Ratings based on 181 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

this hotel needs maintainence and a caring staff.

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: The views
Cons: They need to maintain the property.
Location: Paul and Jill's horseback riding were good in the rain forest. Caribbean Adventure Tours to Buck Island was a must!
Most of the staff were just going through the motions. The hotel boosts things they do not provide. There was no jacuzzi, only one ripped hammock, joke of a workout room and there are not 4 restaurants to choose from at any given time.
3 out of 5
by TKfrom Ohio

Location is paradise but NO to All-Inclusive

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Hotel is well kept and clean, but signs of age. Rooms are right on beach with fantastic views and mere steps to sand, private lounges and umbrellas, crystal clear water. Loved the location, quieter side of the island. Front desk helpful, but servers unfriendly. Disappointed in all-inclusive. No meal variety and lack of fresh foods, long bar waits, no water or snacks available in between or after meal hours. East End Pizza is a MUST! Loved St. Croix. We will try some place different next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karenfrom Vermont

Nice hotel - friendly people

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: The food was good and the staff was very helpful and friendly.
Cons: It was annoying to have to sign a slip for every drink or meal even though it was all-inclusive.
Location: Be sure to rent a car and go to Point Udall, Christianstead and take a boat trip to Buck Island. The snorkeling was fantastic.
We had a great stay at the Divi. It is a little different than your typical all-inclusive hotel. There are not as many food choices because all of the restaurants are not open at the same time, but we always found plenty of different things to eat and thought that the food was very good. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robertfrom Houston, Tx

GREAT Staff, Older Property

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Pros: The staff was always available and willing to please. Dont forget that you are on "island time" so relax and don't worry about maybe having to wait.
Cons: Recarpet the putt putt greens, repair the Jacuzi
Location: Visit the Cruzan Rum Distillery Rent a jeep and drive the rain forest Eat at Rowdy Joes
This was our (late) honeymoon and we decided on the location because of the "All-Inclusive" feature, realizing that we wanted to enjoy our time together and not worry about what to do or where to eat. We availed ourself of the majority of the amenities and found everything as rated above. Robert, is the man! He advised us on what to do, what we could avoid doing with no loss and where to go. Tip for visitors: An 18% tip is included in the all-insusive check you sign at meals and the bars, only add an additional tip on the check if you feel the need. The property was older but well maintained and clean, if not "deluxe". typical hotel rooms with AWESOME views. The Jacuzi was across the street at the second pool and appeared to have been broken quite some time ago. All in all a good value. We are planning to go back, bring some friends and make some more memories.
1 out of 5
by Waylonfrom Beeville, Texas

I wanted to go home after the 1st night

Posted Jan 16, 2014
Pros: The food, when available, was delicious. The parking lot pizza is the best thing about the entire resort. The balcony in the room offered a nice view
Cons: The employees could be friendly first and foremost! They could remodel to make it a nice resort again. They could offer room serv, ect. not space to s
Location: East end of island. Nothing to do. $25 Cab ride to get to town. Small beach that is not maintained in front. Casino is HORRIBLE. putt putt golf.
Upon arrival, we were greeted (actually NOT greeted at all!) with a here is your room key, towel card, and "all-inclusive" bracelet... if you loose any of this stuff, you'll be charged when you leave. Carried our luggage 197 steps to our bedroom (located on the opposite end of the property from the bell desk). Rooms were very plain. Clean, but nothing that showed any sign of "luxury". All-inclusive is only at Breakfast, lunch, and dinner. No room service! If there wasn't enough people at the bar/resteraunt, they would just close it down. The rum was watered down (even though it was local Cruzan rum), and they had no premium alchohol whatsoever! We even has one of the employees tell us that "they used to carry the good stuff, but once they went all inclusive, they got rid of all of that"!! The entire staff, except for 2 or 3 were very unfriendly. No one would speak to you before being spoken to, and no one every offered to help with anything. Everything closed down nightly at 10 PM sharp, and if you showed up to place an order for something at 945, they would breath hard, roll their eyes, and get you what you wanted. The beach towels they offer, are small, and thin. The dive shop is NOT a dive shop at all!! It is just a store to buy stuff. YOu have to go to town if you want to dive. The casino is across the street, 400 yards away. Very dark, kind of scary to even go there. Very old. I will NEVER stay at Divi again, but will MOST DEFINATELY go back to St. Croix!!
3 out of 5
by Rp

