Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Spacious room

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Spacious room
Location: Christchurch is still recovering from the earthquake, but the botanical garden is lovely.
Friendly and professional staff. Easy to find and good location. Spacious room with good facility.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oamaru

Nice clean and welcoming hotel in a great location

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: The decor was great felt like we were back in Tudor days in England
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great location near Papanui rd which has everything
Overall a great hotel would definatly stay again, the food in the restraunt was good which we had as room service. The staff were welcoming and very helpful. The rooms were very comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by PC from Albany WA

Bed was comfy, daily room upkeep was exellent

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
On arrival 4th may the 1st room we were shown was clean but horribly musty the 2nd one had the same smell & we did not wish to breath in that air for the duration of our stay so was shown another up stairs to which we accepted. The first two were on the ground floor & the smell was like the rooms had at some stage been damp as did the restaurant, hence we chose not to eat there either. Could not fault the person at the front desk on the day, he went out of his way to accommodate us. We did not see him again during our stay to thank him again for his patience, good manners & friendly disposition. At one point we had a flashing light on our phone so rang the front desk to inquire if there was a message to which they replied no messages had been received. The light flashed all night so I wrote a note to the cleaners to ask them why the light kept flashing & they wrote back that we had a message & to call the front desk. No one seemed to know anything & later that evening we found a message near my husbands bag informing us that my niece had called & unfortunately we missed catching up she had already flown back to Wellington. The purpose of our visit was to catch up with her & her brother whom we had not seen for over 35 yrs. So disappointed. Met up only with my nephew & his wife & fmly as they live in C/Ch. The moral of the story is they need to leave messages on the table or dressing table near the phone where they can be seen sooner rather than later.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John B from Auckland

Close to Merivale & close to CDB

Posted May 4, 2014
Pros: Easy to get to. Rooms had everything we needed
Cons: Rooms could do with a refresher to lose that '70's look
Location: Heaps of shops and eateries in Merivale
Very convenient location and very friendly helpful staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Grandparents from Dunedin

Posted Apr 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Unfortunately the previous occupiers of the room had been heavy smokers and the room smelled badly of stale cigarettes. As we had arrived late at night we had no opportunity to air the room out, also the there were four light bulbs missing from the lounge and bedroom (this was remedied immediately by the night manager). Apart from this our stay was very enjoyable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great if you don't have a car.

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Cons: There needs to be dedicated restaurant parking so that the parking spaces for people staying in the rooms are not all taken by restaurant patrons.
The reception staff were very friendly. The room had an oven which, even though we didn't use it, was a nice addition. The only hotel we have stayed in that has a proper oven. The shower was great, except that the shower head was a bit low for me and I am only 6 foot. The lounge area was comfortable. The bedroom was really warm overnight and there was only a heater. Nothing to cool the from down. There were windows that opened a little but we were on the ground floor so didn't feel comfortable fully opening the windows at night. The was ample parking for rooms but it appeared that patrons at the restaurant had taken up all of the parks. We had to park almost on the other side of the hotel. This wasn't a huge problem, it was more disappointing as the were four carpark spaces right outside our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Oma from Christchurch

Pleasant over night stay

Posted Jan 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Yun from Wellington

Posted Jan 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lori from Tucson

Great Stay at the Cotswold

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Pros: convenient location restaurant on site laundry facilities
Cons: Nothing I can think of.
Location: everything was within walking distance...the museum, the gardens, Cashel Street (the container mall), Avon River, the Cathedral
We used this hotel twice on our trip to NZ. We found it very convenient, most everything was within walking distance. It’s very close to the airport as well, using the Super Shuttle service. The reception desk was friendly and helpful. We did use the restaurant for breakfast and dinner one evening when we were tight on time. We were traveling with our college age boys so having two separate bedrooms rooms and a living space was nice so we could spread out. This was extremely helpful on our return since we had four backpacks and heaps of wet equipment from our two week adventure trip! This gave us a chance to regroup and reorganize. It was nice to have laundry facilities before we ventured off to the north island. Highly recommend the Cotswold….
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tom from Dunkeld, Scotland

A very good find

Posted Dec 18, 2013
Pros: Warm welcome. Friendly, helpful staff. Having a good onsite restaurant was good.
Location: Good location with a host of good restaurants in easy driving distance.
I was flying from the UK to Christchurch to start a holiday on the South Island with my wife. After a day and a half travelling we required a hotel for a good rest. All airport hotels were booked. I picked Heartland Hotel as it had mainly good reviews and was on the 'right' side of Christchurch getting from the airport. It was a very good choice. Warm, friendly greeting at reception. I had booked a 1 bedroom suite which had plenty of room. It was on the ground floor so no problems with all the luggage we had. Clean, well appointed accommodation. Good service and food in Tudors. Just a great place to start the holiday.