Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Oliver from Washington

Not a 4 star hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Louisa was the only helpful person at the reception but there was only so much she could do. All other staff were incompetent. This hotel has a great view but is not even a 3 stars in my opinion. Our room was very small with a tv the size of an iPad and we could hear our neighbors as if they were in the room. Beds are almost as hard as sleeping on a 1/2" camping pad. The pool was full of hundreds of bugs, flies and other insects. Again, the view and nice beach are the only things good this hotel has to provide along with the boat ride to the port from the beach although that meant we had to leave the beach at 1:30.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sara from Canada

Paradise!

Posted Aug 30, 2013
Pros: the view the beach the pool cleanliness
Cons: the staff at breakfast could be a little cold.
Location: great restaurants in the town
Me and my friend enjoyed everything about this place. The beach is like your own private paradise but beware of the stairs! I would avoid this hotel if I had little kids or someone who would have difficulty doing 500 steps a day. My only complaint is the staff could be a little more welcoming...the two men running the beach bar were sweethearts and made our stay even better. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone.......just gorgeous. Oh and make sure you get the superior room, the view is breathtaking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Renato from Dublin

Stunning location, facilites need an upgrade

Posted Aug 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
We liked: the location obviously, with its breath-taking view of the Spiaggia del Mingardo; the Cala del Buondormire beach with its crystal clear water and the cozy bar at the end of the never ending staircase (over 450 steps). Btw, the hotel beach is called "Buondormire" (= "Good Sleeping") for 2 reasons: one, given the particular quietness of the sea even on a stormy day, fishermen used to come ashore here to rest. 2nd, in the afternoon, the sun disappears behind the cliff, leaving the beach in a power nap-triggering shades (sunbathing aficionados will have to swim southbound or retreat to the pool for continuing baking). 1 more thing about the beach: despite it is only accessible by hotel guests from the staircase otherwise from the sea, it can be pretty crowded. Plus, all boats from the guided tours stop here for a visit so be prepared to an incessant procession of tourists. We disliked: check in time was at 2pm but our room wasn’t ready until 3.30pm, frankly a little too much even for me (I’m from a place only 1 hour away from Palinuro, so very familiar with Southern Italian laziness). In addition, the room was poorly furnished and equipped for a 4-star hotel, with no cable TV, light bulbs not working and hangers in the press that were probably borrowed from a charity shop (no 2 were the same...). All in all a nice resort, blessed for its unique position, with good room for improvement re: the quality of the service (that sounds, unfortunately, very Southern Italian...)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by luca from naples

Posted Apr 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
simply fantastic!gorgeous place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jan from Rugby Warwcks

Palurno

Posted Jun 29, 2012
Pros: Food Position breathtaking views and helpful staff
Cons: Only changed linen and towels every other day
Location: Isolated if you have not got own transport long walk to village needs shuttle bus
Everything was very good. Food excellent Shuttle to beaches and village would have been useful as hotel a bit isolated if you do not have own transport
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tanya from Bristol, UK

King's Residence, Italy - highly recommended

Posted Jun 27, 2012
Pros: The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff
Cons: Nothing - except maybe the walk to the town which would not suit everyone
Location: Fantastic location with breathtaking views
We were treated like royalty by the staff, who could not do enough for us. The hotel is in a fantastic location with beautiful views (although the walk to the town of Palinuro and back takes about 20mins, uphill on the way back, so it would not suit those less able to walk far). The hotel and our room was well maintained and cleaned - towels were changed daily and bedding every other day. The pool and surrounding area is excellent and well maintained. We woud recommend this hotel without hesitation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Bath, UK

Kings Residence - fantastic location

Posted Jun 19, 2011 on Hotels.com
We booked this hotel based on the description which it fully lived up to with uninterupted views across the bay, good facilities & its own beach ( down 500 steps !! ). It was out of season with only a few guests which for us was great. Although Palinuro is off the beaten track it was well worth the effort. A great relaxing part of our holiday.