Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boston

convenient, but ageing hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Convenient location, parking included nearby which was helpful since the roads/traffic are a bit confusing. Breakfast was very decent. Bed was uncomfortable, hard. Overall OK since we spent little time in the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 1, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eve from Doncaster, UK>

Excellently situated for visiting Coimbra's sights

Posted Nov 10, 2013
Pros: Its convenient situation & the roof top bar which has excellent views of the old town at night.
Cons: The attitude of just one member of staff. The rest were lovely.
Location: See above. Also within easy walking distance of parks and the river.
We stayed at Hotel Oslo for 2 nights in October 2013. We arrived by train and it is only a few minutes walk from Coimbra A station. The lady on reception was very welcoming & helpful. She gave us a map of the town & marked out suggested walking routes & nearby restaurants. The hotel is ideally placed for visiting the old town & superb university on foot - as long as you don't mind hills that is!! Otherwise you could always go by taxi. The hotel is on a very busy road so perhaps some rooms would be noisy. However we were on the 4th floor and not troubled with traffic noise at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2014 by Madeira, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us! We love our city and hope to introduce it to visitors in the best way we possibly can. We are very happy you enjoy the city and our advice!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2014 by Madeira, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us! We love our town and want to introduce ti in the best way possible to every visitor. We are very happy you enjoy our advice and Coimbra! That is actually a very good tip, if you are not up to make the rewarding but steep climb through the uptown, you can always take a taxi up and walk the way down to the hotel. This is also a good way to enjoy it. I am happy to say that we just renewed the hotel and also invested in further sound-proofing to offer our guests an even more relaxing visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from perth, australia

Good hotel, great location.

Posted Oct 24, 2013
Pros: Location, service, price
Location: 2 minutes walk into the old town to wander through the streets and see the old university
We booked the family room for 1 night and it was perfect for 4 adults. There were 2 bedrooms separated by a bathroom. Location near the train station was excellent, but still far enough away we didnt hear any trains. The hotel is clean and comfortable, although as other mentioned getting a little old now, but priced well and ours included breakfast. The staff were very friendly and pointed out places to visit in the town and walks near the rivers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by american tourist from usa

central location/helpful hotel staff

Posted Oct 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
room is what you would expect for a 2/3 star. hotel very central to all sights of coimbra. front desk staff was extremely helpful in pointing out sights and recommending restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very convenient

Posted Sep 27, 2013
Breakfast every morning was great. It was conveniently located to the Coimbra A station and to the University of Coimbra where I was attending my conference. It was very easy to explore the old city center from our location, and the rooftop bar had a lovely view of the University on the hill. The room we stayed in was an older room, but it didn't really matter much since we spent most of our time in the city. When we come back to Coimbra, we would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

5 Stars for Service and Location

Posted Sep 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
To be clear - I am rating this hotel 5 stars because of it's service and location. This is not a 5 star hotel from a pure "5 star amenity" perspective. But my rating system for this trip was price / value, location and ease of use. Here is why it scores so high in my book: + Great service, friendly staff told us exactly all the great things to see in the town, and booked us a Fado concert that was excellent. + Location is right on the edge of old town, you cross the street, and you are there. Walkable to absolutely everything in Coimbra + Great price for it's location, and includes a no frills breakfast + Includes free parking which was very, very convenient + Rooms are no frills, but clean and include a safe and TV with cable + We had a great view of the city rooftops from our room Great for a one or 2 night stay. If you are looking for luxury, pay more and stay else where. If you are looking for a good value room in an excellent location with very friendly and good staff - than this is your place! Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Malka from Atlanta

Great location

Posted Jul 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room was small and very dated, but the location was great, parking was nearby. We declined their offer to upgrade the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halifax, NS, Canada

Very recommendable

Posted Jul 8, 2013
Pros: Breakfast View from the room
Location: Very convenient
The hotel is located in convenient area in the city. I had a beautiful view of the old city from my room. The price/quality rate of the hotel is great, considering also the very good breakfast you have in the morning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old rooms

Posted Jun 5, 2013
Reception had been modernised, check in was friendly and easy. Room was old decor. But as a basic hotel it was fine.