Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ianfrom Canberra

What a gem in the middle of La Spezia

Posted Nov 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
As part of our 5 week Italian holiday we wanted to see Cinque Terre for 3 nights/4days. As it was difficult to find accommodation for a family of 4 in the little towns we decided on staying in La Spezia and commuting by train each day. We were certainly not disappointed, the location of this hotel is fantastic! It is just a quick walk up the street and the train station is right there and it will have you in all the little towns in next to no time. The hotel is also right in town, with great restaurants, the warf and shopping etc right there. It is tucked away off the main street which is just fantastic!!You have the beauty of the main road right there but not on your doorstop. It is a quaint charming hotel which is run by a lovely family who go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Our room was the family room number 11 with two bedrooms, a kitchen and small meals table. Upon entering we found the room ready for occupation. It was spotless! The kids and us marvelled at the towel art which was different each day. We would arrive home rushing in to see what greeted us this time on our beds. I would not hesitate to stay here again and would recommend this hotel to family and friends. Thank you to the staff for great service and for providing a fantastic hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Wonderful friendly quiet hotel in La Spezia

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: Small, friendly and peaceful but close to amenities.
Location: Great base from which to access the Cinque Terra without staying in one of the five towns.
We stayed here for one night so we could do the Cinque Terra over two days. The hotel was delightful and fresh with the best breakfast ever! Staff were very friendly and welcoming. The hotel was small and delightfully quiet despite being in the centre of town. Our room was spotless and large with character as the building was once an old mill. We were able to sit out the front and enjoy our own drinks at the end of the day in peace and quiet. Thoroughly recommended!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Stein Olavfrom Kvinnherad

Topp beligenhet

Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overnatta på dette hotelet i tre netter. Dette hotellet vart valgt fordi det låg sentralt plasert i La Spezia. Kort spasertur frå Jernbanestasjonen. Det var greit, sidan me brukte tog til og frå Cinque Terre. Koseligt og fint hotell, med god service.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Harrisburg, PA, USA

Good hotel at La Speiza - gateway to Cinque Terra

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: The room where we stayed had been renovated recently and is handicap accessible. It was spacious. A nice continental breakfast was included.
Cons: The front desk is only staffed during the afternoon, so plan your arrival accordingly.
Location: Lots of nice restaurants are nearby.
We stayed here to visit the towns of Cinque Terra. This hotel is centrally located in La Spieza - along a pedestrian walkway, midway between the train station and the harbor. It is about a 10 minute walk from the train station where all the trains to Cinque Terra towns start and a 10 minute walk to the harbor where the ferry boat to Cinque Terra.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, Canada

Quiet hotel near shopping.

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: Location and the staff.
Location: Shopping and restaurants. About 10 minutes walk to the waterfront where you can board a ferry for Cinque Terra (5 villages).
We liked how the hotel was situated in a quiet alley right in the shopping district and within a 10 minute walk of the train station. We were greeted by the mother of "Isabella" who corresponded with us by email. She was helpful and friendly in spite of limited English. She made a reservation for us at a seafood restaurant that provided one of the best meals we had in Italy. There was a fridge and a complimentary basket of fruit in our small but pleasant room. Breakfast was supervised by a pleasant man in "chef" gear who brought us our plates of food and coffee (you choose sweet or savoury in advance). We took advantage of the laundry service (2 small bags for 15 euros) and our clean and folded clothing was returned to us within 8 hours. All in all, a good experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Deidrafrom New Orleans

Location, Location, Location.

Posted Oct 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was small, but comfortable. The location was great, a 7 minute walk from the train station and in the middle of town. The staff was very helpful in giving information about tours and the safest places in the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly Hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2014
This hotel is close to the train station, about a 5 minute walk. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Ireland

Small friendly hotel 15m off main shopping street

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Friendly and central
Cons: Better coffee at breakfast
Location: For tourists, La Spezia seems like a working town whose main advantage is as a gateway to Cinque Terra. However it has many good restaurants and shops
The short alley opens up into a bright hotel courtyard. The owner met us with a friendly welcome, offering maps, Cinque Terra train and boat timetables, WiFi codes etc. The ground floor room was large by Italian small hotel standards with a generous size bathroom and set up for wheelchair access. Ask for this room if available. Breakfast was simple and tasty. The enclosed courtyard off the main street meant it was quiet apart from the happy sounds in the morning of a junior school somewhere nearby. We would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Clean and friendly but spartan

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Family of 4 with 2 teens. We were comfortable in the 2 bedroom unit. It is clean. Beds were comfortable although kids said beds were small. The bathroom could use some simple fixtures like towel bars and maybe a shelf for toiletries. Good size fridge with freezer. Location is good if you are using it as a base for cinque Terre. 8 minutes from train, 8 minutes the other way to ferry. It is quiet even though it is just off a main pedestrian street with lots of stores and restaurants. Breakfast was good. Owners and staff very friendly and helpful. It was as advertised. I would stay again if I went back to la Spezia.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2015 by Isabella, Hotel Management
Good morning, thanks for your comment! We're glad that you enjoyed your stay at Crismar. We are sorry to read that our apartment for you was "spartan". It has two bedrooms ( beds with normal EU size), complete kitchen with dishes, oil, salt, pepper, bathroom, air conditioning, free wifi access, toy zone for children, TV with international channels, plus all the services from the hotel (daily cleaning service, breakfast, reception all the day). We can't know what was your expectation, but generally this is our most appreciated accommodation, not easy to find in our zone (apartments are generally on self catering base, with no hotel services). Thank you again! Isabella