Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.6 out of 5
38% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
2.4 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Apartment style Rooms

Posted Jul 21, 2014
My fiance and I were very nervous after reading other readers reviews but had a great experience with Lulu Rooms! The only difficult part was meeting up with the owner as there no hotel lobby or single location to find him. He meets you by the train station or in our case at a cafe. My advise is to be as specific as possible about meeting him if you do not have a phone to call him on when you get to Vernazza. Our room was more like an apartment with a living room, kitchen, bedroom and large bathroom! Marble floors and amazing location steps from the beach. Vernazza itself is a tiny town and all old buildings; very charming but no matter where you stay there is no "luxury rooms" as there are in the US but that is part of its wonderful appeal. We were apart of a group of 20 people for a Wedding staying in Vernazza so we were able to see other peoples accommodations. I loved my stay at Lu Lu rooms.
3 out of 5
by Steve & Jen from Perth, Australia

Pay now

Posted Oct 13, 2013
Pros: Good location.
Cons: For the price paid it needs more service.
Location: Must go to the Pirata cafe which is at the entry to the village. Easy to miss if you arrive by train. Excellent value.
Because there is no office you have to meet the contact at a pre arranged location in the street. Can be a bit daunting as there is no way of identifying him in the crowd. Next step is to be taken to your apartment. We were told to pay the tariff up front, in cash, no receipt. That's the last you will see of your friendly staff member. After 4 days we needed fresh towels (which are paper thin anyhow) and some dunny paper. Be aware too the bathroom is extremely small (can't even fully open the door). It would help if this place had a public face of some sort. The room is not serviced at all and this is not explained until you roll up. The village of Vernazza is absolutely fantastic and made up for this over priced accommodation.
2 out of 5
by steve from seattle

Well located in Vernazza, but...

Posted Oct 2, 2013
When we got to Vernazza there was no way to locate our room. No signs, the address took us to a bunch of locked rooms and our phone had no service to connect. Finally, a competing (and real) hotel keeper made the call and arranged for us to meet the"hoteliers" local rep and she showed us to our room. It wasn't horrible but we saw several significant upgrades elsewhere for the same or less rates. It was a good location, but would not recommend it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expensive, but good location, basic room, friendly

Posted Jul 28, 2013
Expensive for what you get. It is a basic room with nothing else. The only bonuses were that it was close to Verrazano main drag (but you can't actually get that far away if you tried) and there was a mini fridge! This was the most expensive of our nights in the cinque terre and was only an average room. In saying this the guy was very friendly, the room was tidy and clean.
1 out of 5
by Traveler from USA

Not as advertised.

Posted Jul 20, 2013
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Not sure this is a real hotel service at all.
Location: Location was in Vernazza, close to train.
The room we were given was not as advertised on the website. We were given a small dormitory style room with a shared bath with about 8 other people. The barking dogs and screaming birds were not advertised either. There is no concierge or luggage storage. I would not recommend using LuLu to anyone I liked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Irresponsible management

Posted Jun 5, 2013
Location: The location in good.
A man met us at the train station and wouldn't let us see the room until I paid him in full in cash. He took me to 2 ready teller machines. He gave no receipt. I asked him for one and he put one under the door 2 days later. We didn't see him again after the train station. There was no pull on the pull chain toilet. There was 0 service. There are plenty of lovely places in Vernazza. I would not book this hotel again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by LL & JT from USA

ROOM in center Vernazza town

Posted May 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
I expected a helpful rental agent, which Egii was. I wanted to experience rooming in the heart of town, and that it was. The bed was not comfortable, however, forget @ taking a shower with tight space and only a partly surrounding curtain. Accept the train noise all night, you will hear it everywhere in Vernazza;.Workmen outside your room will wake you @ 7am. But there are better rooms at a lower price around, and probably except in peak season, you do not need a reservation; just check at bars and restaurants in town for availability
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing Terrace - Great room!

Posted Apr 8, 2013
We were expecting a room, but this was actually a whole apartment. We had a large room and upstairs was a kitchen/dining area and a terrace that overlooks the main street of Vernazza and the mountains. It was absolutely beautiful! This would be a great place to stay for a few days and really take in the Cinque Terre -- if we had more time we definitely would have. Overall it was a very comfortable, pleasant stay.