Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Qld

Nice motel

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: The friendliness and helpfulness of the owners
Cons: Somewhere to hang a jacket.
Location: We enjoyed a good curry at the Curry Time, just a short stroll away.
We spent two nights at this is a clean cheerful motel run by nice helpful people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Fabulous!!!!

Posted Jan 17, 2015
The owners were warm, fun and wonderful!! They gave us great recommendations to tour Christchurch. We would have loved to stay longer!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Terryfrom Columbus

Did not rest well

Posted Dec 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Road noise in the mornings. Bed and pillow uncomfortable
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2015 by Rose, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking time to write a review on our motel Terry. We're sorry, but also surprised that you didn't have a comfortable stay here, as guests constantly tell us how comfortable the beds are and how quiet the units are! We're sorry your stay was not as nice as it could have been. Regards, Rose.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2015 by Rose, Hotel Management
Hi Terry and thanks for taking the time to write a review about staying at our motel. We're sorry, but also surprised that you didn't have a comfortable sleep, as one things most guests comment on, is the quietness of the units and the comfortable beds! We're really sorry that your stay wasn't as enjoyable for you as it could have been. Kind regards, Rose.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Andrewfrom Ashburton

Garden City Motel Christchurch

Posted Dec 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
From the welcoming relaxed check in to the extremely comfortable bed, our stay was most pleasurable. The room was spotlessly clean, the gardens and grounds immaculate and the hosts down to earth and genuinely welcoming.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2015 by Rose, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for your great review of our motel Andrew! We work hard to provide a happy experience for our guests, so it means a lot to us to have that effort appreciated. Thanks and regards, Rose.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Martinfrom Perth, WA

A pleasant stay.

Posted Nov 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room, up a flight of wooden stairs, was large, bright and airy, clean and comfortable. Reastaurants, shops and supermarkets were a short drive away; one would need to have a vehicle. Laundry facilities are available, including a washing line. The kitchen families were good, and the bathroom clean and functional, although a bit small.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2015 by Rose, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review Martin! It was really lovely having you stay here - meeting great people is the best part of the job for us! Cheers, Rose
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Donaldfrom Ballarat, Victoria, Australia

Very nice stay with lovely hosts.

Posted Nov 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room was comfortable and of a reasonable size. Very clean and maintained. Only the curtain on the window and door were old and the door curtain was broken and did not fully close over the glass entrance door. Also, there was no wardrobe to hang up clothes.but, Staff were lovely and easy to get along with. Very nice people to stay with.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by nerradpcfrom Auckland

Comfy Bed

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location and Bed to sleep in. enjoyed all the excitement of the Christchurch region.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2015 by Rose, Hotel Management
Thanks lots for your positive comments about staying here, we really appreciate it! Glad too that you enjoyed the many attractions Christchurch has to offer. Regards, Rose
5 out of 5
by Tony Brooksfrom Australia - NSW - Sydney

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: No central heating
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2014
Thanks for your helpful review Tony. We've just taken over here and have some good renovations planned! Aside from our one smaller studio that has an electric heater, all of our units now have heatpumps in them. We're glad everything else was to your liking. Thanks, Rose
5 out of 5
by Hugh Drakefrom New Zealand - Manawatu

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Close to friend's house
Cons: No toaster
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2014
Thanks for your honest review Barb, being new owners of this motel, it is genuinely appreciated and we view all feedback as helpful for us! I'm assuming you stayed in our studio unit, which now does have a toaster, fridge freezer and various other additions. Having stayed in many motels myself over the years, I know how important having all the comforts of home is! Our aim is to ensure all units are well appointed.