Ratings based on 499 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

Good Stay but not really Luxury

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Decor and location to everything
Cons: staffing and services
Location: Great location for seeing anything at the Q or Progressive Field.
The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly enough but for the price paid and considered luxury status hotel. There was no bell man, no one went out of their way to provide quality service, the concierge wasn't helpful, and if it wasn't for the cleanliness of hotel and beautiful building I probably would have given a lower review. Its a great location with a lot of things to do in the area but for the price and name you expect a higher luxury.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2014 by Ami, Hotel Management
Hello Nina and thank you very much for the four stars. We're very sorry to hear that you were a bit disappointed with the quality of your stay. Please know that we have passed your comments to our general manager for her review and that we truly value your comments. Your issue with the lack of bell services and your interaction with our navigator team (concierge) was most distressing and will be addressed. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you will in fact return again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overview

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Cons: More for less but for the location and what you got it was workable.
Good spot for crash for a bachelor party and a comfy spot as well. Bit pricey but you are right next to the casino and the downtown scene while being within short walking distance of everything else. Polite staff for the frantic pace things seemed to be going.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2014 by Ami, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you very much for the wonderful four star review! We're thrilled to hear your stay was a success and we hope to see you again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expensive hotel no amenities

Posted Jun 25, 2014
This hotel may be in the center of the city, but the rooms are stark, no coffee maker and parking is expensive and very inconveniet. Only stay here if you have to.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2014 by Ami, Hotel Management
Hello elaine and thank you for taking the time to post. Actually all guest rooms do in fact have single cup coffee/tea machines in room. We apologize that you were not aware and hope that you will in fact return again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Promised one room, delivered another

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Beautiful lobby and bar
Cons: The room was hot and stuffy, you cannot adjust in the room. The sheets were not cotton-microfiber-awful.
Location: Progressive Field, Quicken Loans arena
We booked a room with a king bed and received a TINY room with a queen bed-for $229/night. Staff said the hotel was sold out and they were unable to change us to the room we had reserved. They refused to credit our account for the difference. Not staying here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2014 by Ami, Hotel Management
Hello Sue and thank you for visiting and for taking the time to post your feedback. While we do work diligently to accommodate specific room requests, we simply can never guarantee a particular room type. We try very, very hard however due to check-in timing and particular groups, we simply are not able. We are very sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused and hope that you will in fact return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Decent accommodations, but don't expect much.

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: The location is its best quality.
Cons: Rooms could use upgrading. Clean and serviceable, but lacking some modern amenities.
Location: Close to Progressive Field (10-15 minute walk) and Quicken Loans Arena (next to Progressive Field). Lots of fun places to hang near the sport venues.
Location is excellent. Convenient to several restaurants, sports venues, etc. Just a little on the dated side.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2014 by Ami, Hotel Management
Hello DPS and thank you for the wonderful 4 star review! We love to hear when guests such as yourself have such a fantastic time in downtown Cleveland. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by joss from Youngstown

Beautiful hotel - unhelpful staff

Posted Jun 23, 2014
I recently booked a hotel stay with Renaissance. I had requested to have a room with two double beds because I was booking the hotel for four people. When we arrived we waited 30 minutes in line to check in, we then discovered that our room only had 1 king bed. When we called to see if we could switch rooms to accommodate the amount of people, they said they could not but could send a roll away bed. They sent one roll away which was the size of a twin bed and my husband and I had to share it. It was very uncomfortable and I was very upset. For the amount of money I spent on the room I should had slept like a queen and slept like I was staying at a motel 8
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2014 by Ami, Hotel Management
Hello Joss and thank you for visiting. Due to the historic nature of our beautiful hotel, each of our 491 guest rooms is completely unique in size and layout. We are always sure to emphasize when booking, that we are unable to guarantee a particular room type. We work diligently to accommodate but sometimes we are unable. We're very sorry for your inconvenience and hope that you will in fact visit again soon.
2 out of 5
by Catherine

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Will not stay again. The customer service was poor. Booked a room with 2 beds. The room was very small with a king and cramped. Barely able to fit a cot in. The staff was aloof. The room view was to another building. I have paid the same rate for a large room with a view of the city in the past. For the price I was not pleased at all and did not get the room I booked. They were sold out so had to go with it. Not again!.... No breakfast so found a cute diner on Huron.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2014 by Ami, Hotel Management
Hello Catherine and thank you for staying. We are truly sorry to hear that you were not happy with your room assignment. To be very honest, each of our 491 guest rooms is completely unique in size and layout. This is due to the historic nature of our hotel and various renovations throughout the years. We apologize also that you were unhappy with our breakfast options at Sans Souci restaurant located off of our Lobby Court. Hopefully you will in fact visit again and have a more enjoyable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stefanie from Cleveland

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: the hotel is beautiful
Cons: the rooms could be a little more updated, central heat and air. The beds were not the best.
Location: location was great, close to everything we wanted to do downtown
our air in the room was not working, when a tech came in he said it automatically switches to heat when it gets a certain temperature outside. It was very hot, we had to open the windows which made for a very noisy night.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2014 by Ami, Hotel Management
Hello Stafanie and thank you for visiting. We appreciate you taking the time to write your review and we are terribly sorry to hear that noise was an issue upon opening the windows. Along with the grandeur and elegance of our nearly 100 year old property also comes limited quirks, such as our HVAC system, which we are always working diligently to improve for guests such as yourself. We are very sorry for any disappointment and hope that you will in fact return again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ali from Florida

Comfortable stay

Posted May 13, 2014
Conventionally located in the heart of downtown, staying here made our stay more enjoyable.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2014 by Ami, Hotel Management
Hello Ali and thank you for the 4 stars. We appreciate you staying and hope to see you again on your next visit north! Please bring plenty of sunshine on your next visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

need more ice machine on the floor.

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: That is was attached to the mall
It was ok. I would not stay there again. I expected a better room
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2014 by Ami, Hotel Management
Hi There and thank you for visiting. We wish that we had more information on your visit so that we could better respond. We're terribly sorry that you were unhappy with your room assignment. Hopefully you will in fact return and have experience a much more positive stay with us here in Cleveland.