Ratings based on 1,156 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Derbyshire

Fab weekend in Dublin

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Good clean hotel, excellent location. Would definitely visit again should we return to Dublin. Made an excellent base for our fantastic trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Caerdydd, Cymru (Cardiff, Wales)

Perfect For Dublin City Break

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Comfort.
Cons: It was perfect!
Location: Temple Bar. Book Of Kells (Trinity College). General Post Office.
The Gresham, situated as it is on O'Connell Street, a brisk walk from O'Connell Bridge and the iconic Halfpenny Bridge, is ideal for those who wish to explore central Dublin. Temple Bar and its vibrant trendy lifestyle is within easy reach and Bus Tours depart regularly from O'Connell Street for attractions further afield. The staff were welcoming and helpful and the rooms were immacculate. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. It must be noted that we breakfasted in hostelries in and around Temple Bar and ate our meals in cafes and restaurants around Stephens Green so I can't comment on the food ...but Hey - with the variety of watering holes available in Dublin the priority was a comfortable bedroom! This was delivered without any reason whatsoever for complaint! I would definitely go back there! Gresham - Slainte!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edinburgh

Great location

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: The genuine warm friendly atmosphere throughout.
Location: Central location close to Spire and shopping with great restaurants & bars closeby
First class hotel in very central location in Dublin. Staff were very friendly & helpful - we were made to feel very welcome & there is a lovely feel to the hotel from the minute you enter it. This is our second stay here & will be back soon. Would recommend it to all ages of guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, Wa. & West of Ireland

Plumbing/heat troubles/breaky pandemonium

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: Nice bed and linens. Coffee/tea tray. The chandeliers. Plush chairs. A fine quick restaurant/ great fish/chips.
Cons: A manager is needed to notice the guests at the restaurant. In speaking with the help learned of the huge amounts of wasted food.
Location: Hard to get to hotel if a protest march is happening. But, the film festival is right next door. Winding Stair restaurant and The Loom near.
I came in from a late dinner and found my room temperature would cook lobsters. I called the front desk and asked for help in addressing it. The voice said they could not do anything about the temp as if they turned down heat it would affect the entire wing. OPEN YOUR WINDOWS. Then it was very noisy as my room was on a very active alley way. I closed the windows, slept in the buff in the nice bed, but sweltered as there was no sheet under the coverlet, so if you threw off the duvet you would be too exposed. My son came from the Brussels next morning and he asked the desk to send up a fan and put on a sheet. I left the windows open all day. When I came in it was chilly, and no fan, nor was there a sheet. I leaped into bed and piled covers on. It was too late to ask for help. The opened windows had to be closed because of noise again, but the room was chilly enough it didn't heat up. Breakfast was a crazy affair. I wanted just the simple "healthy breakfast" of smoked salmon and cottage cheese. Salmon came with a nice salad and as they had no raisen bread as on menu, brown bread. It was hard to be noticed in the wild turmoil of the guests and rather dopey seeming waiters. They kept their heads down like prize fighters so as not to be beckoned. When the healthy breakfast did not arrive, after I'd ordered it, a helpful male waiter scouted it out for me. One could get help, but you had to go looking, let\s say. Same with getting coffee--flags and drums.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wirral,Cheshire, England

Beautiful hotel in central position.

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: Lovely spacious rooms.Well kept and very clean.eco friendly.staff friendly and helpful. Free WiFi. Large lounge with plenty of seating.
Location: Central position on O'Connell St. Hop on bus tours outside hotel.Also bus pick up for airport. Close to liffey and temple bar. Near shops.
Weekend away, four adults. The hotel was in a perfect location,close to busy areas but a few minutes walk away to the quieter end of O'Connell St. Madigans Irish bar next door to hotel had great food, friendly staff and Irish music on every weekend. Hop on bus tours started outside with great bus drivers giving details and history of things to see and do.Plenty of places to eat and drink to suit everyone's purse. Gresham Hotel was perfect for facilities, lovely bar, lounge and helpful staff. Was able to leave suitcases with reception once we had checked out. The rooms were spacious, warm and clean. Chocolates left on turned down covers everyday. These little touches stand out. Bathroom even had a pull out washing line over the bath..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cancún, México.

Hotel muy bien ubicado

Posted Mar 16, 2015
La mayor ventaja de este hotel es su ubicación. Es un poco caro para lo viejo de las habitaciones que me parecieron pequeñas. El servicio de desayuno excelente
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom B

Great location. A bit dated.

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Grand hotel in public areas but rooms are a little tired. Comfortable and clean. Location great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom N.Ireland

Central quality hotel

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Just about everything!
Cons: ?
Location: Right on O'Connell Street, so bang in the middle of a vast selection of shops, department stores, bar, resteraunts etc. Taxis, buses, trams aplenty.
Got requested room (Lavery Wing), which was spotless (as usual). Hotel allowed us to check-in early (11am.....normally 3pm!). Reception staff extremely helpful, even arranged extended parking at hotel's own car park (to cover the inevitable extended shopping!). Evening dining (Writers Bar) and breakfast both superb (quality and quantity) and reasonably priced (unusual for a top end hotel in such a central location). No hesitation in recommending The Gresham for a quality, comfortable, centrally located city-break.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel ever!!

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Staff couldn't be more helpful! Hotel great location. Air coach drop right outside! Accommodating to my needs over and beyond! So far best hotel stay ever interms of staff and amenities! Staff couldn't do more for you! Well done The Gresham wills defo stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Forest

Great w/e in Dublin, shame about the rugby result

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: Clean, tidy, great staff, position, breakfast, room (our was a superior), bars.
Cons: Some rooms are down quite a long corridor which could be an issue for those finding it hard to cope with a heavy bag(s).
Location: Location is perfect for taxis, airport transport or walking over the river into the main restaurant/shopping areas and the Castle.
Quite apart from being a lovely, grand hotel it is ideally placed for the first time or regular visitor. The Airbus stops/starts from right outside where there is also a well stocked taxi rank. You are on the "North side" of the City but it's a short walk to the South side or the main station, Connolly, where you can get either main line or DART trains. My partner isn't a great walker but she managed without a problem. But there's no rush. Soooo glad we booked here. Will be back!