Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great old hotel set in wonderful 700 year old park

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Very helpful and knowledgable staff went out of their way to explain the setting and history of the hotel and some local stories .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jose' J. Silva from Toronto

Well located, away from traffic.

Posted Jan 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent place to relax but, at the same time, close to all the places I wanted to visit. I'll do my best to come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by LA guy from Boston

Beautiful Castle With Gardens

Posted Dec 31, 2013
This hotel is just beautiful, a little removed from the touristic area of town but the city is small so it's not a big inconvenience. There is a lot to discover on this property from the gardens, libraries and various sitting rooms. There is no question that this is the most unique hotel in town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

A nice retreat

Posted Oct 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is a unique propery in that one has an historic propery and a historic garden. The spa portion was not part of our experience, but the facility seemed good. The restaurant attached to the hotel was very good. We recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jean Connolly from NH

musty but nice

Posted Oct 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is out of the out of the city center, so walking around the old section is not an option. The hotel itself is nice, but our room was very musty and I was told all the rooms are always like that. It is a classic old hotel with charm, rooms was big, bar was nice, breakfast was good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Beautiful building, gardens and location. However not worth the money. Expected reception/ porter staff to be falling over us with attention but most of them were unhelpful and borderline rude. One exception was the girl at reception who went beyond the call of duty with one of our requests. Dinner in the main restaurant was haute-cuisine and very tasty but extremely expensive at €150 for two and we were still hungry after it !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris

"5" is an understatement in rating this hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2013
Pros: The staff are well trained, polite, and multi-lingual. The room accommodations and cleanliness were excellent.
Cons: none
Location: Quinta Das Lagrimas is centrally located in Coimbra which is one of the most historically important cities in Portugal. A tour is a "must do".
It is the history, the palatial rooms, and the incredible gardens make this hotel one of the finest and unique places you will experience. The typical amenities of a luxury hotel are all present including an excellent swimming pool, spa, dining room, and cocktail bar. But the special quality of this hotel is the character that captivates you when you wander through the many hallways and find the palatial furniture, paintings, the chapel, the library, and many other rooms that gives this hotel so much personality. The gardens are an all-day walking event if you study the history behind the tragedy of the romance of Pedro and Ines for which Quinta das Lagrimas is named (Villa of Tears) and also see the two sequoias planted by the Duke of Wellington after his defeat of Napoleon's invasion of Portugal. Start your day with a good breakfast buffet by the pool. Be sure to end the day with a two-hour dinner in the outside patio with a menu that will make you want to stay another five days.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

History comes at a price

Posted Aug 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel no more than ok. Location remote from center. Requires car. Long walk that requires climbing stairs to reach entrance and room. No view. Nice garden.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location, location, location

Posted Aug 15, 2013
Hotel needs a good remodeling and the location is far away from all the key sites and restaurants
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gastronomic treat

Posted Jul 29, 2013
Stayed in a very ugly modern wing although room fine. The restaurant was superb and if anything under-rated. Nice pool area but insufficient chairs/umbrellas.