Beautiful beach, unenthusiastic staff

Posted Aug 13, 2013
Pros: The beach and the food were great and the room Air conditioner kept it comfortable.
Cons: Many of the staff acted like they were performing community service on work release for all they seemed to care about the customers.
Location: It's pretty isolated. I had a rental car so we alternated swim days and exploring the island. Bring a GPS!
The beach and the view were stunning. Great swimming, continuous breeze coming in off the ocean. Unfortunately, most (not all) of the staff seem to not care at all about what they do or maybe they're just lazy. I say not all because there were some that really stood out. After a couple days I realized in addition to the breakfast buffet you could get special order breakfasts (omelet's, etc) but it seemed like a secret and nobody ever volunteered it. I continually felt like I forgot to ask about something. They told us when we checked in we need to make reservations for some of the events. What that means is "dinner every night". There's only one restaurant operating at a time so you need a reservation every night to eat supper. The Spa doesn't seem to actually exist. You make a reservation 24-48 hours in advance at the gift shop and there's a local contractor that comes in or something. We actually went to a competing resort to use their spa. The WiFi never worked in our room although I asked about it several times over a couple days at the desk and was assured it should work and "The IT guy is working on it today". I never got any followup on it and finally just stopped asking. The food was all really good and the beach was great so if you just want to eat, sleep and swim it'd be fine. If you want a spa, WiFi or enthusiasm from the staff then this is not for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Benfrom Seminole, FL

Friendly, accommodating staff. Hotel on the beach.

Posted Aug 4, 2013
Location: Buck Island is a must see. We hired a day boat named Charis + with Llewelyn and his brother running the 100% wind powered trimaran.
Breathtaking views. The staff really makes you feel at home. There are lots of things to do and see on the island. My wife and I stayed for 5 nights for our 6 year anniversary. The room was clean and the view spectacular.
2 out of 5
by Joefrom Florida

Don't waste your money

Posted Jun 7, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: food and beach
Location: remote and long cab ride from the airport
We stayed at the Divi Resort in Aruba and immediately upon arrival...we were on a wonderful vacation. We thought we would experience the same in St. Croix.....but it was a disaster for us. The beach was poorly maintained and very rocky. The all inclusive included water downed drinks and the food was awful. The resort was an unkept rundown condition. The front desk staff lacked experience and willingness to answer questions. There was no concierge. The resort is in a remote location.. so having a rundown resort and awful food with no entertainment was a waste of money. We cut our vacation short after 2 nights and flew to San Juan and finished our week vacation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted May 23, 2013
Pros: Service at the front desk.
Cons: Lack of a sense to please the customer from the majority of the staff.
Location: The location worked out well for us.
The hotel staff overall was disappointing. I understand the atmosphere in the islands typically doesn't call for a sense of urgency, that said, having to ask for things numerous times is somewhat disappointing. Had the majority of the staff made up for there lack of urgency to please the customer with friendliness, that may have made up for it; however, the friendliness was lacking in most cases as well. I will say that the staff working the front desk was very friendly and when called upon gave us the feeling that they cared about their service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by RLPfrom Plano, TX

Nice and Secluded

Posted May 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
The resort was nice, clean and secluded from everything else on the island. The casino was nice too. The resort is a little different on how they handle all-inclusive. Having to sign for everything made for a long wait at the bar with only one bartender. Wasn't much of an issue with meals, though could be in high-season. If you want to see the island you should rent a jeep but leave yourself enough time to get lost; there aren't a lot of road signs and some don't match the name listed on the maps. You eventually get where you are going but may take longer than you planned. Try Snuba; it is a lot of fun and you don't need to be certified. Robert at the beach shack can hook you up.