Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Aaron from K.L.

Good hotel with all the required amenities.

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Everything was fine; perhaps only one complaint though, the WiFi doesn't reach the last room on the second floor fully. However, a very minor flaw in an otherwise superb hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ideal place to stay to visit Kochi and Ernakulam

Posted Jan 15, 2014
Senate is conveniently located from the Ernakulam staion and the famous MG Road shopping complex. We originally booked for one night, but due to our train ticket we were arriving early. The hotel receptionist accommodated us for two nights..at a discounted price than what expedia had listed. Although I don’t agree with the 3.5 star..(as usual with Expedia hotels in India..they all have a star or two more when compared to the international start ratings..especially the US)..so being said that.The hotel in itself is small, but the rooms were of usual hotel standards. They were clean, and well maintained. The extra bed was comfortable too. Restaurant food was delicious. They had good menu choices for dinner…Fish was really good. Breakfast buffet had both Indian and continental choices. Had freshly made food and juices as well. Our local tour of Kochi via the hotel car was ridiculously costly..like every freakin Taxi in Kerala (for a mere 7KM they charge Rs. 500, and they don’t use meter), I would not take that again. Rather take the local Rikshaw (or TukTuk). Hotel staff were very friendly..especially the Front office manager. He went an extra mile to arrange for our rental car from Kochi to Munnar and beyond. Would like to thank for that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by Alex Kannachan from USA

Great stay at The Senate

Posted Jan 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
As an NRI the experience was very homely as we experienced great service from great staff. We will recommend The Senate to our friends! Thanks for a great week!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sunjeev from Delhi

Great Hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: Small Room, but very neat and clean with good Air Conditioning, Hot water etc. Location is also good as was very near to the main road.Efficient Staff
Cons: Quality of food and its presentation needs to be improved.
Location: Hotel was located very near to main road and public conveyance / taxi were available very easily. Railway station and Steamer Boat Station was 5 minut
We stayed for 1 night with our family and found this hotel excellent in terms of location, cleanliness, staff, hot water etc. However, it will be batter if hotel could provide tea / coffee maker in hotel room. Surprisingly electronic locker was available in the room. Very comfortable stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by G G

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anthony from Goa

Well located hotel and the staff is very helpful.

Posted Nov 18, 2013
Pros: The hotel is very clean and located in the heart of the city.
My experience was good on the whole stay.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Vaibhav from Pune

Not worth the money

Posted Nov 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
The deluxe room we got was very small, it had nasty stain on the wall. Not sufficient toiletries provided, we had to request extra towels, tissues etc. Hand shower in toilet did not work. TV set had dead pixels. Breakfast items were lame and disgusting. Totally waste of money!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Balaji from Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India

comfort and value for money

Posted May 6, 2013
Location: close to most of the attractions of ernakulam. an auto stand is close by and the office is able to arrange for cabs almost on call.
stayed for 1 night. the food choices are limited but good. The best part about the hotel is its proximity to shopping places in broadway, mg road as well as the marine drive and also the railway station. overall a comfortable place at an affordable price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler from Mumbai

Posted Apr 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
My stay was pretty good, eventhough I had to change the room on the second day as the staff was not able to repair the A/C.. The food was not up to the mark. There is a lot of room for improvement in this regard. The front officce was pretty helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vicky from Delhi

Good Hospitality

Posted Mar 30, 2013
Pros: Good Hospitality.. not so expensive :-)
Had a one night stay here.. great experience, good hospitality.. located in the main cochin city.. Nearby to chennai silk (for saree lovers :-) )..