Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Gem near the Ghetto

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: The water in the pool was the right temperature and left no odor on my skin. Next door is a good restaurant.
Cons: The breakfast, especially if you are gluten free.
Location: You can drive an hour and a half to Fort Bragg on the coast and enjoy temperatures 30 degrees less than in Upper Lake. Be in race mode.
The outdoor restaurant customers cause lots of noise until 9pm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming Oasis / Beautiful Hotel

Posted Jun 4, 2013
Pros: Patio, garden, swimming pool, jacuzzi, restaurant,...
Beautiful Hotel, patio, garden...nice restaurant, nice swimming pool & jacuzzi, great staff...Best (and only) place to visit or stay in Upper Lake. A charming oasis in a strange town... ;)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nancyfrom Santa Barbara, CA, USA

Romantic, beautiful destination hotel

Posted Apr 4, 2013
Pros: Decor, ambiance, comfort of bed, quiet, windows on 3 sides of the room (ie no cookie cutter rooms)
Cons: Location
Location: Near Clear Lake, in a very tiny but cool "old-west" looking town.
One of the most charming hotel rooms I've ever enjoyed staying in - reminded me a bit of the MacArthur Inn in Sonoma, which costs twice as much. Beautifully decorated - sort of retro hip. Enjoyed dinner at the Blue Wing next door - excellent fairly priced food with fantastic service. This is worth going out of your way for!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Windsor, CA

Fabulous and cozy

Posted Dec 16, 2010
Very lovely place - much attention to detail - cozy for woman traveleing alone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Fairfax, VA

Exceptional Little Hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2010
Everything about the Tallman Hotel was exceptional! The hotel itself is beautiful. I don't think anything was overlooked in the renovation. All of the staff were very outgoing and helpful in giving directions and recommendations on things to do. We had a junior suite and found it large, very clean and extremely comfortable. There were so many little touches throughout the suite that we felt right at home. The breakfast was yummy...especially the blueberry scones! There isn't much to do in town, but we were there mainly to relax and visit some wineries for wine tasting and this hotel more than met all of our needs. The Blue Wing Saloon, which is part of the hotel, was just OK for us though. Very slow service and the prices were a bit high for the quality of the food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Sunnyvale ca

Fantastic Hotel!!

Posted Jun 10, 2010
Absolutely FABULOUS hotel. We love every minute of it! Clean room, fabulous location, fun music and atmosphere, very nice and helpful employees, great pool and spa, we didn't want to go home!! We plan to stay again at least every few months, can't wait for the next visit! Oh, the only complaint is that the bed was a little to soft for us, but we were used to a firm mattress!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado Springs, CO

Happy Lodger

Posted Apr 15, 2010
Very nice!! Would recommend highly to anyone. Set right in the middle of old historic town. The only issue was there wasn't enough lighting available in the bathroom for putting on makeup.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom California

Charming/ great care

Posted Apr 7, 2010
The service was wonderful, very friendly. The room had all the amenties.The breakfast in the morning was perfect.Loved that the restaurant next door shared a wonderful courtyard that you could sit outside and have a relaxing dinner.