Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Charlton, New York

Asa Ransom House, Clarence, New York

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Everything !!! Food, rooms, grounds, staff, ambience, it was all perfect.
Cons: I wouldn't change a thing !!!
Location: Close to Buffalo and Niagara Falls, there are museums and concert halls within 10-15 minutes away, and easily within a half hour.
This place is a true gem among Bread & Breakfasts, not only for its magnificent structure and beautiful grounds, but especially because the complimentary breakfasts are superb and exceptionally well served by a very efficient, helpful, and charming staff, and high tea and dinner are well worth the trip as well. Bob and his staff go out of their way to accomodate guest's needs and desires at every part of your stay, and are incredibly friendly and helpful and friendly. There is even a wonderful non-resident dog, Gracie, who is available for ear scratches and belly rubs for those of us who miss our own dogs while out of town. Rooms are luxuriously and beautifully appointed, TV is available in rooms if you want it to intrude on the magnificent serenity, but its your escape from everyday life, so leave it turned ff and just bask in the relaxing calm, and walk the beautiful grounds instead, have high tea in the afternoon, then enjoy a wonderful, gourmet meal, beautifully prepared and elegantly served. What could be better ? And more relaxing than that ? We are already planning our next sanity break to this oasis in Western New York. After this trip, Bob and his wonderful staff are old friends, and we look forward to seeing them and this wonderful old facility again, and often.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kathyfrom Upstate NY

one night stay

Posted May 24, 2014
Pros: The history of the inn was interesting and would have liked more time to explore the town and local area.
Cons: We would prefer a harder mattress as when the second person got into bed, we rolled together.
We went to UB graduation and wanted a nice B & B with atmosphere for one night. We loved the decor and ambience of the Inn as well as the beautiful grounds. The rooms were very nicely decorated with period pieces with water and fruit with cheese and crackers for snacks. Our only complaint was the bed was too soft to be comfortable. The breakfast was delicious with fresh fruit and baked goods, including a gluten free option for one of us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Kathy & Brianfrom Arkansas

Impeccable customer service

Posted Dec 28, 2013 
Traveled week before Christmas for a family funeral in the buffalo area. What a perfect place to stay! Thoughtful and caring staff at Asa Ransom House really made our stay an uplifting event. They are dedicated to delighting their customers. Meals were fabulous, magical surroundings for the holidays, Innkeepers most attentive. Thank you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Laura

Posted Aug 12, 2013 
Room was lovely as well as the grounds. Wished there was a more friendly atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Susan&Patrickfrom Ohio

Gardeners Delight

Posted Jun 23, 2013
Pros: The rooms were high quality Inn style with interesting nic-nacs. Being greeted with fresh fruit, cheese, crackers and cool water in the room was good
We were just passing through to our destination and planned a layover here. It was worth it. The Inn's gardens are relaxing and attractive. The neighboring park allowed for a good after dinner walk in a well maintained former AAA Club get-away. Nearby trails were also available.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ItalianFoodiefrom West Chester PA

Nice B&B

Posted Jun 11, 2013
Cons: The chintz everywhere (wallpaper, window shades, bed linens was a little claustrophobic. It may be the right period for the building, but it looks wor
Location: There are very good tourist guides in the room.
We stayed here once before when visiting relatives, and thought we'd try the Ransom House again. We had a very nice room on the second floor (no elevator), The bath had very nice amenities and large, thick towels. The breakfast was unusually good - I had the cheese and bacon souffle. The pastries were excellent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by MJfrom Out of state

Family friendly

Posted Jun 9, 2013
Pros: Location perfect for our needs on this trip.
Cons: Uncomfortable bed.
Location: Perfect location for our visit purpose.
A Bed & Breakfast should provide a comfortable bed-- this did not! I fought rolling into my (heavier) husband much of the night on the old, worn mattress. Yes, I did mention it to staff who made no comment. Breakfast was quite good but not great. There was nothing out of the ordinary on the menu. The overall facility is very pleasant and welcoming with a lovely lounge for reading or gathering with family or friends. We gathered for a wonderful (delicious, well served) dinner for 10 family members in a private dining area. It was a pleasure to find that opportunity was available to us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Dean

Nice Place

Posted Oct 15, 2012 
A wonderful visit with accommodating persons and a beautiful dog Gracie.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2012 
Staff is a little brisk and task focused
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Linda

Great

Posted Oct 4, 2012 
6 out of 5