Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Mixiechic from Cali

Not close enough to the beach

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: I liked that the room had a fridge and microwave
Cons: TV remotes dont work well
Location: Make sure to get some pizza at Piaci's. Delicous and fun to hang with the locals!
I think if you're visiting Ft Bragg for the beach scenary this isn't it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Hotel under renovation kinda

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was quite pleased with my accommodations. Stayed for a business trip and found it was a little far away from where I needed to be, but then again, I liked it. Hotel staff was incredibly nice. My room was on the mountainside so no great view of the lake. I noticed that they were renovating some rooms and it looked promising.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tullio from San Jose, CA

Nice hotel for a weekend get-away

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: The location is great, right by the lake. It has a nice deck with tables and fire pits where guests can relax and enjoy the view.
Cons: The A/C was noisy and not operating properly. It did not have an auto off. We ended up switching it off over night so we could sleep.
Location: Not much to do nearby for kids except go on a boat around the lake. Fort Bragg is far and the road is very tiring.
We spent a couple of days and enjoyed our stay for the most part. The hotel staff was pleasant to deal with. One thing we didn't like was the fact that there was a water heater in our bathroom, which controlled several rooms. We did not know that and unplugged the heater so we could get some sleep. Early in the morning we found out that lots of rooms did not have hot water. We felt bad about it but we should have been warned.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Lake View; must Kayak

Posted May 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
I loved it; I am a return customer, having stayed there at least 5 times. All the rooms I have been in have been nice. I love the free Kayak rental that is included in your overnight stay. The lake is quiet and one can see many birds. The service has been friendly and welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by S. Hansen from San Diego

Close to town but a true GETAWAY location!

Posted May 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
This resort hotel sits on a beautiful clean lake called Blue Lake. The owners have taken this 1950's hotel and done some amazing upgrades. The decor, comfortable beds, bathroom, are all tastefully decorated with nice subtle upgrades. The robes in the room are a classy touch. There is a grassy area in front of the rooms with lounge chairs and chairs with tables on the patio walkway. The included breakfast of scrambled eggs, pastries, apples, and orange juice was delivered to our room promptly at 9 am. There are multiple docks with water toys and water crafts for rent. Our night included a one hour kayak rental which we enjoyed; seeing an eagles nest and soaking in the beauty of the lake. The lake water was a little chilly but so crystal clean and the swimming platform so inviting we could not resist. The pool was not ready for the season but was not missed. The stars at night are incredible! This is a lovely place to enjoy a beautiful view and lake. Tiffany was a pleasure and very helpful. We will be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great roadside hotel.

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: The rooms are spacious. The lake is beautiful (but very small). Clean. Cute. Nice staff.
Cons: Open the pool in time for people traveling on spring break.
The hotel is lovely. But it's the staff that made it a stay to remember. The woman who works the front desk really impressed us with her ability to do it all. She took great care of us, from making a wonderful breakfast to setting us up with boats and water toys. She was relaxed and didn't make a fuss that we were five minutes late with boat or wanted to rent an inner tube just as she was getting ready to close. Whatever we wanted, she accommodated. This is really important when you're staying on a lake and never know what you might need or what you might want to do. The stay could have been ho-hum. But it was really fun because of all the hotel has to offer. I just wish the pool had been open. The lake was freezing. We would have paid more to have a nice warm pool to jump into.
2 out of 5
by M from Cloverdale CA

Looking for rude service, then here it is!

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: The only good thing I can say, is it is very easy to find and you can park in front of your room.
Cons: Staff needs to be friendly and more helpful to guests upon check in.
Location: The property is on a lake, nice for fishing and boating. There is nothing else near by.
Yes, it is pretty, so is any lake area, so don't be fooled by that. Choosing a mountain side room means being right on a freeway (very loud at night). There is no restaurant near by, so you have to drive and the only suggestion the staff could make was a local casino that wasn't child friendly. This place does take small dogs, and that is nice (we didn't have one, but saw others). Upon check in we asked about the pool and was told where it was etc. When I got my three kids over to the pool in suits and sunblocked up, THEN some one from staff came to tell us that the pool was closed until May. Why were we not told that when we checked in! There are no peddle boats, and with a late 3pm check in, renting a boat for a day (they are due back before 5) is a wast of money. There is a breakfast avaliable in a room at the end of the hall, bagels, coffee, and OJ, but no one told us about that either, so we didn't know. The staff grounds keeper (we are guessing that is who it was by the coveralls) was out sleeping on the grass and we found that odd. The beds are very hard, and I am glad I always bring my own pillow since the pillow case was stained. There was a fire pit and gas grills in the back by the lake, no one ever said if they were for event use, or guests etc... it would have been real fun to roast marshmallows and grill hot dogs, but no staff offered us any information.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice , but not great

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: pretty lake and grounds, free internet and parking
Cons: Housekeeping
Location: Along side highway 20, cars and noise from traffic.
Rooms very small, walls very thin. No closet or dresser. The hotel was not full so they should have spread us out. You could easily hear the neighbors on each side. I felt like I had to whisper in our room. Simple kitchen with only one plug . You had to choose between the toaster, coffee pot or microwave. .or unplug the fridge. Housekeeping needs much improvement. First day gone 11a to 11pm .We forgot to put out pls clean sign, but blinds open , and we were gone. Came back to unmade beds and wet towels from am........only two. WE had to use those same wet towels again in the am.. The next day we left a 4 dollars tip and easter eggs .... the beds were made, but the bathroom had a dirty sink, hair and tooth paste and more hair in the bath tub. The kitchen had the same wet crumpled towel . The floor had not been mopped or swept and none of the three garbage containers had been emptied. They were all more than half full! ICK......... part of the fun of staying in a hotel is coming back to a fresh clean room! The grounds are very clean and pretty. The pool was full of leaves and cold. Breakfast satisfactory.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing, quiet lakeside inn, wonderful staff

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Cons: Wireless speed.
Clean, comfortable inn on quiet lake with maximum speed of 5 mp. Warm and wonderful staff that went out of their way to make our stay special. especially the manager Tiffany who even helped us load a canoe atop a Honda Civic. Fresh cooked breakfast in bed, free docking facilities, in room kitchenette if you need it (we didn't), barbeque equipped patio, pool, functional if slow wireless, convenient for day hikes, it had everything we could have wished for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great Place to stay in upper lake. Super clean and comfy rooms.