Ratings based on 245 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alexandra, NZ

Great Golfers Getaway

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: The view, the space and the décor.
Cons: The bedmaking! Some maintenance of the bathroom fittings and cleaning of the extractor fan etc.
Location: Close to Christchurch Airport and on a golf course.
We stayed in a really spacious 1 bedroom apartment overlooking the water and golf course. Well laid out and nicely furnished. A shame it was only for one night. We were pleasantly surprised to have a breadmaker in our unit with a loaf baking when we checked in - this was great to eat after we finished our round of golf in the early evening. Unfortunately the king bed (two singles joined together) appeared to have been made in a hurry as the underlays were bunched up under the sheet and we had to remake the bed - this was reported in our feedback card when we checked out. That didn't detract too much from our stay though - would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Zealand

Tranquil Surrounds Away from the City

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: Its setting, the tranquility. The fact it was on the bypass road south. Its proximity to the airport.
Cons: Clearwater is getting a little tired therefore maintenance should be ongoing.
A beautiful setting away from the bustle of the city. If you play golf staying at Clearwater is a bonus. The view from the upstairs apartments in lovely, however if you cannot cope with steps, or have heavy bags, it would pay to ask for a downstairs unit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wellington NZ

Beautiful relaxing stay

Posted Jan 4, 2015
The resort was lovely- beautiful room, stunning outlook, lovely service. The restaurant was fabulous- great food and outlook.
4 out of 5
by Joshua Ongfrom New Zealand - Otago

Posted Dec 25, 2014
Pros: Nice, compact room, good view looking at the lake
Cons: We weren't notified that there was going to be construction/building at our unit and we had to park away from the unit
Location: Tranquil
Facilities: Basic; Value: Affordable; Service: Professional; Cleanliness: Lovely; Would have loved to be able to use the facilities
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 25, 2014
Kia ora Joshua, Thank you for your submitting your review and comments. Please accept our apologies for not being able to park in the driveway of your unit and any inconvenience it caused. This was not planned and has been resolved. We look forward to welcoming you back to Pepper Clearwater Resort soon. Kind Regards Aaron Winder Operations Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ireland

Disappointed

Posted Dec 25, 2014
Dirty dated and disinterested bar staff avoid if you expect it to look like the photos. Well maintained landscape but does not continue once you get to the dirty reception door and it's all down hill thereafter.
5 out of 5
by Greta Gordonfrom New Zealand

Posted Dec 20, 2014
Pros: The huuuuuge bed
Location: Perfect
Facilities: Outstanding; Value: Fair price; Service: Outstanding; Cleanliness: Spotless, Immaculate;
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2014
Kia ora Greta Thank you for taking the time to submit your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Pepper Clearwater Resort in the near future. Kind Regards Aaron Winder Operations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great set up for travelling with a toddler.

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Pros: Great set up when travelling with a toddler as separate bedroom to living room.
Location: The Groynes is a couple of minutes away, great location.
We had a lovely day, the set up was perfect and the rooms are so quiet with stunning views onto the lake. We had dinner one night at the restaurant & the food & service was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Anne-Mariefrom Auckland

Clearwater Review

Posted Dec 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fantastic, very spacious, quiet and relaxing!
3 out of 5
by Cliff Lawfrom New Zealand - Auckland

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: View
Cons: Room wasn't very clean
Facilities: Typical; Value: Reasonable; Service: Courteous; Cleanliness: Lacking; Needs maintenance, lick of paint would go a miss
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2014
Kia ora Cliff, Thank you for you review and comments. I have addressed this with our Maintenance and Housekeeping Departments in order to resolve these issues. Thank you again and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards Aaron Winder Operations Manager
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Andreafrom Dunedin

Quality furnishings don't make up 4 bad attitude

Posted Dec 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
The greeting at reception was offhand & uninterested. Room furnishings of high quality, but limited - one chair, 2 cups, 2 glasses in our twin room. 2 car parks for the 3 unit block. General feeling was that they were scrimping, having over committed on fit-out. We won't be back.