Ratings based on 242 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dayton,OH

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Location: Newport aquarium, Newport on the levee, Reds games, US Bank arena.
I stayed during a sold out weekend with two concerts and a Reds game the same night, but the staff was still very attentive and went out of their way to make this a great stay! I also appreciated having a trolley stop across the street which will take you anywhere in Newport/Cincinnati/Covington.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dayton, Ohio

Nice Hotel close to downtown events

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: We really liked the size of the Room we had a King size bed and there was still plenty of room within to move around. Loved the big bathroom as well.
Cons: Sheets that fit the bed without popping off. Would prefer to be off the first floor. Our room was for Handicapped. We did not request.
Location: Very close to Reds Stadium, Newport Aquarium and directions stated 4.8 miles to Riverbend it was more like 8
Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for a concert at Riverfront. Room was actually really large and comfortable and clean. We were not in the room much at all due to only a one night stay. Staff was very polite and courteous as well as informative on directions and such.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Four Aussies from australia.

Stayed for concert at Riverbend.

Posted Jun 17, 2014
A clean safe motel. Room was big enough for our family of 4. Good brekky. Rooms not soundproof. Seemed to be an ongoing party in the foyer. Staff friendly & overall a good stay. NO COOKIES!! Would stay again. Oh.... & the breakfast lady was exceptional!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by AE

good for one night

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: location is good
Cons: It needs remodeling.
The staff was nice., they left us a goodie bag with snacks in the room but the hotel needs a lot of updating. It needs a lot of work. A few tiles in the bathroom showed cracks. It is clean but not spotless.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Becky from Ohio

Holiday Inn Express Newport KY

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: Close it was to our location.
Cons: Make sure linen and linens are clean.... stain free! Condiments (shampoo, conditioner, body wash etc) are new not half way full. Clean the microwave
Location: Close to the Great American Ball Park
When we had first checked in we had just dropped our belongings off. Check in I had waited a while because the lady was on the phone with a customer, no one offered to ask if they could help me. Our room the bathroom there was a big wad of hair...NASTY!!! Didn't say anything because we had places to be. Once we got back we noticed there was stains on one of the pillows not the case the pillow... looked kind of like a couple blood spots. Thank goodness we brought our own. The microwave you can tell wasn't cleaned especially seeing it had 5 seconds left for whatever was prepared. As we finally settled in, turned the tv on and the tv didn't work. We had called the front desk she had came up to try to fix it and no go. She had moved us to another room, which was nice, the tv was smaller. We had slept well, but worried about the cleanliness the whole time just because of the previous room. Which didn't help much once we realized the shampoo bottle in our new room was half empty.... guess they reuse them? Breakfast there was a wide variety, made it real nice compared to some of the other hotels who offer just a beagle and toast. Our stay for the night was decent can't complain much I would just recommend bringing your own pillows and blankets etc etc. We would consider coming back, but of course would be bringing our own linen!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Nicci from Lafayette, IN

Would come back

Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed here because of the location so close to the aquarium. We walked down the pedestrian bridge from here, less than a mile. Biggest surprise was breakfast. They had quite the spread for a little place. Would come back for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Dan from Madison, WI

friendly and helpful staff

Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was nothing special. The rooms were nice and clean, and well appointed. What stands out about this hotel is the staff. They were personable and friendly the entire time we were there. They went out of their way to make sure we were taken care of and happy with our stay. When I teased them because I missed the warm fresh cookies, they threw in another batch and let me know when to come down and get them while they were still warm. I would definitley stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barbara from Columbus

Girls Weekend Away

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Pros: Everything! it was nicely located, clean, and comfortable.
Cons: We didn't experience a single negative aspect during this stay, so there's nothing to complain about.
Location: We spent our time in Newport, Covington, and in Cincinnatti. This hotel was close to everything, yet out of the way of the Newport boardwalk area.
We left the hubbys at home and had a girl's weekend in Cincy. This Holiday Inn was the perfect place to stay. The room was clean, the staff was extremely friendly, the pool was very nice, and the full hot breakfasts were wonderful! This is our second time staying here, and would come back again should we spend more time in the Cincinnatti area.