Ratings based on 466 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Milwaukee WI

Disappointing

Posted Jan 31, 2015
Pros: The staff.
Cons: Pretty much everything. Needs a major overhaul.
Location: Right off I-80, east of Des Moines.
The room was just ok. It was a cold night and we wanted the heater on, but the air blasted directly onto the bed, and I finally just turned it off. The bed was lumpy. Nothing other than soap and shampoo in the way of toiletries. Only two towels in the bathroom. The TV channels were full of static, so essentially no TV. Without a doubt, the skimpiest breakfast we've ever encountered. No frills. Not even decaf coffee! Just cereal, whole milk, a waffle machine that kept beeping, toast and coffee (lukewarm). There wasn't even a TV in the breakfast room to deflect the bare bones fare. The staff was pleasant, and directed us to the one decent place to eat in town, which was an Italian restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NW Iowa

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Cons: Water quality...Well water taste is unpleasant but potable.
Rural location, with food and fuel across the road. Friendly staff. Well maintained rooms, no visible handyman (non-professional) repairs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not too bad for the price.

Posted Dec 15, 2014
After booking this hotel and then reading the reviews on Expedia, I got a little nervous. As it turned out, I am glad I did not cancel my reservation. It wasn't nearly as bad as some of the other guests had commented. Yes, there was a leaky shower head in my room and not much variety at breakfast, but nothing terrible or more than that. For the decent price on a room hear and its convenience to the Interstate, it is just fine. I would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Nice, clean, quiet. Exactly what i booked, ready and waiting for me. Great considering all I could complain about was the waffle maker and cool coffee. Worth passing thru the big city for the peace of a small town.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stayed over night to be with Kids

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Price
Cons: Pool, breakfast , cleaning
Overall disappointed. Pool not open yet, it's been a year. Room door would not close without slamming. Very dusty and microwave looks like it was pulled out of garbage. Breakfast was nothing
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom C.B, Ia.

Not bad.

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: It's not bad looking from the outside.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Did not notice anything to do nearby. The indoor pool was even closed.
Mattresses are way too soft for our taste. One of the tables had sticky rings, as though someone left a pop can on it, and it never got wiped off. The cleaning people use way too much bleach. You can smell it the moment you open the door. Would I stay there again? In a word. NO.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

One of the worst hotels I have ever stayed at.

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: Nothing but the location.
Cons: Read my previous comments.
Location: Poppy's Restaurant in Colfax was very good.
I, unfortunately had to stay here twice about a week apart. The indoor pool was closed. The TV's were absolutely terrible. Terrible connection. The second time I stayed there I had to move rooms because the TV picture didn't even work. The first night I was there I asked for a wakeup call, which never arrived. The breakfast had the worst selection of food I've ever seen. It was run cheaply and it showed!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Good price

Posted Oct 15, 2014
There was not a lot of extras, and the walls were thin I could hear other people in other rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mariefrom Three Rivers, MI

Great sleeping

Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Pool wasn't working. But the hotel was very nice. We had been traveling for 2 weeks, this was the first very comfy bed! Lots of pillows. Quiet, easy speeping. Would def stay again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Thomas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 9, 2014 on Hotels.com