Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Diamondhead, MS

Located conveniently to my reunion location.

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: I covered this above.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: The location was on Dixie Highway in Fairfield, Ohio and conveniently located near excellent restaurants, and entertainment.
The office staff were very friendly, helpful and concerned The bed was the most comfortable in decades! I was able to rest without overhead disturbance or hallway noise.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jeffrey from Chicago

Find a Better Option.

Posted Apr 27, 2015 on Hotels
Unfortunately, when I checked in they only had smoking rooms available. It was 10:45pm and I did not want to hunt for another hotel, so I reluctantly accepted. Bad choice. The smoking floor reeked of smoke. The room was no different - poor ventilation, dingy furnishings, everything smelled of an ashtray. I assume the non-smoking rooms are better - but nevertheless, I would not stay in this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
I wanted to thank you for the time you have taken to provide our hotel with your feedback. We understand the concerns you had regarding the room smelling of smoke, and would like to apologize for the inconvenience. We do have rooms at this location which are smoke free, and in the future, all rooms at this location will become a non-smoking property. I am grateful for the feedback you provided so we are able to continually improve our hotel. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dale from Hamilton

Clean

Posted Mar 21, 2015 on Hotels
The room was clean and fairly comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am glad to read that you were pleased with cleanliness and comfort of our hotel. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK for the price

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: Staff was beyond excellent!
Cons: Clean, vacuum...new carpet?
No elevator? Looked like the hallways had not been vacuumed in months. Nasty stain on chair in room. Staff was the bright spot...very nice and helpful. Good coffee in the morning!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the coffee at our free grab-and-go breakfast and that our staff was nice and helpful. We appreciate you letting us know that the carpet in the hallways had cleanliness issue during your stay, and that your chair had a stain on it. I will be working with my housekeeping staff to review our cleanliness standards to ensure that your experience is not repeated. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Satisfactory, older hotel needs refurb

Posted Dec 8, 2014 on Hotels
Room was satisfactory. The room good have been a little cleaner. It was clean, just areas where you normally don't look (behind doors) were dirty. The top of wood frame of bed back had dust on it. Mostly it was just an older building that needs upgrades. I would not stay in the hotel again until it was fixed up. They may have been in the process of refurbing the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am pleased to read that you were satisfied with your room overall; however, I am disappointed to read that your room did have some minor cleanliness issues. In response to your feedback, I will work with my staff to ensure that we are taking a more detailed approach in our cleaning methods. Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2014
It was an Ok facility, staff was courteous and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that our team was helpful and courteous. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst Ever!

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: Leaving!
Cons: A complete cleaning, replace the carpet, get rid of the water spot on the ceiling.
The room was dirty. There was mold on the shower surrond. The bathroom sink faucet leaked like a sieve. There were visable stains on the carpet. There was a large water spot on the ceiling. We could hear dogs barking that were with their owners in another room.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. The cleanliness issue you described is unacceptable, and I sincerely apologize for your experience. To uphold our company's high standards, we will provide additional training moving forward. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Debra Beecher from Baltimore

Prime Location

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels
The staff were extremely friendly and courteous and my room was spacious and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Debra - Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your spacious room and our prime location. We are proud of our staff for providing you with such great service. Thank you again for your kind words. We hope to see you again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, Michigan

This Extended Stay had a reasonable daily rate.

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: As I stated, the reasonable daily rate.
Cons: Noise level and something about the smoke issues.
The stairway leading to the second floor was smelled full of smoke. The vending machines were on the first floor, which was the smoking floor - intense smoke smell. Hotel was very noisy. We kept thinking someone was moving furniture in the room above us. When the next door occupants showered, use the sinks and/or flush the toilet - it was very loud as if they were in our room. The noise made for an uncomfortable stay and difficulty in sleeping.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. I sincerely apologize for the strong smoke odor you experienced in our hotel. I will work with my housekeeping staff to deodorize the first floor hallway so that your experience is not repeated. As well, I regret to read that we were unable to provide you with a quiet stay. Your feedback on the noise will be useful to us as we continually work to improve our hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I do hope that you will return to our hotel or any other Extended Stay America hotel in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Never agin!!!!!!!!!!! Not clean, bad paint job, old out dated appearance , not enough staff, miss representation of free breakfast. I will never stay at any extended stay agin!!.