Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Newty from Bucks

Vastly overpriced

Posted Jan 23, 2014
Pros: Nothing stands out
Cons: Honesty with pricing and star rating
This hotel claimed to be 4 star and we booked it as such. This is my second experience of having phoney ratings and reviews made up I expect by hotel staff and friends. I was charged an extra 150 pounds for them to put an extra bed in our room for our daughter, it was the most uncomfortable fold up contraption which refused to lay flat so our daughter ended up sharing our bed most of the time. There is no fridge in the room! The air con worked ok but there was a real lack of space for clothes storage also the furniture is generally tired. The swimming pool is tiny and was used more by the local bird life. The breakfast was ok and generally the staff were helpful but this is small comfort when you feel you have been misled and charged proper western 4 star prices which by Indian standards are truly outrageous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mick from Newbury, England

Very comfortable hotel in great central location

Posted Oct 25, 2013
We stayed at the Tea Bungalow for three nights in Oct 13. The hotel is located in a great location for visiting the main attractions of Fort Cochin, the spice markets and Jew Town. Tea Bungalow is a small, beautifully presented hotel, the staff were friendly and polite and the room was very pleasant with, importantly, an efficient air conditioning system. We stayed on a Bed & Breakfast basis so I can only comment on the food from a breakfast perspective... a good choice of Western and Indian food on offer, well cooked and presented with courteous and friendly service. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Cheeky_monkey1 from Sydney, Aus

Loved it

Posted Sep 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our family of 2 adults and 2 children (11 & 8) stayed 3 nights on arrival in India and loved it. Staff were great the room was huge (upstairs called Gaille) which accommodated 3 in ks bed and 1 on a roll away. Suggestions for improvement although minor were more variation for breakfast (when booked it said buffet but was menu based) and taxis arranged through the hotel seemed pricey. That said I would definitely recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel amazing helpful staff

Posted Sep 6, 2013
Beautiful hotel with a lot of character. The staff make this hotel, so friendly and helpful, definitely stay here!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by IndianTraveller from Singapore

Nice place to explore Fort Kochi

Posted Aug 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed for two nights at Tea Bungalow. It is a quaint little place with an old world charm. The property and room was very well maintained. Importantly the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Finally, the food was great and we hogged a lot. Cons – It’s a small property, so do not expect resort type facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bluesman from Ringwood UK

Genuine character hotel

Posted Feb 18, 2013
Pros: Historic character carried through to the rooms
Cons: The hotel is alcohol free, which was a bit disappointing as a glass or two of wine would have complimented the otherwise excellent food on offer
Great hotel full of character. The staff very friendly and extremely helpfully. The dining experience in the hotel was one of the best in Cochin.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lekha and famil from USA

Colonial India revisited.

Posted Jan 14, 2013
Pros: Feeling at Home
Cons: Distance from airport.
Location: Heart of Fort Kochi, can walk to the harbor.
This is an old Bungalow from the colonial period. It gives you the ambiance of how it used to be. We loved the tranquil balconies and courtyard, clean simple rooms, very well maintained. Staff is very helpful, chef simply magnificent. His pickles were outstanding for those who want real Kerala food. I grew up in India in such a bungalow, so for me this recreation was very enjoyable. Not to be missed is a harbor cruise at sunset.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Allen

Nice quiet hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2012 on Hotels.com
This is a nice, quiet hotel that serves good food, and is just a five-minute walk away from the waterfront. The bathrooms are stunning - like showering in a private garden. The pool, while not quite suited for sunbathing, due to overhanging trees, is a great for swimming and lounging. One caveat - there is no alcohol served on the hotel premises. If you want a beer or glass of wine, you'll have to head to another hotel/restaurant, or brave the line at the government shop.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2012 on Hotels.com