Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by harrietfrom Cold Springs Harbor, L.I.

a very expensive disappointment

Posted Sep 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
a B&B without the breakfast--really a room in a private home, no TV in the room, bathroom down the hall and tub/shower down the hall and up a flight of stairs. My room was a converted porch, hardly a "garden room" at an outrageous cost. . Nice owner but hardly a cause for the rate. portable heater and portable air conditioner with overhead fan were the amenities in the room. One morning I got a muffin from Trader Joe's. All this at the rate of a 4 star hotel. Hard to believe!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Great Place in Cold Springs Harbor

Posted Sep 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our stay at the Harbor Rose was extremely enjoyable. Deidre, the proprietor, is very cooperative and helped us with our various needs within the house and regarding the local sites. Everything was very comfortable (bathroom, shower, use of items from her kitchen) and the snack-food items that she provides are wonderful (organic fruits, large choice of hot drinks (coffees, teas, cider, etc.). The location of the home is just great, with a nice view of Cold Springs Harbor and its being just a short walk or drive to the heart of this small quaint town and its shops and park along the water.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Largo, FL

Nice…for Some Folks, Problematic for Others

Posted Jul 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is a difficult review to write. I think that it was a case that this inn wasn’t a good match for us. The house is very nice and well appointed. The owner tries to please. The nearby areas are quite charming. Now, for us, the negatives. The rooms are hot. When I pay a lot of money for a room on a vacation, I want some comfort. If I want to camp in the heat, I will do that. But when I’m in a nice inn, I expect to be able to sleep and not sweat through the night. The first night started OK, but then we later found the hall temperature set up to 80 degrees. We tried to open the old-fashioned windows and then the storm windows and set up a squeaky window fan at 2am—what a hassle. God save me from another waterbed. We were assured that this one didn’t bounce your partner around and that it wasn’t hot. Well, neither of those assurances bore out. It was mighty uncomfortable. Breakfast is practically non-existent. OK, we should have read the fine print. But when you find a place on B & B websites, you expect it to be a Bed AND Breakfast. Here there is a small fruit bar and a coffee machine that you can help yourself to. There is something a little more extensive on weekends. The owner realized that we were displeased and she did try by buying some muffins which were nice. The inn is right on the major 25A highway that runs through the north shore. Our bedroom and the outdoor sitting area are just 40’ or so from racing traffic noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Andrewfrom Roberts

Beautiful House

Posted Jun 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is a beautiful house walking distance away from the Cold Springs Harbor and Cold Springs Harbor State Park. Deirdre, our host, was very welcoming, offering us wine and organic fruits and was a good source of information about activities in the area. The house was clean and very homey. The only negative was that the room we chose, on the ground floor, didn't have a door (just a sliding panel) and with the outdoor sitting area just outside the windows, didn't feel very private. We would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ruthfrom Rhode Island, USA

Excellent place to stay!

Posted Apr 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed 4 nights at Harbor House in the Garden Room on vacation in early spring. It was very comfortable, quiet and relaxing. Deidre is a wonderful hostess and is there to meet your needs but also respects your privacy. We loved our stay and would stay again. It's a great location - in a small town wooded setting, but a short drive to a train station to get to NYC, and close to many wonderful restaurants. Try the Mediterranean Snack Grill in Huntington for authentic, awesome Greek food or Rosa's Pizza for informal, yummy food. We enjoyed the coffee station and delicious weekend croissants at the house. Not a B&B but we liked it that way - plenty of places to enjoy coffee/breakfast on the way to exploring the area. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Bethfrom San Francisco

Absolutely Wonderful!

Posted Apr 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
I arrived at Harbor Guest House bleary eyed after a long, uncomfortable red-eye flight. I was welcomed by the scent of fresh baked croissants(delicious!) and a fabulous view of the tranquil harbor from my room window. After a completely restorative sleep in an exquisitely comfortable bed I was refreshed and ready to explore the area. My host/inkeeper was most helpful and I was delighted to find that I was able to walk everywhere I wanted to go (shops, restaurants, and the nature preserve). At the end of each day when I returned to Harbor Guest House there were refreshments waiting in the front foyer and I was able to relax and enjoy conversation with the Innkeeper and/or other guests in the beautifully decorated sitting room. It was a delightful stay and I can't wait to visit again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Matias

is a good bed&breakfast

Posted Feb 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Is a really cosy guest house, the owner take care of the guest, that was a super plus, everything was good, with complementary organic fruits, and complementary coffee, free WiFi and locals calls. Is a different concept of a brand hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2012 on Hotels.com
I loved the Harbour House! Diedra the owner was wonderful. She couldn't have mede us feel more at home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Saved from the Storm

Posted Nov 11, 2012 on Hotels.com
We were there for a funeral just a few days after Hurricane Sandy and during the Noreasterner. Electricity was out to the area for two nights but she set up a small generator that gave us some eledric heat and some light. There was hot water and soup. Not bad compared to the way the rest of the people in the area lived. If I ever go back during the winter, I would not stay in the Garden Room, a coverted pouch, it's too cold no matter what but it would be wonderful in Spring, Summer or Fall.. We weren't particularly excited about the shared shower faciliies either, but lthat just us. However, all that said, the owner is wonderfully attentive, the 1840's house charming and warm with idealic surroundings, and we were glad to be there given the situation and it was at a very reasonable price.