Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pathetic, damp and dingy

Posted Aug 21, 2014
This hotel redefines old style and classic - it's shabby and dingy. Maintenance is low and the coq d'or restaurant is the worst I've seen.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nightmare

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: None, perhaps the Location and the warm hospitality by the waitress at the restrautrant.
Cons: Plenty, to name a few 1. Security aspects for guests; 2. Responsible staffs; 3. Rooms- proper clean rooms with positive energy
Location: The location was strategic at the heart of the shopping district- MG Road.
The hotel was recommended to me by my aunty who had stayed there previously. Unfortunately, she and I had a very unpleasant stay at this hotel during our recent trip. We know it's normal hotel policy to ask guests for their passports for verifications purposes. Unfortunely, the photocopier was down, and the staff at the reception informed us that he would personally bring it up to the room once he had recitifed the machine and made copies of our passports in the shortest period of time. It was late and we were tired, hence we felt asleep,only to realise the next morning that our passports were not with us. I view this as a grave security threat, the passports are chip based and if falls in the hand of some unscrupulous persons plenty can be done with it. I hope the management gives some serious consideration to this inccident and place proper Internal Control Check and alternative procedures in place and educate the staffs accordingly. As for the room, it looked like it was not occupied for months, with cobwebs on the waste baskets, air stale and the negative energy extremely high-very unpleasant stay in this room. It has been a very stressful experience and I for one will not revisit this hotel especially when there are so many hotels to pick from.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by anu from bangalore

On way to lakshwadeep

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Good for an overnight stay before starting the cruise
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fernando from Monterrey Mexico

Smiles , low cost, feel like home

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Location: Is in the middle of downtown Ernakulam
All are the most nice people you can find in a hotel in Kochi, smiles all over the hotel, the hotel is little old but well maintained, low cost and you feel at home.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by AK from NEW ZEALAND

Room downgraded

Posted Mar 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
The amount we paid was the charges for an executive room according to the hotel tariff, but were allotted a lower grade room. Despite our request, the room was not changed. The description in the booking clearly stated "A minibar a coffee/tea maker, a refrigerator ...a safe and a separate sitting area." But none of these were available. We were given a basic room with minimum facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by Tourist from USA

Bait and Switch!!!

Posted Jan 12, 2014
Pros: Not much--the staff tried.
Cons: EVERYTHING!
Don't be fooled by the pictures. The place is old, run-down, smells, etc. The food was terrible! We left after one night!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by LaL from Kerala India

Great location

Posted Dec 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
The stay was comfortable. The rooms were clean. The restaurant and bar had excellent cuisine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Gunjan from Gurgaon

Good location. Average amenities.

Posted Dec 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was reasonably good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by anand from mumbai

Good option but not the greatest

Posted Dec 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Breakfast: 3/5 consists of all normal things but not something to rem about.. Rooms: 4/5 rooms are quite big.. shows that it is an old hotel which has plenty of space to spare.. room looked quite old and ceiling easily gave that away.. Bathrooms: 3/5 okayish types.. they need to start providing more options there like combs, shampoos etc.. who wants to carry these things now-a-days!! Service/Staffs: 5/5 staffs are nice and courteous.. Location: 5/5 situated in the heart of the city. Easily accessible.