Ratings based on 214 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with lakefront view

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Stayed twice for work awesome hotel with amazing cottage breakfast cafe next door
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunnyvale, CA

Not bad, a bit worn.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Overall not bad, but I expected a bit more for the price. The AC unit was incredibly loud and I had to turn it off to sleep. Clean, but a bit worn out.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mold around the shower and the shower was cold

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Beautiful location but the room sucked. I will never stay there again.
3 out of 5
by Jamie from Livingston, Scotland

A trip back in time

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Lakeside position. Spacious grounds
Cons: Updating TVs, better quality patio furniture provide even basic breakfast.
Location: Nice scenery, good for boating and fishing. Developing wineries.
This hotel has a lot going for it in a family friendly way but needs updating. Old style TVs and very cheap plastic patio/balcony furniture gave it a low rent feel. No breakfast provided is also disappointing. At the time of our visit there were a few groups who seemed to be visitng as family get togethers with adjacent rooms, communal barbeques and (noisey) games. Good fun for the families but kind of spoiled our hoped for relaxing peaceful weekend. This hotel works best as a family resort or if you are keen on fishing/boating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location next to Clear Lake.

Posted May 25, 2014
I loved being close to the lake and sitting on my little patio watching the lake and the birds in the trees. I had a very comfortable bed which helped me have a good night's sleep. The facility is showing it's age though. For example, the shower was old and worn but clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento CA

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: Quiet room with view of lake.
Cons: Power strip for several electrical cords.
Location: Good family restaurant for breakfast next store.
Nice view of lake. Facility is old but well kept up.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Eric M from Castro Valley

"Resort" may be somewhat optimistic

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
When the word 'resort' is used in a business name, it implies a certain level of sophistication. Yes, this property is located right on Clear Lake, but that's where the real amenities end. Other than the swing set and the small, duck-inhabited outdoor pool, there is nothing resort-like about this place. The rooms are very small and beds quite uncomfortable; the windows are original to the 1960's construction. Inside, furnishings reek of the 1980's, right down to the 18" faux-oak vanity in the bathroom that was too small to be useful. The bathroom door frame in our room was out of plumb due to foundation settling, so the bathroom door couldn't completely close. The shower (no tub) was turned on with an irrigation valve spliced into the neck of the shower head; this was a very low-class solution to a problem that should have been properly fixed at the faucet control. Add to that the very thin walls allowing us to be privy to our neighbors' conversations, and this place quickly becomes not at all worth the $130 we paid for the night. "Resort?" No. "Last resort" is more like it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great place for a mini-vacation

Posted May 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
My wife and I enjoyed our stay at Skylark Shores. Everything is so convenient, and the staff were very friendly. After reading some of the hotel.com's reviews, I thought there will be a BBQ grill available; however, the poolside room do not include the use of this amenity. To my surprise when I asked the front office lady the next morning to borrow a grill, she upgraded our room to a lawn view room for free. We enjoyed our BBQ for lunch and dinner. We look forward to our next vacation at Skylark Shores. I will be sure to bring my fishing pole.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice lakefront property, clean hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Clean cozy rooms, beautiful spacious lakefront property
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 19, 2014 on Hotels.com