy and convenient.