Ratings based on 1,121 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Coeur d'Alene, ID

You get what you pay for

Posted May 18, 2015
Breakfast was horrible. Key card was next to impossible to get the exterior door to open. Not good in pouring down rain. Room had a bit of that old musty smell.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2015 by Shilo Inns, Hotel Management
Dear Shilo Guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate and welcome all feedback from our valued guests so that we know the areas we need to improve upon. I will be sure to have the maintenance staff checks all the outside door locks to make sure they are working properly. We are sorry to hear you did not find anything in our breakfast to your liking. We try to offer a variety of items for our hotel guest like waffle, omelets, biscuits and gravy, hard boiled eggs, assorted danishes, muffins, bagels, yogurt, hot and cold cereal, fruit, juice, and coffee. We do hope that you will allow Shilo Inns another chance to accommodate you in the future. Sincerely Joyce & Chad Hubble Managers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary

Overnight stay

Posted May 17, 2015
Mostly a pit stop for us on our way to the Oregon Coast. There were a lot of school groups so breakfast was a very noisy and crowded affair.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2015 by Shilo Inns, Hotel Management
Dear Shilo Guest, We want to thank you for choosing the Shilo Inn for you accommodation needs and for taking the time to let us know how your stay with us went. We look forward to seeing you again during your future travel to the Coeur d’ Alene area. Sincerely Chad & Joyce Hubble Managers
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom C

Not as nice as other Shiloh Inn's we have stayed

Posted May 16, 2015
We were a little disappointed with this Shiloh Inn. They only had a complimentary continental breakfast instead of a full buffet breakfast. Luckily there was a nice JB's restaurant next door. Didn't really like the location either, but we were pretty spoiled after staying at Shiloh Inn in Idaho Falls. As we were traveling with a pet, we were on the main floor, and did not have a slider door, and window was high and looked out to landscaping. It was nice to have microwave and refrigerator with a small freezer. Cleaning staff was very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2015 by Shilo Inns, Hotel Management
Dear Shilo Guest, We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay here at the Coeur d’ Alene Shilo Inn compared to the Shilo Inn in Post Falls, however each Shilo Inn is different. We are glad to hear that the cleanliness of your room and the friendliness of our staff were to your satisfaction. We look forward to seeing you again during your future travels to the area. Sincerely Joyce & Chad Hubble Managers
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom melb australia

Disappointed

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: Staff very friendly
Cons: Needs an update
Location: Too far out of town
The staff were friendly and helpful, the place needs a major overhaul. It smells and looks worn.its also not close to many amenities, restaurants etc
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2015 by Shilo Inns, Hotel Management
Dear Shilo Guest, We are glad to hear your overall stay with us was to your satisfaction. We do apologize for the décor and age of the hotel. We will be sure to pass along your observations to our corporate office. We do hope that you will allow us to accommodate you during your future travels. Sincerely Joyce & Chad Hubble Managers
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No airport shuttle

Posted Apr 29, 2015
The only reason I booked this room was for the airport shuttle. There amenities stated airport shuttle yet it wasn't available. No driver. We had to pay 40.00 for a taxi. Not very happy.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2015 by Shilo Inns, Hotel Management
Dear Shilo Guest, We are sorry to hear our shuttle was not available to pick you up at the airport. We do not charge for a pick up at the local airport, however if you were requesting to be picked up at the Spokane airport we do charge a fee of $40.00 plus tax as it is not local but a 45 min drive from the hotel. All shuttle pickups are to be scheduled 24 hours in advance. Unfortunately since we do not have a 24 hour shuttle it would depend on the time you were needing picked up if the shuttle was available. Again we do apologize for any inconvenience and we do hope you will allow us another chance to provide you with room accommodations in the future. Sincerely Chad & Joyce Hubble Managers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 25, 2015
it was interesting watching the hotel later in the evening in the desk clerk was sitting there a chair sleeping I had to wake her up I pass this information on to the manager
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2015 by Shilo Inns, Hotel Management
Dear Shilo Guest, We are sorry to hear that you found our desk agent asleep at the desk. I can assure this issue has been resolved and is not a standard practice of the Shilo Inn. We do appreciate you letting us know as we cannot be at the hotel 24 hours a day. We do hope that the rest of your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you during your future travels to the Coeur d’ Alene area. Sincerely Joyce & Chad Hubble Managers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Not too bad at all

Posted Apr 23, 2015
A little outdated on some aspects but still a nice place to stay, in a good location too.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2015 by Shilo Inns, Hotel Management
Dear Shilo Guest, We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again during your future travels to the Coeur d’ Alene area. Sincerely Joyce & Chad Hubble
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Birthday bash

Posted Apr 22, 2015
My family and I had a wonderful time. The hotel is located close to many attractions and conveniently situated by stores and restaurants. We found the staff friendly and very professional. They have a very nice breakfast, not to heavy and just filling enough for all. We are planning a return trip in the Fall, and plan to stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2015 by Shilo Inns, Hotel Management
Dear Shilo Guest, We appreciate you choosing the Shilo Inn for your accommodation needs and for taking the time to let us know how your stay with us went. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you on your return visit to the area. Sincerely Chad & Joyce Hubble managers
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Idaho

Outdated and dingy!

Posted Apr 21, 2015
This motel has a decent location and lots of amenities, but it's very outdated (the TV in our room had to be 20+ years old) and rather worn out (the carpet in our floor's hallway was wrinkled and pulling up, easily a tripping hazard and very ugly). Given the cost, I'm sure you could find a nicer motel and pay the same if not less.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2015 by Shilo Inns, Hotel Management
Dear Shilo Guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us. We do appreciate and welcome all feedback from our hotel guests. We will be sure to pass along your observations to our corporate office. We do appreciate you choosing the Shilo Inn for your accommodation needs and we hope you will allow us another chance to accommodate you during your future travels. Sincerely Joyce & Chad Hubble Managers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sumner, WA

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Kid friendly. We liked the 24 hour pool. The continental breakfast was great :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2015 by Shilo Inns, Hotel Management
Dear Shilo Guest, We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Coeur d’ Alene Shilo Inn. We appreciate you choosing the Shilo Inn for your accommodation needs and for taking the time to post a review online regarding your stay. We look forward to seeing you again during your future travels to the area. Sincerely Joyce & Chad Hubble Managers