Ratings based on 2,968 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Seen better days

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Positives: Location , Try Tommy's bar across the street Negatives: Old Hotel, had to change rooms at 1am due to plumbing noises, wifi was patchy at best, was told to call the Wifi company when I complained, isn't that the Hotel's job? Ok if you get a good deal as I did but not worth the full price, I stay in SF monthly and this is average at best
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Torrance, CA

The Opal

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: size of rooms, large bathrooms and closet space.
Cons: larger beds, fix wifi, better breakfast.
Location: bars, metro, food, clubs, etc.
Surprisingly large room, good view of the city, everything was kept up nicely. Could not connect to the WiFi at all... (first world problems). I would recommend this hotel and stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Long Weekend in SF

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: Staff is very friendly & the hotel is located centrally.
Cons: Breakfast could use improvement.
As my friends and I are recent grads, this hotel was perfect for us. It is located in close proximity to the BART/MUNI Civic Center Station, it is close to the center of the city, and it is fairly priced. The three of us stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. We had no issues at all, minus the fact that a fire alarm went off in the middle of the night. Breakfast was very simple; fruit, toast, bagels, cream cheese, butter, jam, yogurt.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Good service. Like the lounge area and the wine and cheese evening. Locations is not that great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, Canada

Cheap and comfortable - met our 3 star expectation

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: It is connected to Mel's Diner, via a door in the lobby. This is where we went for breakfast. Healthy options.
Cons: Somehow air it out and get rid of that smell that permeates the whole place.
Location: We walked a lot as well as did day trips in our rental car. We found it was easy to get to places we wanted to go.
The hotel was a good deal as part of our flight/hotel/car combo deal, which allowed us to spend more on the things that counted for us, such as nice dinners and lunches, tours and so on. As a place to sleep, this hotel was adequate. Bed was comfy enough, room was clean and quiet enough. Our room faced Van Ness, so we heard some traffic noise but we could deal with it. We did find that house keeping didn't come some days. Ok for us but some may be annoyed by that. The breakfasts (which were included in our stay) were mediocre. We opted to eat elsewhere instead. The free wifi was actually quite good and fast enough for streaming in our room. Parking seemed expensive (we had a rental car via our expedia package), would have rather had cheaper parking and give up the weak breakfast. We didn't use the gym but took a look and it seemed decent, people were using it and it had new machines. The whole hotel had a strange sour smell - it was everywhere, lobby, hallways, etc. It just smelled really old, like a mix of old paint, carpet, cleaners, etc. Thankfully our room didn't smell - but it took some getting used to every time we came back from a day out. This would be our only complaint.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, TX

Really nice stay

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: Location, staff friendliness, security (swipe key card to get in)
Cons: Our room was right next to the elevators so it was noisy at times- but it was bearable.
Stayed here for 5 nights for spring break with my boyfriend. We arrived earlier than we thought and were able to check in around noon on the first day with no additional cost (awesome customer service). Hotel breakfast was your usual toast, muffins, bagel, waffle, fruits, juice, and yogurt. We had it the first 2 days, but for the other days, we wanted to try brunch places in SF- totally recommend Buena Vista at Fisherman's Wharf and Brenda's 2 blocks away. Hotel location was superb- close to many bus stations, and check-out was hassle free. Overall we really really enjoyed our stay!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, Canada

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: very unique, close to down town and public transportation is easy to access.
Cons: The sewer system!!
Location: A lot on Van Ness Road, Food and shops and Theatre and other community... and close to Union Square that most of the activities can be found
There must be some sewer problem, there are always sewer smelling in the room when we are back from outside. The smell is very strong in three of the five days we stay that bring the whole comfort level down. Overall the staff is the best in terms of the service. I would still recommend apart from the sewer smell ...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Arizona

Good location, good hotel.

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Good breakfast, over all worth for staying ... An old/stylish fashion hotel with good facilities....
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

normal..(강추도 아닌, 비추도 아닌)

Posted Mar 17, 2015
위치: 유니온스퀘어에서 걸어서는 거리가 꽤 됩니다. 버스로는 2정거장 5분도 안되는 거리지만, 파웰역 혹은 유니온스퀘어 역에서 걸어오기엔 거리가 꽤 됩니다. 노숙자들도 꽤 많구요. 뮤니패스를 사용하신다면 버스로 이동하면 편합니다. 그래도 근처에 마트들이 있어서 장보기는 편합니다. 시설: 조금 오래되었습니다, 냉장고는 없습니다. 전체적으로 공간은 조금 좁습니다. 와이파이가 잘되었고, 샤워부스가 있습니다. 아침식사: 우유가 없습니다. 커피, 식빵과 베이글 머핀과 요구르트, 과일등이 제공되었습니다. 주차가 제공되지않습니다.. 근처에 주차비가 상당히 있습니다.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Staff seems a bit uncompetent and the area is kind of ghetto. The only good thing about this hotel is the free Continental breakfast.