Ratings based on 921 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bugs

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Bugs on the bed... a lot of them. Got on clothes ... everywhere
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old world charm full of antiques to admire.

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Beautifully decorated in original furnishings and fixtures.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice period hotel.

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: x
Cons: x
Location: x
You can tell this hotel was a converted mansion. Great history. Great true to period furnishings. I loved it!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver Canada

Quaint, but room too hot

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: We really liked the morning waitress in the restaurant and the evening bar tender.
Cons: Offer complimentary tea and coffee in the room and lobby. Have extension cords on all outlets. Offer free breakfast like the Queen Anne.
Location: Very central to busses and all tourist attractions.
At first we loved the quaint decor. But after seeing where my brother was staying down the road at the Queen Anne, we realized our hotel was greatly lacking in authenticity. The Queen Anne is similar in price, but way ahead of the Majestic in it's decor and ambiance. While my brother was staying at the Queen Anne, we would go there and enjoy the luxurious sitting room drinking their complimentary tea, playing the piano and just simply enjoying the furniture, paintings and flower arrangements. After my brother left town, we tried going to our hotel to have an evening tea and the concierge informed us that they only had complimentary coffee. No tea!! Note, there was also no coffee or tea available in our room. Our room was unbearably hot during the night. The next morning, we noticed fans by the elevator, so we snagged one. We found that when plugged in it would not reach the window to blow fresh air inside. We phoned the front desk to ask for an extension cord and they said they didn't have one. Later, they did offer to change our room, but we had already unpacked for a weeks stay, so decided to stick it out. On our first morning, we went to the dining room to have breakfast. The menu that was in our room, advertised about half the price as the dining room menu. We asked the concierge about this and he said that we just had an old menu in the room. Later, I noticed the cheaper menu on the back of the dinner menu. Poor organization.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Great

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Location: Bus route nearby. Everything worked great. Staff helpful.
Only comment would be no air and it was cool out. The staff informed me there is plans for AC in the future. Large and spacious rooms. Great staff. Loved our stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Missouri

Majestic, San Francisco, CA

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: The restaurant in the hotel was very nice for breakfast and reasonably priced.
Cons: I'd suggest that you explain about the parking options online. I wasn't sure where to park and ended up with the valet.
Location: Centrally located, a couple of miles from the wharf.
Nice older hotel, we had twin beds so be careful when reserving rooms to make sure you get what you need for your accomodations
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Mpls

Good for the price.

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: Location. Price.
Cons: Find staff that are more apologetic and helpful when there is a complaint.
Location: Japanese is near, whole foods, and transit is everywhere.
We stayed for 6 days. The second day we were there the water was off for 6 hours. It ruined our whole day of plans. The staff was not very apologetic to us and only offered to comp the bottle of water that I drank. The staff was very cold and did not seem to know what they were doing. I recommend upgrading to a bigger room if you want to be comfortable. We did when we saw our first room but upgraded real fast. I know the hotel is old but it seemed they were needing to do work i.e. Paint, fixing cracks...etc... In the middle of the day. If you don't mind a disorganized staff who isn't apologetic stay here.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom notherm ireland

V tired and dated too far out of centre

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Friendly people very helpful abit too hilly to get to. Had to travel though poor shabby area to get there. Would not feel safe alone
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Unexpectedly good!

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Having stayed in well known franchises in San Francisco a number of times I felt a little disappointed on arriving at the Majestic. It felt a little outdated & could do with a freshen up. However after meeting with friends in other better known hotels nearby my affection grew for the Majestic, it wasn't a big insincere franchise, I felt the people working there enjoyed being there, I liked that it had a few cracks here & there. I had a fantastic room, the hotel is 20 minutes on foot from the main attractions, great stores and places to eat nearby. I had a fantastic steak in the hotel restaurant for $40. I liked the hotel & staff so much I thought I should write a review! Forget the big chains, this place has charm!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very old building

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Staff was super polite and room was clean, but peeling wallpaper, cracked furniture, oddly crooked mounted TV, and no A/C quickly undid a lot of charm of the historic building. Lot of traffic and siren noise at night as well.