Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom M

Superb. A gem ! No complaints.

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Great hotel in a great location. Staff was amazing and very attentive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Great hotel on the water near main areas

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: Location, contemporary decor and amenities, location, friendly staff.
Cons: Multiple staff members should not keep asking guests the same questions or give conflicting instructions
Location: sightseeing - not too far from old city and visitor sites (Synagogue, temples, spice shopping). Good restaurant on site.
The hotel location is great, staff friendly and the room facilities are excellent. Nice breakfast too. There is ample of staff hovering around in the lobby but not sure how they are assigned responsibilities as several staff members ask the same questions (what time will you check out, can I get a copy of the passport etc). Sometimes they give conflicting instructions. Overall helpful and friendly staff, great facility for business or leisure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom pruthi

Very good location and a great ambiance.

Posted Jan 11, 2015
It is an excellent location with a great view of the lake. The breakfast was good and the boat ride in the evening was mode touch.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

A run down hotel in a prime location

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: Location, location
Cons: Maintenance. The walls are peeling off the wall paper!
Location: The hotel is located in central Cochin that is currently undergoing major construction work with a metro being built. Shopping and restaurants.
The Taj Gateway used to be a well maintained facility right in the heart of Cochin with easy access to transportation points and shopping. In recent times, the facility has taken a few steps back in maintenance. The rooms as always, are rather small but striking was the lack of finesse and finish that was part of the Taj Hotels. Bathrooms finishes were replaced with shoddily laid tiles and the mirrors had reflective paint falling off for big black holes. Don't get me wrong, there is no compromise on cleanliness but there is suddenly several new kids in town and this facility cannot keep up with the maintenance required at competitive prices. The hotel staff are something of a paradox and not particularly well trained in hospitality. On the one hand, there are well dressed women welcoming visitors with drinks while the reception staff are clearly overworked and less inclined to listen to concerns that they have no authority to correct.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Arnefrom KRÅKSTAD IN NORWAY

Very good value for money

Posted Dec 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good hotel and localation. Very good value for money. Friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jonasfrom Knivsta

One of the best located hotel in Ernakulam

Posted Nov 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Ended our Kerala tour with four nights at this hotel. Since the first two hotels were more luxurious, during our trip, we found this one not as good of course. But on the other hand the price was less than half so you can't really expect the same. Staff was excellent and very helpful. Try the Chinese/Thai restaurant! You will not be disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Stay.

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Courteous staff, well appointed room, we got a complimentary boat trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by AJIT SINGHfrom Pune

Fantabulous

Posted Nov 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brisbane Queensland Australia

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: Very friendly staff
Location: Don't know much about the area
Nothing so exciting all according to our expectations
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ollifrom Helsinki

Great hotel, stunning value

Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed in Gateway during our trip to Kochi Region. Service in this hotel was the best i have ever experienced. My wrinkled trousers were ironed immediately when i asked for it and we were constantly inquired are we satisfied. Only swimming pool area should be bigger but we found space right-away. I recommend this hotel for your first choice in Ernakulam which is btw much better area to accomodate than Kochi Fort.