Ratings based on 156 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Excellent hotel, right on the sea front.

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Pros: had the whow factor
Cons: Nothing
when we arrived at the hotel, were met by a hostess with a glass of refreshing drink. We were asked to take a seat while she sorted out our room. Once this was done she gave us a tour of the hotel and then taken to our room which was upgraded. I must say that both the staff service were excellent. All members of made you feel very welcome and very polite and helpful. Had problems with accessing our emails, asked the staff at front desk to help, they sent up their IT person who spent over an hour sorting out our problems. I will certainly recommend this hotel to anybody as we had a really excellent experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Far away frm everything

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Recreation options limited, forced to eat in the hotel as nothing else close by... For the price rooms are ok... I found dirt in the tub. Being a taj property it can do much better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bakr

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 29, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mumbai, India

Lovely place to hang out, relax. Close to sights.

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: The food, masala chai and the CHOCOLATES! The lovely pool and games on the lawn.
Cons: The restaurant doesn't know how to grill a steak. Get a caste iron grill please. Parathas aren't their forte. Citronella candles in the restaurants.
Location: The hotel is pretty close to the sights and even had ferry rides to key sight locations. The hotel also has its own free tour of the backwaters.
This place was awesome. Very clean and beautiful. We have a 5-month old. So we wanted a place where, after a few hours of sightseeing, we could still enjoy ourselves. The hotel is on the water with a very clean pool, including kiddie pool. The lawn is big and has games set up - like crocket and mini golf. The restaurants have very good food - definitely try the grilled tiger prawns and the Syrian fish curry. I (over-)indulged in the assorted free chocolates in the lobby. Room service is quick and 24-hours which was awesome with the baby. Every morning we ordered masala chai to our room - it was delicious! the staff are very courteous. For example, they turned off the sprinklers on the lawn to let us play and, instead of ringing the door and waking the baby, room service knew to quietly knock and whisper. Most impressively, after we booked this place, we decided to book another night last minute. Because it was a holiday weekend, they couldn't get us the same room, but they rearranged a room two doors down so the move was minimally disturbing. The room minibar was nicely stocked. The view is nice but don't expect a beach - it's a fishing town. If you want a massage, book in advance at the spa if you have limited availability - it fills up fast. This is India so expect Mosquitos - not in the rooms but in one of their restaurants I got bit a few times. Rooms aren't super cheap, especially if you want a sea view, but it's WELL WORTH it and FAR superior to other hotels in the area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Great location on the edge of a working harbour. Staff were extremely helpful. Easy access to ferries to the other islands. Overall fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mumbai

On the Waterfront

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Pros: Peace, tranquility and old-world charm.
Cons: Nothing much.
Location: It is a little far away from the attractions. Fort Kochi and Jew Town are the places to go to.
Taj Malabar is at the tip of Willingdon Island, a man-made island in Kochi (Cochin). We were at another hotel, and then moved here to escape a conference. The tranquility and the pleasant atmosphere both of the island and the hotel were perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Vacation in Cochin !

Posted Jan 15, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent service all around....excellent attention to detail...Trips / Transportation arranged by the travel desk were also excellent. We had three rooms including a suite for several days which were all very good.......the children also enjoyed the stay and trips etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Luxurious hotel remote from the bustle of the city

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: Well appointed, several choice of cuisine in restaurants, an excellent gymnasium.
Cons: Better trained staff
Location: Located away from the Kochi city center but closer to the attractions such as the Dutch Palace, the Jewish Temple and the old Spice Market.
The Taj Vivanti is a great facility that has maintained its standards over the years. It has numerous restaurants, luxurious and comfortable bed rooms, and a bar that makes good cocktails. The view are amazing. The desk staff and travel service staff are not the smartest and tend to pull down the overall atmosphere of an otherwise wonderful hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sally Anne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 8, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent Hotel, Very isolated location

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Location: Absolutely nothing.
Expect to spend all your time in the hotel. It's next door to a cement works, and there is literally nothing else for miles. That said, it's a great hotel! True 5 star service, and great food, can't be knocked on anything. They even keep the noisy Tuc-Tucs out, which is great, but made us laugh when a driver got very angry with their security, saying "too posh in there"!! Watch out for one Indian hospitality trait - they say "Yes sir" to everything. Sometimes it means "no sir" but they still say "yes". We'd been enjoying croquet on the lawn, but it was taken down for an event. The next morning we asked if it was coming back. "Yes sir". Can it be set up now? "Yes sir". Was it set up? No. Not for 4 hours.... despite asking 3 times. oh well!! Spa, Restaurants, all excellent. Had a great time.