Ratings based on 167 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel I have stayed in for a long time friend

Posted Jul 20, 2014
The hotel is ideally situated in the centre of Ennis. Our room was of a very high standard. The staff were very
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel experience I had in Ireland!

Posted Jun 18, 2014
We booked another hotel in Ennis and when we arrived it was dirty so we left. We found this gem and the bartender helping us agreed that it was always a good pick. When we arrived we couldn't have been more relieved! The young woman behind the desk was so very kind and put is in a beautiful room. We listened to live music at the pub downstairs and had a great meal. We couldn't have wanted anything more but to stay longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Posted May 26, 2014
Cons: Only minor complaint was the difficulty parking. Lot was almost always full and creative parking made for tight fits. Seems standard for all Ireland.
Location: Franciscan Friary in Ennis on Heritage list was very interesting and had great guide even though under reconstruction (for which the fee was waived).
Stayed four nights here. Easy walking to all points in this medieval town. Front desk staff very helpful, pleasant and kind. Attached pub, Poet's Corner, had decent pub fare, requisite ales on tap and traditional music some nights. Good Irish pub. Made two easy day trips from here: the Burren and Cliffs of Mohr. Missed Galway but could've if United Airlines hadn't cancelled our flight and waylaid our luggage, costing us our first day in Ireland. Thoroughly enjoyed our visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, wonderful staff, highly recommended

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Wonderful stay at this lovely hotel. Great location, right in the centre of Ennis
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ennis

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Everywhere we went all acknowledged that The Old Ground was the best place to stay in Ennis .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by norman from derry

Very good hotel, well placed and lively

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Olde world charm, comfortable
Cons: Better parking
Location: Very good location, central to good music and lively pubs
Very good experience , staff were excellent, the food in the attached pub was excellent and reasonably priced
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by dysart from uk

wonderful weekend stay

Posted Feb 11, 2014
Enjoyed my stay at old ground hotel. Wonderful staff, great food. Only negative is their parking facilities. No markings or priority for residents
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Patrick Kennedy from Sacramento, CA

A great old hotel in a great location!

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
If staying in Ennis, don't stay anywhere but the Old Ground Hotel. Old world charm with modern amenities and very well kept up. This, and the fact that it is walking distance from all the main shopping and entertainment and just a short walk from the bus / train station make it a must stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Superb hotel, ideally located

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Clean, atmospheric hotel (we stayed during the Christmas period). Friendly staff and an excellent location. Parking was sometimes difficult to find as it is not reserved for residents only and seems to be used as a general car park by locals, but nonetheless we always found a space.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tanya from St.Albert, AB

Loved our two night stay!

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Beautiful room, comfy bed, very nice facilities, awesome shower/bath.