Ratings based on 335 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Close to airport

Posted Aug 4, 2014
I arrived in Shannon just after midnight, so it great to have a short drive to get to my hotel. The Oak Wood Arms had a nice room with a comfortable bed. Perfect for my first night in Ireland.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Nice hotel near Shannon Airport in Ireland

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: See above.
Cons: See above.
Location: We went to a pizza place several blocks away and had great pizza. Sorry, I can't remember the name now.
The staff was very nice and friendly. It is a lovely old hotel. My only complaint is like so many hotels & B&B's, it is not air conditioned. While it was about 60 degrees out when I was there (July 18, 2014), our room was horribly hot and only one window opened. We called the front desk and asked for a room fan, which they kindly brought to our room. The room itself could use a little tweaking (grouting in the bathroom, some new paint, etc.), I would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Very Nice

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: The proximity to the Shannon airport makes this a very convenient location.
We chose this hotel because it is close to the Shannon Airport. It was very comfortable and the food in the pub was excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from west australia

Hotel central to west of Ireland

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Great staff, great food & drink, well located hotel to all main roads & attractions. Just needs to have the bedrooms updated.....very tired looking rooms...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belfast NI

Good hotel, but a bit neglected.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Proximity to Shannon airport. Clean, good staff.
Cons: Decor quite dull.
Location: 15 minutes, by taxi from Shannon airport.
Stayed one night in order to catch a flight from Shannon. Free parking for duration of trip was a large incentive to stay here. Had dinner in the bar which was good for the price. Expensive wine. Room was large, comfortable and clean. Breakfast, buffet style was very good and no complaints. Overall the hotel uses a lot of dark wood panelling and dark carpet, which produces a fairly dark atmosphere. The hotel is neglected and could use a complete refurbishment. However, staff were friendly, and I would stay there again, if travelling early-morning from Shannon. A shuttle-bus from hotel to airport would make it almost perfect. A taxi cost 10 Euro, bit much for 15 minutes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Has it all and away from the busy city.

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Great hotel with all the amenities you need. Away from the hustle bustle of the city. Staff need to smile a little more and keep on top of maintenance. Otherwise an outstanding stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, Arizona

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Very convenient for staying the night before taking an early flight. Nice bar with large tv for watching World Cup soccer and nice beer selection. Room was clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great last night in Ireland.

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Comfortable, nice staff, music. Perfect location for morning flight.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Only negative experience in all of Ireland

Posted Jun 27, 2014
when we arrived, we were told quite rudely by the desk clerk that we had no reservation. I showed her our booking number, she waved her hand and said"that means nothing to me". I then searched and found my confirmation and showed it to her. She waved it away and said she didn't have time for this and would deal with it later. She gave us our room key, offering no assistance with our luggage and sent us on our way. When we finally reached our room, the whole area reaked of cigarettes. In the trash can was actually an empty pack, with used cigarette buts inside. When my husband called the desk, he was told there were no other rooms available. And the best she could do was send someone to open the window. When the young man arrived, he agreed the smell was too strong. He opened the window, but it was a window that was inches off the floor, and opened like a door, and had no screen. It was large enough for a large grown man to simply walk thru and also opened up into the street level of the rear of the hotel. Not very secure. When the attendant got on the phone to get the manager as we requested, the front desk clerk , who we could clearly hear through the phone, told him to go into the hall and call her back on his private phone. I took the phone and again requested to speak with mgr, Rita. Rita came to our room, profusely apologized for the situation, and offered another room, she, thought was worse . At least she tried. The shower was moldy and room generally not clean.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Room was not clean, very old and worse, it was a NON SMOKING room HOWEVER, the bathroom was smoke filled smell was terrible and they had no other rooms to give us. It was very disappointing and uncomfortable. Of the 4 other hotels we stayed, this was the worse. One good item was the crab claws for dinner. Would NEVER recommend this place.