Ratings based on 750 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Small but functional and unique room

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Historic and magnificent
Cons: Move the brick building to the south out of the way for a river view? (just a wish)
Location: Ball parks, river, bars, downtown
Everything about our stay was nice, except for the brick wall view. We would probably try a room on the atrium rather than the side of the building that we did. Absolutely beautiful hotel, with a very friendly and accommodating staff. Great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Grand Rapids, MI

Could have had a better view.

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: The bathroom!
Cons: Ask for a room that overlooks the city, not the interior of the hotel.
What's the first thing you do when you enter your hotel room? For me and my husband it is check out our view... Well, our view in The Cincinnatian was of the hotel lobby. There are rooms that overlook the inside of the hotel... Kind of a weird feeling when you're sitting in your room watching people eat dinner in the lounge. So, I was disappointed but I did not complain since it was a short lived visit. The bathroom was amazing, though. We could have spent the night in there. And, all of the staff was very accommodating, even keeping the lounge open when we walked through the doors after a concert at 10:59PM so we could get something to eat when they closed at 11.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom chicago

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Was overall very nice but for the price should have much better . As for the staff very friendly and the food was great . The hotel over all was vintage and very well kept . But the staff would be the reson I return . Very very helpful .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom S

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Absolutely enjoyed my stay. Thanks to the wonderful gentleman by the name of Joe, my stay was fabulous. Joe provided information to local restaurants and local activities in the area. Not only did he make my stay great, he even offered to walk me from the parking garage around the corner to the hotel because I was lost. This was a great example of what hospitality should be!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Room was small but comfortable. Shower was awesome it was huge & the water pressure was amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice, classy. Wonderful bathroom!

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Have no complaints other than the $30 parking The only changes I would otherwise suggest are an in room coffee maker and refrigerator. What I most enjoyed was the bathroom and the balcony.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Cons: Staff's attitudes
the staff was not courteous, when the front desk staff was asked how old the hotel was she replied huffly that oh about 200 years and went back to typing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Very clean and very comfortable

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Staff are extremely professional and attentive T.V. Was small, but not something that carries a lot of weight for me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

Beautiful hotel and very friendly staff!

Posted Feb 19, 2015
I was very pleased with my stay. The hotel is beautiful and the staff very helpful and attentive. One of the most comfortable nights sleep I've had while traveling and room was very clean. Location to downtown is perfect walking distance to everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Richmond, VA

Need a Place for Smokers & Night Shift

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: See my comments above.
Cons: See my comments above.
Location: Duke Energy Conference Center
My stay was pleasant, and I would definitely recommend. But for such a nice hotel, it seems odd that the only place you can smoke is at the entry way, where all other guests come and go. Many people don't even like to walk through second hand smoke. How about another location? It might also keep the homeless from rifling through the ashtray that is provided for smoking guests, to get a "long butt" to smoke. The night shift is -- well -- not up to par with the day shift. The gentleman who makes the coffee and hangs out in the lobby overnight was not at all personable. He was very interested in listening to music via earphones. I know it may not be a fun job, but there are many times that we all have to put our best foot (or face) forward to meet customers expectations, whether it's fun or not. Finally -- I am a very early riser. The night shift made me feel as though there was something wrong with being up and about at 5 AM. Again -- give it a try -- nice and quiet, clean, good restaurant, close by many downtown attractions. A very nice place to stay.